We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The beer, at least, is always good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks

Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks
100 West Main Street, Millheim, PA
814.349.8850
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Millheim
Cuisines: Dutch, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The beer, at least, is always good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Really, better than "average", but not "very good".

We were delighted the first time we went to ECC. (Love that they are great supporters of local farmers and have established a loyal following in such a small town.) Since then it's been more of a mixed bag. I've had fabulous mussels and Steak Frites that just wasn't very good. (Go figure.) I've decided it's best to stick to basic, uncomplicated food and to enjoy the beer.

Most recently, we hoped to eat there on a busy (Penn State event) weekend. My husband called and was told they weren't taking more reservations, there might be a wait, but we would be seated. We got out there and were told that, no, we would not be seated without a reservation and that there was no way we would have been told otherwise. (Essentially, they called my Boy Scout hubby a liar.) My husband was getting ready to leave town on a business trip and there was no way in h*ll we would have driven out there if there was a chance we would not be served. Sadly, we have not been back since.

Obviously, most people would not have this problem and to them I say-- "Order something simple and enjoy the beer". :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    22
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A favorite stop in the Penn State area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Fresh, locally-grown food; a small, but extremely well-prepared list of items. Relaxed, open and airy ambience of a restaurant/bar, hip-crowd joint. Impressive selection of super beers; get the sampler and a designated driver! Eclectic live music at bearable volumes through the evenings.
This place is the best-kept secret in the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“When you need to get away from State College...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If all those bars and restaurants overflowing with inebriated college students in the State College area get you down, take a drive through beautiful Penns Valley and escape to the Elk Creek Cafe and Aleworks! Millheim is a tiny town where longtime Pennsylvanians, the Amish and aging hippies co-exist peacefully. The Elk Creek Cafe is a bar/restaurant/music venue that is both cool and welcoming. The menu is limited but draws on local foods and always has a respectable vegetarian alternative. They serve their own brews and local wines, for those who are so inclined. And then there's the music--if you manage to visit when there is live entertainment you will be treated to local and visiting musicians who are always good. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

A stranger had told me about this place about a year ago, and we finally had the opportunity to be in the area. As we drove closer, we began to worry. We found it on the square in a town that while very nice appears to have seen better days. Then we walked into Elk Creek and were blown away. It was packed and lively, at 6pm on a Thursday in August! We got a table and looked around, everything was impressive. Clean place, friendly staff, amazing beer list and menu. Note they do not have liquor, only beer. The food was wonderful! We are trying to come up with a reason to make the drive again (2 hours for us).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

a Saturday night... good service, pleasant people, not good food, music too loud, too crowded.

lunchtime... much nicer

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks also viewed

 

Been to Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Creek Cafe + Aleworks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.