We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money Saver” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Monroeville

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Monroeville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Monroeville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Daugherty Drive, Monroeville, PA 15146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Monroeville
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Money Saver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

On a recent trip to Pittsburgh we decided to stay in Monroeville and continue to Pittsburgh the next day. I know that I saved at least $100.00 on the price of a room by doing so. This hotel is very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. However, the mattress was a bit uncomfortable and should be replaced. Our room did not face the turnpike toll booths, so that was not a problem for us. I also liked that check out wasn't until 12 noon. I definitely will choose this hotel again when I travel to the Pittsburgh area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the turnpike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoAnn D, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Monroeville, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I'm so happy that you saved some money and enjoyed your stay with us. Just to let you know, we have replaced 50% of our mattresses during our new renovation and will be replacing the rest shortly. We look forward to you coming back and getting a "comfy" sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    47
    25
    14
    3
See reviews for
50
18
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is undergoing renovation so the lobby is completely closed, and the staff must work out of a small room (poor them!). The pool and the gym are still open, but the breakfast is served in the hallway which is not so great. But at least they are trying, they are very nice folks. And the rooms themselves are very nice. This is a very good location too for my business needs as you can be anywhere in the Pittsburgh area within minutes. The entrance for the PA turnpike is right next door and 376 is just up the road, so it's very convenient. Also there are tons of restaurants in the vicinity. Max and Erma's is located next door at the Holiday Inn and you can walk there in nice weather; otherwise a 15 second drive. Food there is pretty good and moderately priced. There is an Outback right up the road as well. I also had a room facing the toll booths and it didn't bother me at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the toll booth side if you think the noise will bother you (it didn't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I travel 80% of the time for business. I actually stopped writing reviews for a while but this hotel reawakened my need to let people know about a terrible property. Most negative reviews here focus on the location of the hotel and the tollbooth noise. That's something to be aware of (and not something the hotel can change) so it wouldn't be fair to penalize them for being too close to the Turnpike. That being said...I arrived at 11:45 pm. There was nobody at the front desk. I paced around, called the hotel, went behind the front desk to the back office- no one. Finally, the lady from the front desk appears and begins the check-in process, without so much as a mention of where she was for the last 15 or so minutes. The check-in went something like this- "welcome, the gym is being repaired, breakfast starts at six, see you later." I also got a pathetic "gift bag" for being a gold member- a bottle of water, two napkins, two tiny mints, and a rock-hard Nature Valley granola bar. Nice gesture, I suppose, but if you can't do it right, don't do it at all. The room was disgusting. Hair on the sink, hair on the floor, dirty carpet, filth on the walls. I could tell by the hallways and the rest of the hotel that switching rooms wouldn't make a difference here. Thankfully I was staying one night. The bed was ok but this is one of those places where I would recommend sleeping with a shirt on, you know the ones I am talking about.
Breakfast was blah- the usual fake eggs, greasy bacon, "oatmeal" and kid's cereal. The check-out process was about as professional as check-in. If you're in this area, try the Courtyard or even the Comfort Suites. If you're used to any type of Marriott standards, be aware that this place missed the memo.

Room Tip: Facing tollbooth or not, this hotel is not good so it won't make much of a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Mass
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Comfortable, clean, staff was nice. I do have to agree that when I looked out my window, I discovered that it actually overlooked some sort of highway tollboth - probably 100 feet away. It didn't disturb my sleep at night, but was a bit noisy in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Ok like everyone else said, beg plead and haggle your way to get a room not facing the toll booths, we were first given a room on the toll booth side and i thought it was fine until a tractor trailer pulled up, stopped and pulled out, it shook the room, luckily the front desk called and offered a room on the other side, not what disapointed me was an elderly copule ahead of me was offered the choice, where i was given the toll booth room. The rooms themselves were very nice, your average springhill suites, big nice bed and clean. But please if you value sleep get a room away from the toll booths

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Best place to stay in Monroeville. Spring Hill has one of the best complimentary breakfasts around. In addition, the Cappuccino machine is available round the clock. Service is good and although the location is a little strange, it's worth the effort to get there. Good place to bring back some food and hunker down in front of the flat screen at night.

Room Tip: Stay on the West side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Comfortable room. Staff was very helpful.

I agree with the other comments about the road noise (we had a nice room overlooking the toll plaza of the PA Turnpike) and paying attention to directions if coming here at night. Breakfast was decent enough not to go out to a restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Monroeville

Address: 122 Daugherty Drive, Monroeville, PA 15146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Monroeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Monroeville 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Monroeville Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Monroeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.