We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Campesino

El Campesino
4063 William Penn Hwy, Monroeville, PA 15146-2504
412-373-1772
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 115 Restaurants in Monroeville
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Salisbury, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food - poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited El Campesino on the recommendation of our hotel clerk. The lighting was so bright for an evening meal that it became annoying. The food was good-not spectacular, but the server only came to the table twice - to take our order and to bring the check. It is a bit pricey.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Another place during D & L's travels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Best mex in the Burgh! Great service and food. Take the family won't be let down. The El Ranchero Grande enchiladas are great. Never been disappointed. Always clean and inviting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3 1/2 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I have often debated over which restaurant is better, El Camp or Patron. They both offer authentic Mexican dishes in a bright, colorful atmosphere. I think we both finally agree that Patron is the better choice of the two. They are very comparable but the food and the service is better at Patron. So if you are looking for authentic Mexican in the Monroeville area I'd recommend Patron first. If for some reason Patron isn't to your liking then El Camp is definitely worth a visit. I'm not knocking El Camp though, if it was the only Mexican place in Monroeville I would definitely go there often. And if you're into less traditional Mexican try MadMex which is right across the highway from El Camp.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We used to frequent another local Mexican restaurant and one day decided to try this one. We never went back to the other one. The food was comperable to the other restaurant but the value at El Campesino was much better. The service is fabulous and the place has a nice atmosphere. Alot more for your money. I have to admit at this time though I have only tried a few dishes because I find it difficult to get something other than the fajitas. I hope to change the food quality to excellent after trying a few more dishes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant itself is clean and pretty large for being in a strip mall. Our service was good but a little on the slow side. The food was tasty and hot. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Nothing too memorable but we would go back to satisfy a Mexican food craving.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Campesino also viewed

 

Been to El Campesino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Campesino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.