We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for exploring southern PA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercersburg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mercersburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mercersburg Inn
Save
You added Mercersburg Inn to your Saves list
405 S. Main St., Mercersburg, PA 17236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Mercersburg B&B and Inns
Dallas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent for exploring southern PA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

This was one of two Inn stops in southern PA in our exploration. Jim and Lisa at this inn were very kind and have an excellent experience in store for their guests. When we arrived, each empty room had its door opened for inspection. Curious as we are, we look at each of the rooms to see if we found one "better" than ours. They were all different--some smaller, some larger. But interestingly, all were impeccably ordained with lovely accents and were pristine in their appearance. (We like our room, the Dressing Room, the best.) Their staff is smaller than some Inns, so they can't provide some of the goodies like delivering morning coffee to your door. (Cf. Antrim 1844 in Taneytown.) But all the extensive breakfast amenities are waiting for you downstairs.

The evening dining is superb. We had salmon, cornish hen, and scollaps entres. All were fantastic. Worthy of the finest restaurants you've eaten in. Wine selection was broad enough for most tastes and was reasonably priced.

We only regretted that we live so far away it is not practical to come here more often. I rated it as 4 star rather than 5 only because their service and facilities are a bit more restricted than some more elaborate inns. However, we would surely put this on our short list of places to revisit if we were in the area.

PS: Golf very nearby at Whitetail is excellent and quite a bargain!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    12
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
47
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Inn was nice and the room was nice. Only two things that I had a problem with. 1. We arrived about an hour early and were told we could not check in and were asked if we had gotten our confirmation email, which we did. They said the confirmation email said a 3 pm check in, which is fine but most places let you check in if your there before the check in time. We were asked to sit outside on the porch and wait until 3 pm. As soon as the clock struck 3 we went in and then the owner said now offically welcome. 2. It was very warm in the Inn and the A/C was off. We had dinner there one evening and I asked the waitress if she could turn on the A/C because it was hot. She said sure, she always thinks it hot in there. The owner noticed it was on and asked the waitress why it was on and I assume she told the owner that some guests asked to have it on. The owner started sitting folks for dinner and she asked everyone that came in if they were cold and they said it felt fine. She then started messing with the vents and it started blowing cold air on one of the guests and the lady said she got cold all of a sudden so the owner said, oh sorry we can take care of that, and she turned it off. Are A/C in our room was also off and it was very warm. We asked about that and it was turned on. She said the cleaning crew turned it off. We felt we were not rtreated right becasue we look young even though we are close to our 40's. We will not be returning to this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
We are always appreciative of reviews on TripAdvisor. Through them we can determine whether we are doing a good job or we need some improvement.

Unlike a hotel or motel, when a guest reserves a room at a B&B or Inn, they are renting a specific room, all the rooms are unique. If a guest arrives 1 hour early, a motel or hotel probably can provide an early check-in since all the rooms are the same. If arranged with us in advance, we will try very hard to accommodate an early check-in request and schedule our housekeeping accordingly. Unlike a hotel that can get a room ready in 15 minutes, because of our attention to detail it takes almost an hour to get a room ready for a guest. In this case we were full the night before and since the guest did not call us and ask for an early arrival, we could not provide one. It was a nice day, so we offered them to relax either at our Tile Room Bar or on our covered porch until the room was ready.

I don’t understand where the complaint is about the air-conditioning in the dining room.
It was an October evening and we felt that the A/C was not needed in the dining room.
The guest asked the server to turn it on and she did. When the guests at one of the tables complained about the AC blowing on them, my wife, who was hosting dinner, tried to divert the air flow and she was not able to do it. What the reviewer failed to mention is that when she could not fix the problem, she notified me and I resolved that problem immediately.

The guest room that the reviewer occupied is serviced by a central A/C unit. Again, since it was a nice October day, we did not initially turn the A/C on. When they asked for us to turn it on we did.

We have guests ranging from 7 years old to 85 years old. We don’t know what caused the guests to think that they were mistreated and especially because of their age.

We are dedicated and work very hard to make all of our guests’ visits to the Inn a special occasion and of course want them to return. So we were very surprised at this negative rating since if you think about it, every wish of our guests was immediately taken care of.

Please look at the other reviews here in TripAdvisor for a better evaluation of what we do and who we are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

we got together with a group of dear friends for a reunion at this beautiful bed and breakfast. There we relaxed on the expansive porch, overlooking tranquil grounds, enjoying drinks and lively conversation with each other and the delightful hosts, Jim and Lisa. We strolled downtown then returned to the Inn for a delicious gourmet dinner. We slept in comfort and luxury in a lovely room. What an awesome weekend we all had.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Innkeeper, Owner at Mercersburg Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you decided to try a B&B and very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Mercersburg is an absolutely beautiful Inn. We stayed in the Dressing Room and loved it. We didn't eat dinner there but the breakfast was exceptional. A bit pricey but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

The location of the bed and breakfast is central, yet the property is wonderfully quiet and beautifully cared for. Parking was amply available. After having had a bad experience with a hotel we had booked over the Internet; we arrived -late at night, desparately looking for a room. Despite the late hour, the owner, Jim, was VERY accommodating and made us a good offer on a large guestroom and brought us in an extra bed for our 5 year old. The room itself was very beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Toilet articles and bottled water came with the room- a pleasant amenity! The featherbedding was most exhilerating (no skimping on the amount of feathers). We slept wonderfully. Afterwards we opened the windows to the morning freshness and birds singing. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. The breakfast was top (egg and sausages rolled in a tortilla, plus homemade blueberry muffins on one day, oven made gourmet Frenchtoast and a smoothie on the next). The dining area itself was a very lovely, glass-enclosed porch with trees on 3 sides. Any requests for information about the area were quickly answered and suggestions made for undertakings. In the lower level of the house is a bowling lane and playroom, outside is a white wooden hollywood swing in the garden. The drive through entrance-way allowed you the feeling of a grand entry into the house. You almost expected someone in a long dress and a frack straight out of the 1880's to greet you at any moment. The sitting room ,alone, made you feel as if you were set back in time into the end of the 19th century. The two winding staircases accentuated that feeling. Very cultivated... Our 5 year old is a very active, yet curious child, but even she seemed to sense that the house was a beautiful place of cultivation. She behaved as if she was a little princess -especially when it came to walking down the winding stairs - picking up the front of her dress. Once out of thin air she turned and said to Jim, "You have a very beautiful house." We all had to laugh and agree upon it. A definite place to re-visit.
If you are looking for the feeling of true hospitality and richness in style, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a fantastic "French Cooking Weekend" at The Mercersburg Inn. This weekend, a gift from my brother, was an unknown: we had not heard of the Inn and we had never been to the quiet little Pennsylvania town near the Maryland border. The moment we pulled into the drive of the large mansion on the hill as we entered town, saw the lovely grounds, the convenient parking, and stepped into the elegant fin de siecle foyer, we knew we had come to a very special place. We were greeted with a warm smile and shown to our spacious room, Prospect View. The room is large, the bathroom enormous and fitted with original plumbing and fixtures that are in mint condition: this in itself, is an expereince. We also had a large balcony. The linens are luxiurious and the bed sumptuous. This room is expensive and a worthwhile treat, but we saw other less expensive rooms that were beautifully appointed and offered every amenitiy required for a comfortable stay.

The common rooms in the Inn are lovely and welcoming. There is a bar at night for drinks in the arts and craft style, Tile Room. There is also a large porch with lounges, tables and a rocking chair that faces a peaceful, cool grove of trees. Guests feel welcome everywhere and hearing the carrillon from the Mercersburg Academy on Sunday--just across the road, with lovely grounds for a brisk walk or a stroll--is a bonus!

The most special part of this weekend was the incredible French cooking class that was taught by Chef Patrice Olivan of the Academie de Cuisine in Gaithersberg, Maryland. This package includes a meal following each class; you serve the part of the meal you prepared. Wine is included. The food was wonderful, and what we learned will result in many fine meals at home. This package is offered periodically and is well worth investigating. Anyone who loves great food and cooking will have an exceptional experience.

Lisa and Jim McCoy, the owners of the Mercersburg Inn are interesting, knowledgeable, amiable hosts whose hard work and dedication to running a quality establishment is evident in every aspect of this wonderful inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

I just spent an incredible weekend at the Mercersburg Inn cooking with Chef Patrice Olivon from L'Academy de Cuisine in Gaithersburg, Maryland. I have stayed at the Inn a number of times, usually in the winter, while skiing at the Whitetail ski resort. The Inn is very well managed by Jim and Lisa McCoy who are always around to make their guests as comfortable as possible. The Inn stands out as a B and B with its own chef, Dan Nowalk, who prepared a fabulous dinner for the 12 of us in the cooking classes, our chef, his wife and Jim and Lisa on Saturday night. The five course memu included a lucious duck liver appetizer followed by a melt-in-the mouth soft shell crab course. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercersburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercersburg Inn

Address: 405 S. Main St., Mercersburg, PA 17236
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mercersburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mercersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 guest rooms, Georgian Mansion on 5.5 landscaped acres. Owner reside on premise. All rooms a/c, private baths, fine linens. Fine dining restaurant. Cooking classes, wine and food weekends, romantic getaways. Golf, Ski, Spa, Babymoon packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mercersburg Hotel Mercersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercersburg Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.