We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend this for its very good food and excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Rock Inn American Bistro

River Rock Inn American Bistro
210 2nd Street, Milford, PA 18337
570-296-7177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Milford
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Country Inn
Hawley, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I recommend this for its very good food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Located on a country road. The hostess and staff were attentive but not intrusive. There are several rooms. The side room with many windows is quieter than others. Music on Saturday night added to the ambience. We will be back again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Enjoyed a delicious rack of lamb dinner, Perfectly prepared and served by a very attentive and friendly staff, Very comfortable and attractive dining areas furnished with period antiques.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Porch dining at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

My husband and I were visiting the area from Philly and ate at the River Rock two nights in a row...not because there weren't places to choose from.. we just liked the food and atmosphere so much.

Delicious mushroom bisque, fresh salads and savory Italian dishes. Quiet, peaceful atmosphere away from the two main and very busy roads of Milford. Excellent service and porch atmosphere made the experience feel both local and like Milford.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointment at River Rock”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Came to this restaurant for a special occassion with friends. Hostess is pleasant and amiable, probably the best part. Found us a seat in the preferred closed off porch area, very nice.
The food; appetisers a mixed bag, soup is as good as described above. Satay is dry and immediately forgetful, peanut sauce is cloying. Fried Calamari is doughy and chewy. Entrees; Veal chop, sirloin, tuna, porkchop. All were radically undercooked. The porkchop was red and raw in the middle, sent back. The others were supposedly premium cuts at very premium prices $33 - $36, so we gave it our all to eat it rare. I could not cut the steak, with a sharpe steak knife. The other two entrees went uneaten after a couple of bites. This is a party of four big guys. Everything went into a bag for the dogs. $300.
The smores creme brulee? I guess you should be smacked for ordering a frankenstein classic, and true to form, it was pretty scary. The fruit pie and peanutbutter mousse were passable. .

Had to physically get up and find the waitress twice. In an empty restaurant. Wait service is not remotely close to offering 3 or 4 star service. They are kids, mostly wandering around aimlessly, except for our waitress who was mostly MIA. We were the last to go, except for the blazingly drunk people at the bar. Safe home.
I would rather drive around in town to find something easy and price appropriate. Or put my kids through college.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rivrock, Owner at River Rock Inn American Bistro, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
As the owner of this restaurant I pride myself in the food that my kitchen team prepares and the service that is given by my front of the house team. I truly appologize on your terrible experience and would not want to charge anyone for unexceptable products. I feel that even passable is not acceptable but only an enjoyable dining experience is what all of my guest are coming here for and what i am entitled to supply. if we dropped the ball in any way i will accept full responsibility so please call me at 570-296-7177 and let me know what night that you dined here and i will void your credit card transaction or mail you a check if you paid in cash.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers, FL and Milford, PA
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem in Milford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Went to The River Rock Inn as we heard it was a new place in town and the food is very good. We were not disappointed!

As mentioned previously, the mushroom bisque is the best I've had ! We shared several appetizers including beef & chicken satay...excellent, the beef was especially tender! We also had mushroom raviolli with gorgonzolla cheese sauce which was also offered as a main course ( I think it would be too rich for a main course). We had the quesidila appetizer, also gorgonzolla with carmelized onions and tomato and mushrooms,,,nice flaky crust! The filet mignon was large and cooked perfectly with nice fresh vegetables and mashed potatoes. The dessert list looked great but we couldn't eat anymore!

The atmosphere is cozy, like a trip back in time with the porch and sun room. The staff is welcoming and service was very good despite a full house with a private party of 30 in a side room.

We are just hoping foe wine pairing dinners in the future!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Rock Inn American Bistro also viewed

Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to River Rock Inn American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Rock Inn American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.