We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West to your Saves list
Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5401 Carlisle Pike, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050 (Formerly Holiday Inn Harrisburg West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I wanted to especially thank Sandra who welcomes me every morning at the hotel's breakfast buffet. She is always kind and friendly and goes out of her way to take good care of me to make me feel welcome. I look forward to seeing her every morning when I stay over on business. Thank you Sandra for all that you do for the guests at the Park Inn Mechanicsburg.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    73
    53
    51
    40
See reviews for
118
56
23
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I came across this hotel by accident and loved it. For a fraction of the price of more expensive and flashier accommodation, this one is a hidden jewel. Ok, the basics - motel-style rooms but clean, comfortable beds, daily replenished coffee in room, adequate bathroom, good restaurant and bar with daily specials, indoor and outdoor pools and fitness centre, plentiful and free parking, and free wifi mean that for a casual use the hotel provides good basic service. For a longer stay (I had 4 nights), the real benefit comes out. In a word - service! Nothing was too difficult for the staff, from the GM Dan down through Managers Dave and O'Neil, staff members Tiffany and Jenni in the restaurant, Alicia and her colleagues at reception (and I apologise to the others for forgetting their names), regardless of the time of day or night. Since for me, service, friendly staff and courteous response to requests are the things that really make a hotel stay as long as the basics are provided, this hotel deserves a five-star rating from me. One got the impression that staff actually enjoy working there, which is not always the case with hotels. The only drawback I found is that the free wifi was patchy at busy times (and then quite difficult to access) but again the assistance was immediate and genuine.
Interestingly, the mix of people here was very varied, from those on their own like me, to families with kids, and businessman and visiting legislature in Harrisburg merely confirming my view that it appears to meet many needs very well. And, having visited friends at the Hershey yesterday, I'd choose this one ahead of it every time unless flashy surroundings was my sole criterion.

Room Tip: rooms near pool have seats outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahoo, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed here as part of a large group. The entire staff was very gracious throughout the two week stay. Staff was always pleasant and helpful. Hotel has daily drink and meal specials at Legends; I didn't leave the hotel the first week. Outside is another bar which fills up quickly with full menu (and another pool table) overlooking five volleyball courts (great for cigar smoking). On Friday and Saturday night yet another bar opens for the dancing. I used a safe deposit box and it was a breeze. Great laundry service. The breakfast provided our group was exceptional and the ladies ensured everything was clean and tidy. When we had to leave in the wee hours, the breakfast wasn't reduced. When my overnight package was mailed to the hotel, I was surprised to find it waiting for me in my room. I have stayed at five star hotels, but none of them had the dedication that this staff has for personalized service. Park Inn should recognize this hotel staff as the most courteous, most gracious, and most accommodating staff in the entire industry. I have never seen a hotel staff go out of their way like this staff does. Although the hotel may a little older the primary detractor is the hotel room door open to the exterior covered walkways. The hotel has both indoor and outdoor pools which could be bigger, but they were never crowded. The indoor pool was perfect for two lap swimmers. The workout room only had one item of each (four total), but I rarely competed with anyone for use. Way out back the hotel has two small ball fields and adjacent covered picnic areas with a grill and horseshoe pits in a safe wooded area. The miniature golf course is nice and shaded; my 8 and 5 year olds will love playing it next year. Across the street within walking distance are another half dozen restaurants and shops (Outback, TGI Fridays, Bob Evans, Dunkin Doughnuts, TJ Maxx, Home Depot, Kmart, etc). I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to everyone. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! P.S. Save Dave.

Room Tip: Tell them Dave sent you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is the worst place I have ever stayed. No woman that I know would feel safe staying at thus hotel. There are mysterious holes in the shower and bathroom area and the rooms are cleaned by mostly men. It is very close to loud highway traffic that kept me up at night. Beds are uncomfortable and seemed damp!!! Bugs were also found. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

i got this room from mystery hotel on hotwire...where you dont know name of hotel only number of stars and general area. then i say the tripadvisor reviews. i was so scared . i think the radisson must have redone the hotel or we had a newer room. it was almost perfectly clean except some stray hairs. everything was brand new and we got lots of pillows. the noise was not a factor...i could not hear highway when when i was outside on balcony. so i think some of these reviews are made up. it was actually one of the quietest hotels i have ever stayed despite the rock concert going on at the the hotel i still heard no noise or rowdy people.
I WOULD DEFINATLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. the property is outstanding with lots to do and the 2 pools!! great indoor lap pool and outdoor pool.

Room Tip: nice room overlooking pool on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

During my week long stay at the Park Inn, I found the staff to have the highest in customer service. They were friendly and accommodating. The food was very good and the coffee in the front lobby rivaled Starbucks for great taste!

My many thanks to the staf for their kindness and attention to detail.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We booked this hotel through hotwire who claimed it was a 3.5 star hotel. Not so much! The staff is very friendly and accomodating but the rooms are very old and in need to renovating. Except for the amenities (pools, gym, activities) the hotel is old and is more along the lines of a 2-star. The same weekend we stayed there was another group staying that had ultility trucks and took up almost all of the parking spots. We had to park far from our room, which is off an outdoor hallway, and walk almost around the entire hotel. I wouldn't stay here again on my own valition but I would recomend it for someone who just needs a place to stay. Would not recomend through Hotwire either.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West

Address: 5401 Carlisle Pike, Mechanicsburg, PA 17050 (Formerly Holiday Inn Harrisburg West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100% Smoke Free Hotel sits on 22 acres of land and has shopping, theaters, restaurants and other activities within a 1 mile radius. Offers Indoor and outdoor pool, 24 Hour on-site fitness center, 24-hour business center and on-site laundry facilities. There is over 16,000 square feet of meeting space, Picnic Groves, Outdoor Courtyard, Mini-golf course, sand volleyball courts, Softball field. - Home to 3 different places for food, drink and entertainment. Blarney's Irish Pub is a great place for dinner and a pint, Whiskey Ridge Saloon host the best country bands plus you can ride the mechanical bull, and Legend's Grille, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Choose one or visit all three. The hotel is right across the street from the Mechanicsburg Navy Depot and a short distance to the Farm Show Complex, Ski Roundtop, Carlisle Fairgrounds, Downtown Harrisburg, and Hershey Park. We can accommodate picnics up to 1500 people and have outdoor facilities for wedding ceremonies and receptions. We have 12 meeting rooms that can accommodate from 10 - 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Holiday Inn Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Inn by Radisson Harrisburg West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.