We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed with Springhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Monroeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Monroeville to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Monroeville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Daugherty Drive, Monroeville, PA 15146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Monroeville
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Not impressed with Springhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Place is rather worn looking. I thought it was clean until I discovered that one of the hand towels was covered with makeup. Bed was comfortable enough but the room layout was awkward. Shower was fine with good water pressure. Breakfast was truly mediocre with no fruit offerings at all. Waffle maker didn't work well. We would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    60
    28
    14
    3
See reviews for
62
19
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was probably the smallest suite we've ever stayed in. It's actually not a suite as much as a hotel room with a kitchenette area. We stayed one night mid-week and paid $160 before tax. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There is no door between the bedroom and living area, which was disappointing. Once we pulled the sleeper sofa out there was hardly room for anyone to move anywhere. The view from our room was the tollbooth plaza. Not from a distance, it was up close and personal. The hot breakfast was easily the worst breakfast we're ever had at a hotel. The scrambled eggs were awful (shaped and tasted like styrofoam packing peanuts), and the bacon tasted like shoe leather. It really was amazingly bad. We've had precooked bacon before and this didn't even taste like that. In fact, there was no taste to it at all. We tried bagels and muffins instead, but they were tasteless as well. We ended up eating cereal. As someone else commented on, the elevator was broken as well. All we could do was laugh. :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the tollbooth
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Mostly good - free parking, comfortable room, friendly staff, decent free breakfast, small freebies such as pop corn, cookies, 24-hour coffee & tea, good location just off the PA turnpike, decent selection of cable channels, free internet access & free local calls. It's large room that could sleep 6, using the pull-out sofabed. Small indoor pool & work-out area. There's also a "business center" with a computer & printer.

The bad - the WiFi, at least in the room they put me in is awful. Luckily I brought a long ethernet cord along & can use the wired service. Getting a room on the odd-numbered side of the building provides a non-stop view of the vehicles entering the turnpike.

The Ugly - the TV picture. Room has a nice flat-screen, say 37" but the images is fuzzy. Maybe I'm used to HiDef at my house, but this picture is just mediocre.

On balance - the TV & WiFi are important to me, so 3 *'s is the best I can do.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the EVEN side to avoid the turnpike traffic. Don't ask for room 306 unless yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stopped by here for just one night, located right off the PA Turnpike. The staff here was very friendly and helpful. The place was extremely clean and the room was very spacious. The breakfast was excellent, they had hot and cold and someone there at all times to make sure it was well stocked and if you needed anything.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and didn't have any noise problems like most rooms located on the 1st f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose this hotel for the family friendly amenities (indoor pool, suites, breakfast etc) as we have 2 toddlers. We checked in and were pleased with the cleanliness of the lobby and the set up of the room with kitchenette. Unfortunately, the elevator broke shortly after we arrived and was broken on and off for the next 36 hours...forcing us to walk up to the 4th floor carrying our kids and all of their gear. The front desk staff never offered to relocate us to a ground floor room or another hotel and kept insisting that it would be fixed any minute. The repairman showed up 3 different times but couldn't seem to get his fix to stick and it would break again after he left. I finally gave up and checked out a day early. In my opinion, a 4 floor walk up hotel is a 2 star operation and should be priced accordingly- even if temporary.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

SpringHill Suites is one of our favorite places to stay when we are on the road. We stayed here when visiting Pitt. This property is close enough to Pitt to get there easily with more spacious accommodations than some of the city hotels for about half the price. Easy on/easy off from the Turnpike and I-376. Good breakfast. Lots of food and shopping choices close-by.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The nearby property chosen by my client wanted $169. This ideal choice was $139, with a lovely breakfast included. Room was clean and quiet. Excellent electrical connections for my e-toys. Roomy suite. Gr8 flatscreen (which I did not even turn on). Located at the intersection of the PA Tpk & Rt 22, this is an ideal spot. The bedside radio was iPod compatible.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor and it was wonderfully quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Monroeville

Address: 122 Daugherty Drive, Monroeville, PA 15146
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Monroeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Monroeville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Monroeville Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Monroeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.