We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical for a low cost hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East to your Saves list
Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 South Eisenhower Boulevard, Middletown, PA 17057 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Harrisburg Airport Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middletown
Spring Lake, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Typical for a low cost hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am quite leery of Best Western properties, but the "premier" and "plus" properties are generally acceptable to very good. This hotel is a Best Western "plus." It was not bad for one night, but did not live up to expectations, especially considering the cost. It was over $80.00 for a room with a value of maybe $50.00.

The walls in the room are in desperate need of cleaning and painting! Really: How hard is it to give the walls a fresh coat of paint every now and then? I wouldn't sit on the sofa. It looked like they dragged it out of the dumpster in the back alley. The fabric was worn, dirty, and had a huge rip on one corner. Also, the carpets appear to be ready to be replaced. It was difficult to tell whether they were worn, dirty, or both. The room, however, was generally clean. The bed was clean (the most important thing, right?), but not particularly comfortable. Also, the breakfast is very minimal. I hope you like waffles. And there is not much in the way of restaurants or other businesses in the immediate area. The motel is fine for one night; but if you are planning an extended stay in Harrisburg, look elsewhere. I would have expected a bit more from a Best Western Plus.

Room Tip: It's a crap shot, really. But request something on the end of the motel opposite the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    61
    79
    108
See reviews for
162
30
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Problems include 1)Slow Wifi 2) 5/6 Ice machines broken 3) Promised pool and restaurant no delivery. 5) rooms look like they haven't been updated since 90's(old alarm clocks,phones, TV, Furniture, and bed spreads.) 6) Maintenance issues including broken handles, shower curtain rods, and hot=cold faucets. For the $60 price tag you might have well stayed at $20 motel. You pay the extra $40 for the name Best Western. I was shocked that this Best Western was so bad because I've always had great experiences at them and I feel this one isn't worthy of the name. I must say it was clean and that is the only reason I'm giving it 2 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We booked this for the convenience of the airport shuttle only to find out that the shuttle doesn't run until 7:00. They did arrange a taxi for us at our expense. Plus our credit card was charged 10 more than than our check out slip.
The room looked nothing like the photos on this site. It was dirty and dated. The beds are the flat springy old mattresses. The carpet has not been vaccuumed around the edges for a very long time! The bathroom was dingy and mold spots and splatters of unknown origin above the shower.
The night check- in clerk was barely civil.
Very disappointing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been staying here since 2007 (2-3 times per year) and this is a great very convenient hotel with a good bar and a fiendly staff. It is close to Fort Indiatown Gap DC metro downtown Harrisburgh and the IAP at Harrisburgh. If you are transiting 81 from either NYC or the eastern seaboard this is a great stop and you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: ask for the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It all started with 1-800BestWestern making our reservations at the wrong hotel. This hotel is dungy, and extremely run down. Only 2 staff members on duty for the WHOLE hotel, they were courteous, but you need more staff when there is a big event in town. Let's start with the pool and lounge being closed for "renovations". Not only did they not disclose this to the group that secured the rates until right before the event, but we didn't even know until we arrived! We checked in to our 2 rooms...The bathroom had mold across the seam from the wall to the ceiling (someone tried to cover it up with caulk and paint), the room was musty, the room wasn't "stocked" with the stuff to make coffee (we had purchased a suite for the extra ammenities). We ask the front desk for more pillows and we receive ones with brown stains on them! Dead bug on the floor in the bathroom. We ran the hot water because we heard people saying there wasn't any, well, sure enough, no hot water!!! Told the front desk, the response was there wasn't a maintanence person on duty!! DUH!!! Call someone!! All this happened within 2 hours as well!!! Thank GOD that the manager at the Best Western Premier down the road was able to "adjust" things and get us a room there (which is where we were supposed to be to start with). I would AVOID this hotel at all costs!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings, MD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a group visiting for an event. Was alarmed by the recent reviews. Called the hotel before our arrival and shared my concerns. Manger assured us the reviews were not accurate.
Overall the hotel is not luxurious but clean, tidy and comfortable. The rooms are smaller than I am used to. The TV and some furniture are outdated but worked well. Staff was polite and courteous. There has been upgrades to the bathrooms, and physical structures but some of the carpeting is old and dated. Breakfast is not fancy but adequate. Overall our stay was better than expected given the negative reviews we read before coming. I also had the opportunity to visit other rooms on the 3rd and 5th floor with friend and they were not much different from ours(we stayed on the 6th floor). Would I stay at this hotel again? Sure would.

Room Tip: Stay on the 6th floor if you don't like heavy traffic. The meeting halls on the first floor are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I didn't check tripadvisor before booking this hotel (won't make that mistake again!). The photos on their website are NOT representative of what the rooms look like, at least, not the one I was given.
I booked this hotel for two nights 1/7/13 checking out 1/9/13 and was excited about the location, and appearance of the rooms based on their website. I checked in with a lady who was nice enough, signed the papers for the two nights and went to my room. As soon as I got on my floor, I realized that the carpet didn't even seem like it was installed properly (in the hallway). I opened the door to my room and was in disbelief. The linens were not the nice, clean, white appearance that they were on the website, they were a dark maroon with large flowers... you know the ones... they hide stains so well... I looked around and noticed that the sink top was coming apart from the surround, looked in the toilet/shower room and noticed that the wall paper was peeling at the seams.
I thought about calling downstairs and requesting a room that had been updated but then decided that if they were that dishonest about the photos and then the room they gave me, I didn't want to take my chances with any of their rooms. I got online, looked around and found another hotel close by. I went downstairs, told the lady behind the counter that the room online was not at all like the room I was given and let her know that I wanted to check out and not stay here at all. She did not seem surprised at all. The only question she asked me was what my room number was.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East

Address: 815 South Eisenhower Boulevard, Middletown, PA 17057 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Harrisburg Airport Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East 2*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western PLUS Harrisburg Airport Inn & Suites - located just outside of Harrisburg and Hershey, PA! The closest hotel to the Harrisburg International Airport, the Best Western Plus Harrisburg is located just off the Pennsylvania Turnpike and Interstate 283 and is ideal for both corporate and leisure travelers. When it comes to quick and easy access to the Harrisburg International Airport, Hershey Park and Attractions, Historic Lancaster, or Gettysburg, or a quick stop-over on your way thorough Central PA, the Best Western PLUS has it all! Yearly Hershey Park Packages available! The Best Western PLUS Harrisburg Airport Inn & Suites in Harrisburg, PA features comfortable and well-appointed standard rooms and deluxe suites. Room amenities include cable/satellite TV with free HBO, in-room movies, a complimentary USA Today newspaper daily, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, , and free local calls. PLUS - we start your day off right with a complimentary Continental Breakfast! or work up a sweat in our Harrisburg hotel’s fitness facility featuring weights and cardio equipment. A game arcade room is also available for our guests' enjoyment. To further enhance your stay, the Best Western Harrisburg Airport Inn & Suites provides free on-site parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Harrisburg Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Harrisburg Airport Hotel Middletown
Best Western Hotel Middletown
Best Western Middletown
Middletown Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Middletown/Harrisburg East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.