We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stop in historic Milford” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fauchere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fauchere to your Saves list
Hotel Fauchere
401 Broad Street, Milford, PA 18337   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
washington dc
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pleasant stop in historic Milford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel Fauchere is a Relais and Chateaux property in historic Milford, PA and certainly where you want to stay if you are going to that very attractive town near the Delaware River National Recreation Area. This is a sophisticated hotel with much that is positive. A few minor issues [because one expects superior service in a R&C] keep me from giving this hotel a 5-star. But first, the positives - the staff is exceptionally nice and accommodating, always willing to help or drop everything to address your request. The owners are on-site and it shows. The hotel is lovely, beautifully renovated from near death. From the tiled first floor hallway floor and wide-planked wood floor in our room to the very pleasant front sitting/eating porch are all gorgeous - loved it! Breakfast is very nice [the restaurant was not open for dinner when we were there mid-week but I am sure it is very good] and one can eat either in the sun room or on the front porch - so nice.
Our room was pleasant though a bit on the small side. We prefer rooms that aren't cluttered with stuff and this room was pretty much on the minimalist side which was fine. At first we were a little surprised at the simplicity of the room [nothing on the walls except a small flat-screen TV on a bracket], but we got used to it and since it was attractive in and of itself, we were happy with it. Attention has been paid to the furnishings and drapes as well as the lighting - we had everything we needed, desk, comfortable chair, somewhere to put the suitcases etc. A "nespresso" machine for an early morning shot of espresso was in the room and of course WIFI was available. The bathroom was top notch with a dual rainshower head, one hard one soft - heavenly, all marble and tastefully done.
My minor gripes concern special touches that one would expect from an R&C property - our dirty coffee cups were not removed and replaced with fresh cups and new coffee so we had to request that. Our room had a terrace with two wooden lounge chairs - nice - but the planter which should have had flowers or a plant in it was empty. The garden the terrace looked out on also needed some attention and a large, attractive fountain was empty [freshly painted maybe?] These are minor notations on our stay. We would recommend this hotel as a very comfortable and pleasant place and we would return.

Room Tip: Request one of the two rooms in the back with private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    48
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
21
183
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We made a reservation at the last minute, changing from an area chain, and we were very glad we did. The remodeled hotel has a very pleasant decor and the room was also modern and comfortable. Most of all, the staff was extremely gracious, responsive and made us feel at home. Thank you Hotel Fauchere!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I loved everything about this hotel, except for the fact that I couldn't stay longer. I loved sitting on the front porch, having a cocktail or enjoying a tasty breakfast. I loved working in the conservatory in the back. The marble bathroom was remarkable, parking easy, WiFi free, and service attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We took advantage of the hotel's weekend package to getaway from NYC recently. The hotel stands out in this charming town, filled with historic buildings and beautiful old homes. The history of the hotel is impressive, but what impressed us most is the quality of service, comfort of the rooms and overall relaxing atmosphere that the hotel provides. The weekend package is a great deal, offering a welcome bottle of wine, complementary continental breakfasts (which were amazing) and complementary 6-course dinner at the Delmonico Room. It was the perfect weekend away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent two nights here and enjoyed the quiet serenity of this small luxury hotel. There were comfortable common areas --- the large back room parlor overlooking the garden fountain where we read in the morning and the front porch rocking chairs where we enjoyed the evening breezes. We had lunch in the Bar Louis one day. The menu was diverse and creative. The quality and presentation of the homemade charcuterie was excellent. Breakfast was a treat with a variety of breads, muffins and a scone with jam. There was also grapefruit with a sugar crust and a wonderful housemade yogurt. The recipe for the yogurt was offered, but we will just come back and have it there. The room we had was comfortable and the bath spacious and elegant. Service was excellent in all areas. We will definitely come back to stay in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, PA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Quality. That is the first thought that came to mind at Hotel Fauchere as I walked in the front door to register and check in. The place was originally built in 1852. I am not sure of the full history thereafter, but somewhere along the way, the renovation(s) turned it into an elegant fortress. Nothing squeaks. The 160 year old upper floor is as solid as the concrete sidewalk outside. A heavy wooden door, the entry door into our room, had a braking mechanism so it would not slam. Even the toilet seat in our bathroom had a brake! The toilet seat cannot slam! Maybe I am under traveled or underexposed to high-end bathroom fixtures, but I have never seen a no-slam toilet seat in any other place. The only thing I am sure of is that it was not cheap. So, maybe that is not an important criterion by which you decide where to stay. But, it just shows the money and quality that went into making this old, elegant building modern. The rest of the bathroom hardware is similarly heavy duty and high quality. There are towel warming racks on the bathroom wall next to the walk-in shower. The building seemed to have excellent sound insulation for an old building.

Our short stay in Milford, PA, primarily used the Hotel Fauchere as a base by which to explore the nearby parks and waterfalls. The waterfalls were magnificent at this time of year (June), when recent rains had swollen the creeks. The falls were raging and spectacular. The Hotel Fauchere was a great base for exploring. There were a number of major falls within about a 25 minute drive of the hotel, including Raymondskill Falls, Childs Park, Dingman Falls, and Bushkill Falls. We also toured Grey Towers in Milford, PA, which was an interesting tour with beautiful grounds, and its own waterfall (currently off limits to tourists).

There are two restaurants at Hotel Fauchere. The upscale restaurant, The Delmonico Room, serves only a chef’s tasting menu. We ate there one evening. Honestly, I felt it was somewhat overpriced for the quality of the meal. Not bad, but just suffering a bit in comparison to some other alternative restaurants where you might spend over $100 per person. Hotel Fauchere is a Relais and Chateaux property, one of only two in Pennsylvania. I have stayed and eaten at a number of other Relais and Chateaux properties, including Glendorn in Bradford PA (the other R&C property in PA) and I just enjoyed the dinner better at the others. The more casual on-site restaurant, Bar Louis, in the basement of the hotel, was very fun with good food at a reasonable price. If we return on a future visit, we will probably just skip the Delmonico Room and eat solely at Bar Louis in terms of on-site restaurants.

In summary, if your idea of a nice getaway is a combination of outdoors activities, such as hiking, viewing waterfalls, and just getting out in nature, but with a really nice, high quality, comfortable hotel to return to each evening, then I think you would really enjoy Hotel Fauchere and the Milford, PA, area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely respite situated in an attractive manicured picturesque town. Old world almost European Service. Greeted us warmly. Smiles throughout our stay. A kindly upgrade to a lovely corner pretty room with large comfortable porch made it all that much more appealing. Simple but classsic room with fine amenities and quality furnishings. Lovely original floors throughout - rather comfortable bed with obviously high end linens. We chose to eat at the Cafe over the fine dining restaurant only for reasons that we prefer an ala carte menu vs a Prix fixe which is only the case here. Prix fixe is often lengthy and we end up eating too much.
We would have 'preferred' that restaurant The Delmonico as the setting is quite nice. It is quite refined. We requested to dine outdoors in the charming front porch of the Hotel rather than dining downstairs as we felt that the Cafe downstairs was not as atmospheric. The dinner was delicious with a very interesting menu. I had a wonderful chicken decious that delivered and my wife had a perfect steak. We chose wine by the glass and both the merlot as well as the Cabernet were complex and lucious wine. We also enjoyed an interesting Kale Appetizer that was a hit with an odd but delivious fried egg atop. We had a delicious baked Rhubarb dessert that we had brought up to the room.
We slept quite soundly with the porch doors open and a nice breeze blowing through. Loud clanging church bells every hour on the hour were disturbing, however quaint. Breakfast was brought to the room by snappy room service and wonderful hot coffee served from the French press was perfect. I requested steamed milk which I prefer for my coffee and it was expertly served. The breakfast assortment was lovely and I had one of the best yogurts IDE ever had. They were very cutely displayed in little mason jars. My wife loved this interesting way that they prepare grapefruit which had this wonderful crunchy brown sugar glaze. We departed with smiles and off we went. With the exception of rooms being tight it is a lovely spot and we would happily return. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fauchere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fauchere

Address: 401 Broad Street, Milford, PA 18337
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms:16 The Hotel Fauchere houses 16 luxury guest rooms, the Delmonico Room for traditional fine dining and the contemporary Bar Louis for cocktails and casual dining. Each guest room has a private marble and bluestone bathroom with radiant floor heat, heated towel bars and skin and hair care amenities from Kiehl's. Bed and bath linens are by Frette. Guest rooms feature flat panel televisions with cable, i-Pod audio docking stations and both wireless and hard-wired high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Fauchere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fauchere Hotel Milford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fauchere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.