We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Words: Toll Plaza” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Monroeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Monroeville to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Monroeville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Daugherty Drive, Monroeville, PA 15146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Monroeville
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Two Words: Toll Plaza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

It's interesting that in one recent TripAdvisor review from someone who gave this hotel five stars, the first words are: "This was a one-night stay. We were offered a room away from the toll plaza without asking." That's it right there. Get a room away from the toll plaza, this hotel is probably as decent as any SpringHill Suites. But if the hotel is full, as it was when we arrived, and the only rooms overlook the toll booths, you're in for it. The noise level is ridiculous. Not even the hum of fast-moving traffic on a highway. Trucks gearing down with jack brakes. Cars getting up to speed. And to top it off, the sun beams into your room from this side of the hotel and the curtains have a hard time keeping it out. My wife and I are pretty patient. We rarely move out of a hotel to another one. This time, though, we left for the much more pleasant and comparably priced Residence Inn a little farther west on Business 22.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Monroeville, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am very disappointed that your stay was not what you expected.

I would like to apologize to you for the noise that you experienced during the night. I understand that it can be very stressful being in a strange place with traffic noise outside your window. Our standard procedure in this case, would be to move you to the other side of the hotel where it is much quieter. Unfortunately, as you stated, the hotel was near occupancy, and a move was not possible.

Once again, I sincerely apologize that you had to check out early. It is not our intention to have unhappy guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    28
    14
    3
See reviews for
62
19
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was a one-night stay. We were offered a room away from the toll plaza without asking. The facility and the room were both clean, the front desk employees were friendly (as was the breakfast attendant) and I confirm the quality of the breakfast. Yes--it is a hotel breakfast at no additional charge, but the waffles never fail, there was plenty of yogurt and fresh fruit, and we both thought the sausage was great.

The room was comfortable, if a bit awkwardly shaped, as the TV is placed at the most narrow point in the room--the connection from the bedroom to the sitting room. It felt like a slight squeeze just walking by.

We would stay there again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the side away from the turnpike toll plaza. It is a tennis-ball throw from the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Monroeville, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am so glad that our breakfast hit the spot. We are proud to say that our Breakfast Attendant, April, has just been named "Breakfast Attendant of the Year" for SpringHill Suites, nationwide. We are very proud of her. Join us after June 1st for our new, and improved, SpringHill Suites breakfast.

We are happy that you stayed with us, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Friendly, kind and helpful ~ that's the employees at this hotel. This hotel offered a better breakfast than most, which we enjoyed. The workout room was well stocked with throw away headphones, new exercise equipment, clean towels and spring water as well as the ability to adjust the thermostat to stay cool while working out. Can't tell you how many hotels we've stayed in that have the thermostat locked in the exercise room :( The maids speak English - a plus if you need anything. The room was spacious, clean and modernly decorated. Love the sink being in a separate little alcove from the bath/commode - convenient if you are staying with anyone other than family. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Perhaps our room was larger because we were directly across from the elevator? Was concerned it wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Monroeville, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We strive to be the best in customer service. We are very proud of our newly renovated hotel and our friendly, concientious staff. We hope you visit often and let us know how we're doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

On a recent trip to Pittsburgh we decided to stay in Monroeville and continue to Pittsburgh the next day. I know that I saved at least $100.00 on the price of a room by doing so. This hotel is very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. However, the mattress was a bit uncomfortable and should be replaced. Our room did not face the turnpike toll booths, so that was not a problem for us. I also liked that check out wasn't until 12 noon. I definitely will choose this hotel again when I travel to the Pittsburgh area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the turnpike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Monroeville, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I'm so happy that you saved some money and enjoyed your stay with us. Just to let you know, we have replaced 50% of our mattresses during our new renovation and will be replacing the rest shortly. We look forward to you coming back and getting a "comfy" sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is undergoing renovation so the lobby is completely closed, and the staff must work out of a small room (poor them!). The pool and the gym are still open, but the breakfast is served in the hallway which is not so great. But at least they are trying, they are very nice folks. And the rooms themselves are very nice. This is a very good location too for my business needs as you can be anywhere in the Pittsburgh area within minutes. The entrance for the PA turnpike is right next door and 376 is just up the road, so it's very convenient. Also there are tons of restaurants in the vicinity. Max and Erma's is located next door at the Holiday Inn and you can walk there in nice weather; otherwise a 15 second drive. Food there is pretty good and moderately priced. There is an Outback right up the road as well. I also had a room facing the toll booths and it didn't bother me at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the toll booth side if you think the noise will bother you (it didn't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I travel 80% of the time for business. I actually stopped writing reviews for a while but this hotel reawakened my need to let people know about a terrible property. Most negative reviews here focus on the location of the hotel and the tollbooth noise. That's something to be aware of (and not something the hotel can change) so it wouldn't be fair to penalize them for being too close to the Turnpike. That being said...I arrived at 11:45 pm. There was nobody at the front desk. I paced around, called the hotel, went behind the front desk to the back office- no one. Finally, the lady from the front desk appears and begins the check-in process, without so much as a mention of where she was for the last 15 or so minutes. The check-in went something like this- "welcome, the gym is being repaired, breakfast starts at six, see you later." I also got a pathetic "gift bag" for being a gold member- a bottle of water, two napkins, two tiny mints, and a rock-hard Nature Valley granola bar. Nice gesture, I suppose, but if you can't do it right, don't do it at all. The room was disgusting. Hair on the sink, hair on the floor, dirty carpet, filth on the walls. I could tell by the hallways and the rest of the hotel that switching rooms wouldn't make a difference here. Thankfully I was staying one night. The bed was ok but this is one of those places where I would recommend sleeping with a shirt on, you know the ones I am talking about.
Breakfast was blah- the usual fake eggs, greasy bacon, "oatmeal" and kid's cereal. The check-out process was about as professional as check-in. If you're in this area, try the Courtyard or even the Comfort Suites. If you're used to any type of Marriott standards, be aware that this place missed the memo.

Room Tip: Facing tollbooth or not, this hotel is not good so it won't make much of a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Comfortable, clean, staff was nice. I do have to agree that when I looked out my window, I discovered that it actually overlooked some sort of highway tollboth - probably 100 feet away. It didn't disturb my sleep at night, but was a bit noisy in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Monroeville

Address: 122 Daugherty Drive, Monroeville, PA 15146
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Monroeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Monroeville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Monroeville Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Monroeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.