We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel ... Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East to your Saves list
Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 South Eisenhower Boulevard, Middletown, PA 17057 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Harrisburg Airport Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middletown
Oswego NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel ... Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed here for one night on our way to Washington DC. Our room was clean and comfortable. We ate dinner in the restaurant and were completely satisfied. There isn't a huge menu but it was much better than eating at the Wendy's next door. We didn't use the pool but is looked clean. We got a great rate on Priceline which totally made the stay worth it. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    61
    79
    108
See reviews for
162
30
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

I stayed here for a good price. I thought it would meet my expectations and for the price it did, however do not expect to stay here if you are told that there will be Assembly of God worshippers staying at the same time as your stay. You would expect these kids to be monitored but with over three (300) hundred kids it was a complete zoo. I didn't know if I was in a hotel or a daycare facility. The hotel should have done a better job, (1) monitoring these "kids" and (2) they should have tried to separate them between each floor. The hotel seem to laugh it off when I mentioned that my stay was very noisey. If you need some peace and quiet, make sure you inquire who wil be staying there. The hotel room ran out of hot water and the shower head was loose from the wall, also the exhaust fan for the bathroom did not work.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielson, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

When I first got to my room my comforter had cigarette burns in it and the sheets looked like they had stains. I had them changed the next day and still got a comforter with a cigarette burn. The bedding seemed outdated and the bed was hard and uncomfortable. The heat/ac didnt seem to stay at a happy medium, i was always too hot or too cold. On a good note, the bathroom was immaculate each day. The shower had good pressure and drained well.
The hotel had free continental breakfast. The bagels seemed hard and old, the juice was not very good, and the coffee was awful. After the first couple days, I found the waffles to be decent. The hotel also had a restaurant/bar. I rarely saw anyone in the restaurant and never went so I can't say how good that was. The bar had more people in it towards the middle of the week.
The hotel also had a fitness center, with two treadmills, an elliptical, and a weight machine--I used the treadmill and it seemed to work fine. There was also an indoor pool and sauna across the hall, never saw anyone in it, the pool looked dirty.
There are soda vending machines on each floor and a snack machine on the first floor. There is also a few arcade games for kids on the first floor. In the lobby there were two computers and a printer for guests. The hotel supposedly has free wifi, never tried it out as i had my aircard.
Not too much to do around here after 5. We went to the casino/racetrack one night, which was about 25 mins away.
Not all rooms are suites!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We exited the PA trnpk on Fri night & there it was! A driveway to unload & plenty of vehicle prkg. Check-in was smooth & quick & there were free cookies on the counter. I still got the AAA discount even though I forgot to show my card @ check-in. The hotel was full w/youth teams, wedding parties & airline crew but there were 2 elevators & people were friendly.The lobby is nice & large w/2 free internet monitors set up on a desk. Our king room was average,decorated in dark colors. The a/c wasn't on & the fridge/micro were missing but was brought in promptly after notifying the front desk. The pool was open 7am-10pm but we didn't try it out. The exercise room was small but included a treadmill/stairclimber. The vending machine in the tiny game room had varied items & worked. There were about 8 video games to play. We didn't feel like driving for dinner so we turned on the a/c & went downstairs to the Shadetree Restaurant that was open til 10PM. Unfortunately, there was only 1 waitress tending diners & the bar. We were served food an hour later after watching food served @ a table that arrived after us. Waitress was sunny & apologized but one of the excuses was a fresh batch of rice was being prepared however the dish contained instant rice when it arrived. The vegetables were scorched & the meatleaf had been reheated so often it was hard. We didn't finish our meal. The waitress offered free desert but we declined-reeling over a $40 bill that included 2-YingLings (isn't that made in PA?)
The free hot breakfast is only hot waffles, no meat like @ the Best Western in Chincoteague but the dining area was spacious & there was plenty of milk,juices, muffins, cereal - the coffee was muddy. We left & ate @ the Bob Evans a mile down the road.
the t.v. remote wasn't easy to use but you could complete hotel surveys w/ it. The bathroom contained the shower/tub/toilet & the sink was in the alcove along w/the hairdryer & iron/bd. The water pressure was fantastic & the water was warm as soon as you opened the tap. There were 2 extra pillows for the bed. A loveseat, w/coffee table & comfortable desk w/internet hook-up directions. The townspeople were friendly & The Capitol Diner is opened 24 hours - served a good breakfast. The Hillside Cafe is a fantastic steakhouse about 5 miles from the hotel on I83. Our bill was under $50 including desert & we were finished w/i 55 minutes of arriving on a Saturday night.
We would stay here again especially since the motel boards nearby showed higher prices on their ad boards.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

Another Hotwire hotel rated a 3, but more like a 2. I was disappointed with the room and the hotel overall. It just gave me a bit of a dirty feeling. A stagnant, musty smell in the room, like this one had, is always a turn off. I didn't see anything good about this hotel.

  • Liked — easy highway access
  • Disliked — smelly room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

I stayed here with my son while visiting the attractions in the area. Close to Hershey

The staff was always pleasant.

However, the hotel seemed full due to some sort of conference. The first morning we went for the continental breaksfast. Very crowded, lines for some of the food. Overflowing garbage cans despite several staff repeatedly walking by them. The second day, it was crowded again. The food offerings has shrunk considerably and when I inquired, I was told they were out.

We left and I stopped and complained at the front desk, they seemed concerned but never asked my name or room number so I knew they weren't really interested in what I had to say.

Third morning the crowds were gone but they had not stocked up on the food at all and the food offerings were even less diverse than the day before.

The pool was cold and dirty. The first night my son tried it and couldn't stay in (he usually can get used to it) I ran into a maintenance tech and mentioned it and he said the heat had not been turned on properly and it would be fine the next day.

Second day still just as cold. When I complained about the hotel not being prepared in their breakfast area for the large crowds, I also complained about the pool. They seemed genuinely puzzled that I thought there was a problem.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

Just stayed here one night to be close to the airport, and boy am I glad! The hotel was not dirty, just old and in desperate need of remodeling. Room and bed was okay, but would not want to stay there again. Swimming pool was cloudy, and tile floor in swimming area very dirty and hairy. Would be too scared to use the sauna. Weight room? Very small. We took our son to the gameroom to play video games. We played 4 games, and none of them worked properly. My son walked away from 3 games with time remaining just because he was frustrated. The only good thing about this area was that it was close to the airport. I'm sure there are other hotels just as close. Keep looking.

  • Liked — Easy to airport
  • Disliked — Needs updating. Too expensive for what we got.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East

Address: 815 South Eisenhower Boulevard, Middletown, PA 17057 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Harrisburg Airport Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East 2*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Harrisburg Airport Inn & Suites - located just outside of Harrisburg and Hershey, PA! The closest hotel to the Harrisburg International Airport, the Best Western Plus Harrisburg is located just off the Pennsylvania Turnpike and Interstate 283 and is ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers. When it comes to quick and easy access to the Harrisburg International Airport, Hershey Park and Attractions, Historic Lancaster, or Gettysburg, or a quick stop-over on your way thorough Central PA, the Best Western PLUS has it all! Yearly Hershey Park Packages available! The Best Western PLUS Harrisburg Airport Inn & Suites in Harrisburg, PA features comfortable and well-appointed standard rooms and deluxe suites. Room amenities include cable/satellite TV with free HBO, in-room movies, a complimentary USA Today newspaper daily, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, , and free local calls. PLUS - we start your day off right with a complimentary Continental Breakfast! or work up a sweat in our Harrisburg hotel’s fitness facility featuring weights and cardio equipment. A game arcade room is also available for our guests' enjoyment. To further enhance your stay, the Best Western Harrisburg Airport Inn & Suites provides free on-site parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Harrisburg Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Harrisburg Airport Hotel Middletown
Best Western Hotel Middletown
Best Western Middletown
Middletown Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.