We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Hotel & Illegal Charges” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Hospitality Lane, Mill Hall, PA 17751   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Mill Hall
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Nasty Hotel & Illegal Charges”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My family stayed 2 nights ago. Got a bad feeling right off the bat. Check-in process was very unprofessional - rather low-tech. All aspects of the hotel were shabby and in need of maintenance. Toilet ran all night and leaked. We fixed it as best we could in the AM. AC fan was directed right at the bed and could not be changed. Turning it off would mean it would be a sauna in there. Room seemed dirty and even though it was a non-smoking room you could smell heavy cigarette smoke coming in through the vent in the bathroom. The bill was very close to what I booked, but when I checked my credit card account on-line they had actually charged $9.55 more, even though we didn't use anything - just slept! Called to find out why and they said all hotels add this charge for incidentals just in case we used extras or caused damage and it will be credited within 10 days. What a bunch of bullcrap!! We've stayed any many hotels and none have ever charged us more than what was on the bill. Breakfast was mediocre at best and because of the condition of the hotel I had no appetite for what they served. Stay away! !! Will dispute the charge on my card until the credit comes in and will file a report with the BBB & Choice Hotels!

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel. This one is privately owned and operated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    13
    21
    17
See reviews for
32
19
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg PA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Good check-in experience. Efficient and friendly. Our room although close to the Interstate was quiet and dark for sleeping. Very clean and Internet worked well. Breakfast was typical and good. Staff setting up breakfast was friendly and smiling at 6 am. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I stayed here one night for an event, and found it not bad. The cost was $85 (with a block room rate). The bed was comfortable, however the pillows are a little too small and firm for my liking. I didn't sample the free breakfast, but a friend did and stated that overall it was "okay" but the staff didn't seem to keen about putting out regular coffee when he requested it. There used to be a restaurant in the hotel, but it has since closed.The room and bathroom were very clean, however the internet was slacking. However, the location puts the hotel close by a McDonald's, three restaurants one of which is a Denny's. And the hotel is easy on/off of I 80.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Dated hotel with a heavy price tag. The room was nice, clean with flat screen tv, but not for a $100 bill...and that was with some bargaining. Paid $20 less at equivalent hotels across the states. Pictures provided by the hotel are accurate and they have a nice hot breakfast, but again the price. I walked in "off the street" and was originally qouted $110 plus tax (making it the 120's after tax). I finally got them down to $89 plus tax ($99.95)...don't pay more. I wouldn't have scoffed if I was quoted $89 up front...rooms should be $79-89 range and no more.

Room Tip: Don't forget to tell them you did't use the safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

The motel was nice and staff was helpful. The room was nice. The location was good

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Flatlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is not one of the better Comfort Inns. It's comparable to a Super 8. A bit worn, with an insufficiently lit lobby and a somewhat unwelcoming design. The room I had smelled a bit funny, but I was able to have a decent night's rest.

The staff was accommodating. At one point I needed to use the microwave in the middle of the night (probably around 1 AM). There was no microwave in my room, and the night clerk (a friendly fellow) allowed me to use the kitchen.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stopped on my way through PA to OH. I didn't know that the gas and oil workers come in for work rotations and make motels rooms very scarce in this area. After passing up a smoking room at a Hampton Inn (who knew there were still smoking rooms), I had to stop at three exits before finding a vacancy on a Tuesday at 4 PM. This motel seems to cater to truckers and haulers. It's dark, old carpeting,poor signage inside, and key cards work when the spirit moves. Truckers walking the halls will open the door for you announcing that the card almost never works. Take the front entrance and save yourself time. Desk staff were friendly and efficient both morning and night. Housekeeping directed my to the elevator. Morning breakfast choices nice. Room was clean and quiet, but old and dreary. Sometimes you're just glad to have a place to stay. Seems like the location would warrant a Choice Motels upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 31 Hospitality Lane, Mill Hall, PA 17751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mill Hall
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Mill Hall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Choice Hotels and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Mill Hall
Comfort Inn Mill Hall
Comfort Inn Lamar
Lamar Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.