We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great breakfast, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrington House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harrington House to your Saves list
Harrington House
208 W Harford Street, Milford, PA 18337   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Milford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oak Park, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, great breakfast, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at Harrington House while attending a family event in the area. Adrianne was very friendly, helpful and accommodating, including handling our very late arrival. We're a family of 4 and had our kids share the Thistle room with the pull-out bed while my wife and I stayed in the Monet Room. Very comfortable rooms, clean and well kept. The breakfasts were fabulous - freshly made, tasty and plentiful. Overall a terrific experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Adrianne is a natural hostess--easy to engage with and friendly but not overly assertive or saccharine. She made us feel welcome, anticipated our needs to learn more about the area, and happily is a great cook! The house has four rooms, which made for a comfortable, almost homey experience where we and another couple we met at breakfast found ourselves easily spending an hour that evening chatting on the front porch during a post-dinner rain shower. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with plenty of natural light. Overall, a delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: The Monet Room faced the back of the house and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Recently stayed at Harrington House. Adrianne was a great host and prepared a fabulous homecooked meal. She also made special meals for another guest with food allergies. Adrianne's recommendations for dinner in Milford turned out to be excellent. Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable. We have already recommended this B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

This B&B is truly exceptional - not an accolade I'd bestow lightly. Having stayed in literally hundreds of hotels and B&Bs I can honestly recommend the Harrington House as clean, well appointed, welcoming, comfortable and truly relaxed.
Nothing was too much trouble for the Adrienne, the innkeeper - even when we arrived at 11.00 p.m she had baked us a plate of delicious cookies. That was a taste of things to come - sumptuous, elegant and enormous, her home cooked breakfasts were both fabulous and creative.
If we ever get the chance to return we'd do so without a moment's hesitation.
What a great advert for the USA - she really ought to be an ambassador!

Room Tip: Al rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awendell, Owner at Harrington House, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
What a compliment! Thanks for posting this--I hope the rest of your trip was just as enjoyable!
Adriane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I was looking for somewhere to stay and found this wonderful B&B in the heart of Milford. Inviting, cozy and very home away from home. The Innkeeper, Adriane Wendell was very responsive to my last-minute booking, made me very welcome, and cooks a sumptuous breakfast!! I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This was our second visit to the Harrington House and certainly won't be our last. My husband and I journeyed to the Harrington House as a romantic wayside stop on our travels to visit family. The rooms are beautifully appointed with Victorian period pieces mixed with some more modern decorating, all tastfully done. Our room was equiped with a remote controlled gaslit fireplace which with a single click provides instant cozy romantic ambience. Adriane Wendell, the innkeeper, is friendly, delightful, full of good cheer and wonderful recommendations for what the quaint town of Milford has to offer it's visiting guests. Her morning breakfast offerings are all homemade, abundant and best of all. . . delicious! The Harrington House has four guest bedrooms which provides a welcomed intimacy with the innkeeper and her guests. If you long for the loveliness of small hometown friendliness and a welcoming place to stay search no farther than this mountain delight.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Adriene is a perfect innkeeper and a wonderful breakfast chef. Our stay was most delightful and enjoyable. And, Milford is a terrific getaway destination. We have now been during the summer and late Fall/early Winter. Fun, historic, 'real' people.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrington House

Address: 208 W Harford Street, Milford, PA 18337
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Harrington House is a historic Victorian home built circa 1860 in the center of the historic Milford, Pennsylvania. We are ideally situated in to the Delaware Water Highlands, a three state, 5 county region boasting a full range of outdoor activities and numerous historic sites, as well as quaint shops and great dining. Hiking, biking, birding and boating on the Delaware are all conveniently located or just relax in our wonderful garden. And did we mention we are pet friendly? The Inn boasts five working fireplaces, original 8” pine plank floors, a wrap around porch and a delightful interior with all the comforts of home. A warm gourmet breakfast is served daily. Each of our large guest rooms has a king or queen size bed, full bath and a full range of luxury amenities from cozy robes to chocolates. Other amenities include air conditioning, WiFi internet access, off street parking and a concierge room equipped with computer, printer, fax and phone as well as a refreshment center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Harrington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrington House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.