We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Louis at Hotel Fauchere

Bar Louis at Hotel Fauchere
401 Broad Street, Milford, PA 18337
570 409 1212
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bar Louis at Hotel Fauchere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Milford
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
ny
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Came for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Food was very very good ! We ordered with out asking what we were ordering!! I never do this but the menu was so interesting we figured we would trust the chef.. Good move! Veggie flat bread, corn chowder, and a corned beef meal that was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    46
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monroeville, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went for drinks and a light meal with my wife. Had the onion soup, deviled eggs, deviled crab eggs, and hen pot pie. Everything was great and the deviled crab eggs were spectacular. I would go back for a full dinner.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sort of a disappointment....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Last Saturday was our third visit to this restaurant. The first two were outstanding worthy of praise for a restaurant anywhere in the U.S., anywhere in Europe. This visit was, at best, "meh." First fruit flies and a small pesky house fly hovered over our table for our entire visit. The house salad was terrific, with a great blue cheese dressing. However, the three entrees we ordered, which were rather late coming out, considering it was a Saturday night, albeit early, were rather dried out and overcooked. Well, the liver wasn't over-cooked, it was mushy in the middle, with not a lot of taste. My coq au vin could have been tasty, but it had been finished in the oven too long and was dried out. The meat scarcely fell off the bone as our server had assured us it would -- it had to be pried off the bone, and I got tired of doing that. Our guest's entre, the salmon, was tasty, but alas, had also been finished in the oven too long and was dried out. Too bad. It's a beautiful venue with great service. But what is being served ain't worth the bucks. Oh, well, I shall hope that this review will be read and measures taken to correct the problems. So, maybe we'll give it one more shot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shocked and perplexed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had high expectations for brunch today since this is a Relais & Chateau establishment. We are widely traveled in Europe and US and accomplished home cooks but not usually prickly customers in restaurants. However, we did send back the Bloody Mary drinks which were not well seasoned and unpleasantly particulate. The waitress explained that the bartender just started the previous weekend. We did not send back the house pate due to politeness. Two slices of very dry pate with large fat globules, inappropriately garnished with strong, black Greek olives, marinated sweet onion strands and slices of syrupy sweet pickle. Served with very hard, dry and tasteless baguette slices. The flavor of the pate was not delicious. Even the whole grain mustard was dark brown, dry and bitter. We did not finish the portion we shared. As entrees we ordered the house made corned beef hash which was quite good and an eggs benedict on COLD crabmeat salad which tasted fishy like it came out of a can. The crabmeat had a paste-like consistency and was very jarring with the warm poached eggs and hollandaise on top. We ate little of this. I am not sure if the chef is unschooled, unsophisticated or attempting to be creative but I have to say that only the coffee and hash were well prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous experience! For Of us shared 6 small plates. One was better than the next! Sushi pizza, chicken liver toasties, beet salad, summer veggie flat bread, clarify wedge. Yum yum yum! Cute local in a nicely decorated basement space of a small designer hotel. A real surprise and really delightful!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Louis at Hotel Fauchere also viewed

Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Bar Louis at Hotel Fauchere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Louis at Hotel Fauchere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.