We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morguen Toole Company Lodging

Morguen Toole Company Lodging
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meyersdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morguen Toole Company Lodging
Save
You added Morguen Toole Company Lodging to your Saves list
130 Center Street, Meyersdale, PA 15552   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Meyersdale B&B and Inns
Erie, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were biking the GAP with a group and they crew went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The place is really unique and we had a great visit. The topper was, even though they weren't open, they opened up for our small group, provided a great buffet and fabulous bar service. I rarely do reviews, but this place deserved it! Thanks, Joel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Lots of youthful enthusiasm backed by some big investments in creating a really neat hotel. The name is highly appropriate in that it meshes perfectly with the decorating/furnishing style: The original use for this building in the 19th century was for two businesses--a mortuary and a hardware store. The rooms are spartan yet cute. No air conditioning as of yet because the owners were duped into buying portable "swamp coolers" which don't work in the eastern half of the country. They'll probably buy window air conditioners for 2013. There were a few other bugs in the setup as well, such as our shower wouldn't get quite as hot as I'd prefer and the outlet on one wall wasn't wired up right. The food in the restuarant was very good and the service was delightful. WiFi worked fine. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We enjoyed this place and Meyersdale so much, that we have booked rooms for another stay in a few weeks. The rooms are a modern mix of function and style. The owners have remodeled the "once-an-office-building" location and have found unique uses for things that others might have discarded. We enjoyed looking at all the stuff that's been given new life as repurposed functional items. We were biking on the GAP and our room (the shatter box) provided ample space for drying our gear. A secure garage was provided for bike storage. The fans in the room circulated the air and the heat to keep us comfortable. This is not a traditional hostel or B&B. There are no doilies...but we loved that about this place. Enjoyed meeting the owner very much and appreciated the staff's willingness to open the dining room for us and a few other guests to have dinner, even though we were there on a night when the restaurant is officially closed. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, VA.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This place’s Lodging facilities are a work in progress that needs help. Our hotel rooms was clean, the beds comfortable, the bathroom modern and neat. The space heater did a fine job. But - this is a no-frills operation. The furniture is old and used, so are the rugs. There is no TV, no clock, no radio, no drinking glasses, no tissues. The curtains cover only the lower window and dawn’s light comes shining through! There is no maid service; the room was not tidied or beds made the second day. The queen bed had a bottom sheet and a quilt, no top sheet. The single bed had a bottom sheet and I had to put on the top sheet and blanket myself. With no elevator, we carried our luggage up the 2 flights to the third floor. The cost for the room was $90 a night. We were expecting a “modest” hotel, but not this.
The manager is cheerful, courteous, and willing, and so are the other staff – but they are not trained in hotel management and it really shows. The owners need to spend a little money for a maid to do the rooms and and to train the personnel. Or stop trying to be a hotel and make it clear to customers that these are “hostel” rooms.

Room Tip: Ask a lot of questions before deciding to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived from Pittsburgh on our bikes (103 miles) through the woods of GAP, and were astonished to see such a stylish hotel in a tiny town of Meyersdale. We received a warm welcome with a short tour of the house, which is a newly reconstructed 19th century brick building with very high ceilings. Our room was spacious with one queen bed and one twin, and a large bathroom. The shower was a plastic cabin, which clashed somewhat with the overall modern, clean design (we hope that the tiles with arrive with time…). We had dinner in the first floor restaurant, quite empty on a Thurs night. Wine was terrific (although no wine list yet) as was beer and dinner. Excellent service! Overall, a super nice experience. Thank you Morguen Toole Company.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Morguen Toole has revived a 19th century commercial building to create a unique hotel. We stayed on a Monday as part of a bike trip to Washington, so the restaurant was closed and the whole place was quiet. We had the Hoover Suite, which was a wonderful space like a huge loft apartment with 20 foot ceilings. Morguen Toole is a Great Place to make yourself at home in Meyersdale.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Is it possible that a pair of gap bikers could stumble upon an oasis of llive regional bluegrass and rock music, local beers and a sophisticated menu with an option of deluxe family or hostel style room options? Pinch us we did. morguen toole co is a must if you are open to great food hospitality and entertainment. The partners who founded this place understand how to invest i'n the future of this town and their customers. And they even have a sense of humor ( which led us both to buy their signature toe tag tshirts)
We live near dc but we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morguen Toole Company Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morguen Toole Company Lodging

Address: 130 Center Street, Meyersdale, PA 15552
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Meyersdale
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Meyersdale
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morguen Toole Company Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.