We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Towers National Historic Site

Grey Towers National Historic Site
151 Grey Towers Drive, Milford, PA 18337
570-296-9630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Milford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Lady Lake, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were there very early in the morning and hiked around the stunning grounds. The trees were at peak color and there was frost on the ground. A beautiful mansion indeed. We did not go inside as it was too early.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    51
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Found it by mistake :) glad we did!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Had an hour to kill while in town. Came upon it by chance. Glad we did. Drove the grounds, walked the " main house" lawn and small buildings, bought a book. Beautiful views. Great American history. Easy to navigate....friendly staff.....Wish we had two hours to kill to enjoy it more. Will go back!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I stopped at Grey Towers on a whim after seeing it on a list of local attractions given to us at our hotel, and were so glad that we did! It's a beautiful place. We decided to pay for the $8 house tour. I've been on some historical tours that were a bit long and boring, and usually prefer self-guided tours, but this one was surprisingly enjoyable. We really enjoyed our time at Grey Towers!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
304 attraction reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
“Be prepared to be amazed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stopped in Milford, the largest town in the northern part of the Delaware Water Gap, to see what it was like and grab a bite. We ended up following the signs through town to Grey Towers; a place we were not familiar with. We followed the driveway up and parked. We then walked past the Welcome Building and up to the house. Because of the trees; the house isn't visible until you actually come upon it. It is a lovely home, elegantly designed with two towers from grey stone collected from the area. Grey Towers is the ancestral home of Gifford Pinchot, first chief of the U.S. Forest Service and twice Governor of NY. It is currently a National historic site which offers guided house tours and is used by the forest Service for conferences and Development Programs. The price of the tour is reduced if you have a National Park Pass. Otherwise the fees are $8 for Adults, $7 for seniors,$5 for youth 12 and older. The tour was informative and pleasant. We were able to see the downstair area, the gardens and the outer houses. The decor was restored or set up exactly as it had been when the Pinchots' lived there.The views from the back of the house were lovely. Kennedy visited here in September of 1963, after the son of Governor Pinchot donated the house and 102 acres to the USDA Forest Service. Kennedy dedicated the site to the american People to further evolve and apply conservation values and perpetuate the Pinchot legacy. If you are in the area; definitely visit the Grey Towers historic site....it is well worth it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Took the special 3 floor tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I have visited Grey Towers a few times over the years, and made it again to see even more renovations. The tower now offers a 3 floor tour as the first and last tour on the weekends only. With the three floor tour you get to see Pinchot's bedroom on the second floor which is historically accurate. The other rooms have been turned into conference rooms for the US Forestry services but do have some historical photos and political cartoons on the walls. The third floor gives you some good views of the grounds, although some windows have hand blown glass, which distorts the view.

I recommend watching the short video in the Letter Box, while waiting for a tour to start. Also the timeline path only has 2 signs, one for the children's playhouse which you will see on the tour, and one for the farmhouse. The farmhouse has nothing historical inside.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grey Towers National Historic Site also viewed

Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Grey Towers National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Towers National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.