We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2750 Mosside Boulevard, Monroeville, PA 15146   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Monroeville
BOca Raton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as the result of a priceline search. I researched tripadvisor after making the reservation and was very concerned because of the number of negative reviews. I was pleasantly surprised. The room was very nice and the front desk personnel were very friendly. It was a great bargain at $79. I would not hesitate to stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy T, Manager at Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Jsbpgh,

Thank you for expressing the exceptional accomidations you experienced from your most recent stay. Our hotel staff works diligently every day to ensure that our guests get clean, comfortable accommodations with the services & amenities they desire. We are working hard to change our guests perception and turn the complaints on trip advisor to compliments.
Again, thank you for shaing your praises and we hope to see you at the Holiday Inn Monroeville soon. We will be honored to serve you again as a valued Guest.

Kind Regards,
Amy Taylor
Guest Service Manager
412-717-9429
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    52
    30
    24
    11
See reviews for
37
31
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012. There were 4 adults-only 3 washcloths. We asked at the main desk and they said they would send one up, but didn't. The room was very clean and comfortable. There were 2 full size beds, which was a little disappointing. However, there was an ample supply of pillows-rated soft and firm for your liking. The room contained no refrigerator. the bathroom was clean, but rather small. I booked the room on the Holiday Inn website and we took the guaranteed low room rate which was nonrefundable. When we checked in, the front desk mentioned that we had booked on Priceline. I didn't question it, but maybe that's why we ended up with just an average room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

The good: comfortable beds, nice restaurant hostess
The bad: novice front desk staff. Our key cards lost the program. We had to goo down to reception late when we returned to the hotel. Not even an apology for the inconvenience. We booked "breakfast included" but were told because we booked with Priceline, we would have to pay full price for it. Fridge froze what we put in it. They allowed tractor trailers to park overnight in their lot, outside our window. We could hear and feel the vibrations of their motors. We had to ask for little things they "forgot" each day, once it was the bath mat, then the paper, then shampoo.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Recently stayed 5 nights at this location and, even though it was under renovation, our stay way pleasant. The room with king beds have refrigerator and microwave, not sure if all rooms are equipped in the same way. This is a feature that makes our stay very nice as we travel. There were bottles of water and chocolates in our room when we arrived. The room was clean, bed was comfortable with a choice of firm and soft pillows, and the wireless was great---something that is very important to us. So often in hotels, depending on the room location, the wireless is slow or intermittent. The WiFi here was excellent. We did not eat in the restaurant so have no comment on that. We did notice a tray of dishes in the hall for two days, which was a little unsettling, but other than that, we have no complaints and would stay here again in the future if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently stayed 2 nights at this location. Bed was comfortable and room had a microwave and refrigerator. Hotel is dirty. There were dishes in the hall and I'm not sure the halls or my room were vacuumed during my stay. I ate in the restaurant and it was really mediocre, There are signs all over saying the hotel is under renovation but I didn't see any workers or signs or construction.

Room Tip: This hotel is really spread out. Get a room on the inside to avoid turnpike noise. Skip the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear RickyMM,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am glad you had a comfortable night's sleep. I am really sorry to hear about the unusual cleanliness issues that you encountered during your stay. We appreciate the candid feedback we received to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Sincerely,

Irish V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is our second stay at this Holiday Inn location during their remodeling. The painting of the exterior is coming along REALLY nicely and for our inconvenience (what incomvenience??) we had little chocolates waiting for us in the room.

Housekeeping stays on top of the cleaning which for us isn't easy because we do a lot of fresh veggie juicing in our room. Even tho our two projects in the Pittsburg area mean we have a 45+ minute drive each morning to and from work, we choose to stay here because it's EZ to get to - right off the 376 and near the PA toll road too.

Lots of shopping and restaurants in the area make this our choice for Pittsburgh projects. We will definitely return ... again and again.

Room Tip: Many rooms have a front & back door to the pool area (which was closed during our October stay)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Monroeville when your Pittsburgh projects bring you to the area. I was pleased to hear that our housekeepng department satisfied your needs during your stay. As you have stated we do have EZ access off Route 376 which makes us easy to find after a hard day of traveling. Thank you again for your your kind feedback and we look forward to having you as our guest again when your travel plans bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stay here regularly because it is a convenient place to stop on our trip. We expect a certain level of comfort, cleanliness and convenience from a Holiday Inn and this facility delivers what we expect. It is a good value.
The noise on the Pennsylvania Turnpike can be noisy, but that's not usually a problem. This time, they were repaving the entrance ramp. At night. Very noisy. That should be a short term issue.
The facility is in the middle of a multi-million dollar refurbishment. Both exterior and interior. Restaurant, common rooms and guest rooms will all be upgraded over the next year. I expect that the upgrade will improve our experience from average to very good.
Access from the Turnpike Westbound can be exciting at evening rush hour. Getting across many lanes of traffic for a left turn within a short distance is not for the faint of heart.
Dining options are limited. The hotel has a restaurant, Madisons. Max and Erma is next door. But any other choices require a car trip, which can be a problem in that evening rush.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the PA Turnpike side during construction. And away from the areas being worked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you so much for posting such kind remarks on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn Monroeville We are pleased that you enjoyed both the accomodations and services provided. I will make sure to share your response with our staff as well. Thanks again and we truly hope to see you again should your travel plans bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville

Address: 2750 Mosside Boulevard, Monroeville, PA 15146
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Monroeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Monroeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Holiday Inn Monroeville Hotel is a 3 Diamond AAA hotel conveniently located 1/4 mile from the PA Turnpike at exit #57. The Holiday Inn Monroeville is located 15 miles east of downtown Pittsburgh, 12 miles from the University of Pittsburgh, Kennywood, Pittsburgh Zoo and Carnegie Mellon University, and only minutes from Westinghouse, PPG, US Steel, Siemens, Respironics, Expomart and Alcoa.Whether your visit brings you to the Pittsburgh area for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Monroeville staff is ready to serve you. This Pittsburgh area hotel features 187 graciously designed guestrooms complete with pillow top mattresses, free high-speed Internet access, a coffee maker, and portable desks. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in our comfortably appointed Madison's Restaurant & Lounge. Relax by our outdoor swimming pool or just sit back and enjoy the spacious pool area and courtyard. We have facilities to accommodate up to 300 people specializing in weddings, banquets, meetings or any type of event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville Hotel Monroeville
Holiday Inn Monroeville
Monroeville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Pittsburgh Monroeville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.