We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mendenhall Inn

Mendenhall Inn
323 Kennett Pike, Mendenhall, PA 19357
6103881181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mendenhall Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Mendenhall
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hillendale
Description: Dining at the award winning Mendenhall Inn stands alone as one of the great destinations in the Brandywine Valley as you return to a time of classic elegance & charm. Entrees borrowed from French & classic American cuisine make dining at The Mendenhall Inn a truly memorable experience. Enjoy our all new family night menu Sunday - Thursday. Outside dining, weather permitting.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

good, expansive menu ... plenty of choices ... attentive staff in quiet, elegant atmosphere. Salt & pepper calamari was great! Nice wine choices too. Parking lot is several yards from retaurant entranc and the restaurant is not clearly marked but we found it. We heard when they are busy you can feel neglected but only 6 tables were occupied last night.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    42
    29
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beatiful Setting & Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A great place to go on "Date Night"! Loved sitting by the fireplace to eat dinner in the pub area. The food was delicious and the service was perfect. We will definately go back again!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Private party nicely done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We attended a celebration for a family member at the Mendenhall Inn and found the food to be tasty and the atmosphere pleasant. About 25 of us gathered in a private room (not sure if it's always private or if they closed it off for us). We had been offered a limited menu to choose from ahead of time, with three different entree options as well as accommodations for several special dietary needs. Both the vegetarian entree and the fish option got thumbs up from our party, as did the starters of tomato soup and a lovely salad. A cheesecake dessert was also well-received.

The lobby has a small sitting area around a fire--a cozy place to wait for the rest of your party to arrive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening at Mendenhall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a nice evening with some great food at the Mendenhall Restaurant. Even though we had no reservations, we did find seating for dinner. Promptly seated and great service by our waiter. The restaurant was about 3/4 full when we got there and other diners came in during our meal. Some say the place looked worn but we found it to be a comfortable setting and just the right ambiance.
The snapper soup was quite good. The Kennett Square Mushrooms stuffed with crab imperial was good but the mushrooms were just a little over done and rubbery. Great Caesar salad with cool crisp romaine and Asiago cheese and right amount of dressing. Both the slow roasted prime rib of beef standard and grilled was done to order (medium rare). The crab cakes had plenty of crab and very tasty. Price may be a little on the high side but worth the splurge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good but not GREAT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Food was good, servicewas only average, place is looking worn..Did have easy parking, a little touigh to find from the road if you dont know eaxactly where to llok for the restaurant

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mendenhall Inn also viewed

 

Been to Mendenhall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mendenhall Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.