We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The House Itself” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fallingwater

Fallingwater
1491 Mill Run Road, Mill Run, PA 15464
+1 724-329-8501
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Mill Run
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched on a rock above a gushing waterfall, this historic house was built for a Pittsburgh family by architect Frank Lloyd Wright in the 1930s, ingeniously designed to blend harmoniously into the tranquil and beautiful woods around it.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The House Itself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Fallingwater is a gem, and the in-depth tour was quite informative. However, like so many worthwhile places, it has been Disney-fied with a "Visitor's Center" with a cafe, a museum shop (with outrageously high prices), and a so-called "Gallery." The Gallery consists of some large photos and information that could more efficiently be given in a paragraph, or as a tiny bit of any tour lecture. The Gallery seems more to be designed to be a holding tank for visitors awaiting their turn at a tour. Unfortunately, the Gallery seems calculated to bore its viewers. The nature of the Gallery is not important to adults--we know to just walk away; but for children who might be interested in the house & its architecture, the Gallery seems designed to quash any incipient interest.
That said--the house itself is so wonderful and should not be missed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    163
    20
    8
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Just go and visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have always wanted to visit this house. It was everything I thought it would be. The tours are well organized, informative and I believe worth every penny. Whether you like the design philosophy of Wright or not, this house is magical in its location. Wright's ability to organically incorporate all that concrete and steel onto the rock and over the river is amazing. The tour guide was great about describing how the house came to be built, the design and history. The gift shop has lots of merchandise and items to buy. Recommended highly!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Fell in love with Falling Water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You MUST make a reservation to get on the grounds. My local Pittsburgh friend took care of that and boy am I glad! Great original details and stories of the family and home. Lots of stairs here so not a place for wheelchairs or elderly people who may need to sit down. Although FLWright had the ego, he sure could design a terrific home. Loved the setting too! It's a must see.....recommend if you are in the area. We had a nice lunch at the cafe onsite and perused the gift shop before we left. It's only a little over an hour outside of Pittsburgh and worth the trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Rushed and expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I took a the standard tour of Fallingwater in July of 2012. I've never been to a Frank Lloyd Wright house before.

The architecture, as expected, is amazing. The tour, not so much.

Even though I was there on a weekday, the place was quite busy. I was on one of a handful of tour groups inside the house at the same time. It was quite distracting. The tour guide rushed us through the rooms, at one point discouraging questions from the group because of time constraints.

Also, the tour literature asks that you leave your camera in your car since photos are not allowed inside the house. Clearly, a lot of people bring their cameras, and photos are allowed everywhere else on the property. I guess it was my mistake for following the literature and not bringing my camera.

It's a crowded and expensive tour. The house is memorable, but just be aware that if you take the standard tour, they will cattle you through the house and push you into the gift shop as quickly as they can.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Tour guide was very young but very knowledgable,She was well trained. She moved us along thru the house pointing out important facts & answering questions. It wasn't until the end of the tour I heard someone say that there were nearly 1000 reservations to tour the home that day! Very well organized! I believe my group had approx 15, any larger would have been to many. Very pleased with our visit.
We decided to venture down the road to the town of Ohiopyle to find something to eat, lots of options there for lunch or dinner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fallingwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fallingwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.