We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Restaurant in Millersville PA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barn Door

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Barn Door
14 Blue Rock Rd, Millersville, PA 17551-1410
717-872-9943
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Millersville
Restaurant details
Millersville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good Restaurant in Millersville PA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is excellent. My husband and sister-in-law had the open faced tips steak on French bread or similar type of bread with garlic butter. I had two crabcakes which were very good indeed. Service is very good and fast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Cozy Experience, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have been going to the Barn Door for a long time and always expect it to be a very cozy, friendly place with consistently good food. Sure, the decor has not changed but then again that can be a very good thing. It is a quiet, rustic atmosphere and a relaxing place to dine.
The food is tasty, fresh, and reasonably priced. The crab cakes are always very good as well as most everything else we have tried.
Service was fast and friendly. I live out of the area now but stop back when ever I am in Lancaster.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This place looks the same as it did when I went to MU, back in the 60s. This is the place if you're looking for a quiet dinner with friends or your sweetie. You can hold a conversation without shouting. No loud music, no singing waiters, no roller-skated waitresses. Just good quality food in a relaxing atmosphere. The menu isn't extensive, so if you're looking for exotic cuisine, you'll be disappointed. They don't need to cover up sub-standard fare with fancy sauces or heavy seasoning. The tenderloin tips are excellent, and the special of the evening is always a good choice. An excellent choice for date night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Earl, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Barn Door”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is the first time I ate at this restaurant. There were 4 in the party and we had lunch.
Two ordered the crab cake platters, one the oyster sandwich and I had the ham club. The ham club was more like a vegetable club (if there is one). I had a sliver of ham and bacon in one portion, a little bit more ham and bacon in the next portion, a little bit more in the next and the fourth one an acceptable portion of ham and one small piece of bacon. Lettuce and tomato was plentiful. Mostly lettuce and tomato sandwich (vegetable club). Service was good. Very dark for daytime. Probably won't return to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Owned by the same family, the Barn Door has been a staple in Millersville for decades. Not a large restaurant, it's atmosphere is somewhat cozy decorated in a rustic barn motif. It's my observation that the majority of its clientele is 60+ years old.

Like others have observed, The Barn Door hasn't changed its decor in years, maybe decades. Not necessarily a bad thing because it isn't run down but certainly some enhancements/upgrades appear to be in order after so many years. The bar stools are the most uncomfortable I've ever sat in and each time I dine there I hope they've replaced them . . . but no such luck.

Like the decor, The Barn Door 's menu hasn't changed much in years. Chances are if you have a favorite selection from years ago it's still on the menu. Even their daily specials are often repeats from week to week. Despite the static nature of the decor and menu, the food is very good and which keeps us coming back. On Wednesday and Fridays they serve one of their signature selections - tenderloin tips on toast - which rivals the tips served at The Horse Inn in Lancaster. The peel & eat steamed shrimp appetizer is excellent as are their other steak entrees, crabcakes and the list goes on. For lunch, try the 'shifter' - one of my favorites. We really enjoy their food. The friendly bartenders serve your standard of adult beverages.

Even though we live about 25 minutes across town, we don't hesitate to make the drive to enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and excellent food at The Barn Door.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barn Door also viewed

 
Millersville, PA
 

Been to Barn Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barn Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.