We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6325 Carlisle Pike (US 11), Mechanicsburg, PA 17050 (Formerly Comfort Inn West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Greenfield, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Under construction”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you have a problem with stairs or really require an attractive hotel stay away until this place is finished with its badly needed remodeling. I cannot understand hotels that think a "Excuse our Mess" sign excuses everything from minimum service to bad TVs. Wait until spring 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwaysonthego75, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are anxious to show our finished renovations in the year 2013 and hope we can have you as a return guest. Your feedback helps us to reach out to the staff and construction team and that is a useful tool to help us with training. Thank you for your business, please give us another opportunity to restore your confidence in lodging choices in 2013! Happy Holidays from the staff and management of Mechanicsburg Comfort Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
7
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

As it says in the welcome book in each room, this Comfort Inn has recently changed ownership and it shows. I work for a local retailer and my company paid for me to stay here during Hurricane Sandy so I would be close to our store. The employees at the check-in counter were incredibly friendly and genuinely glad I was able to make it safely to the hotel. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The next morning I was happily surprised to catch a free continental breakfast (which I'm not sure they previously offered) before heading off to work. Despite the fact that I had to be away from home during the hurricane, I felt welcome and safe at the Comfort Inn West.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alwaysonthego75, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your response. We appreciate you commenting and understanding the importance of us making the major improvements on our hotel. We look forward to your return visit when you are in the area again; and I hope you are impressed with all our renovations and upgrades in 2013. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

As good or better than the other nearby alternatives, plus a decent full breakfast. My room faced Carlisle Pike, but it was still quiet enough to get a good night's rest. WiFi speed is ho-hum, so don't plan huge jobs here! Free coffee in the lobby 24x7 was appreciated, too. Staff was attentive, if uninspired.

Room Tip: It will be quietest if you ask for one off Carlisle Pike. Seem to have very little space for 18 whee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa409, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we appreicate your business! We will be upgrading the WI-FI and the parking lot along with the entire construction and renovations projects. We look for feedback .....please stop by and ask for me on your next visit in, so we can disuss your suggestions. Thanks! Lee L., Manager, Comfort Inn West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashpee, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel is average very dated room decor. They should really put some attention to this aspect. But it was clean and it served our purpose just fine! front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Location near restaraunts .convenient

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We recently stayed here on a road trip north on I-81. It was one of the few hotels with space available for under $100. The location is great. There are ample restaurants nearby, and easy access to the interstates. Breakfast is decent, and includes belgian waffle makers, cereal, and some other bakery items. There were also a couple of hot food items (eggs and sausage).

My kids and I are picky about breakfast food, so we opted to get toast with peanut butter and go to Dunkin Donuts.

The staff was very friendly from check-in to the cleaning crew at breakfast.

The rooms were just average. Old tube-style TVs with limited satellite service. The beds were not very comfortable, but they weren't the worst I have ever slept on. The room was clean as was the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

After a long wet drive from The Philly airport I arrived at midnight. I felt safe in the parking lot and at the hotel. The staff was nice and was not sleeping on the job as some night front desk people do.

My room was on the 2nd floor. As soon as I went up the stairs to the 2nd floor I was blasted with a wave of cigarette smoke. This worried me because my room was non smoking. I was very happy that the smoke smell was not in my room.

The room was clean. The shower had good water pressure and the bed was cozy. Breakfast offered more than most hotels in ths price range and below. Overall I was happy to stay here for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

As the title suggests, one of the first and nicest little things they did soon after my wife and I arrived was to call us up on the hotel phone and ask us if everything was all right. It was and despite what others may have written, the coffee was somewhat better than colored water....somewhat! But the rest of the breakfast was quite good, featuring individually packaged peach yogurts, waffles, potatoes, pastries, juice, etc. Not bad for $80. And the room WAS clean and comfortable for the one night we stayed while visiting family. Didn't use the exercse room. Staff helpful answering questions we had about where we wanted to go. Overall, this was a quite satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg

Address: 6325 Carlisle Pike (US 11), Mechanicsburg, PA 17050 (Formerly Comfort Inn West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, a Mechanicsburg hotel near Harrisburg and popular Hershey attractions.The Comfort Inn(R) Mechanicsburg/Carlisle is conveniently located on Route 11, just six miles west of Harrisburg, the state capital, and seven miles east of Carlisle. This Mechanicsburg, PA hotel is minutes from the U.S. Army War College, Naval Support Activity Mechanicsburg, Dickinson College, Dickinson School of Law, Messiah College, the New Cumberland Army Depot, part of the Defense Distribution Depot Susquehanna, and the famous Carlisle Car Show. The Harrisburg International Airport is 12 miles away. More than 20 restaurants are located within one mile of the hotel. Additional area attractions include the Pennsylvania Dutch Country in Lancaster County, Hershey's Chocolate World and Gettysburg National Military Park. Hotel amenities and features include: •Free high-speed Internet access •Free local calls •Free morning newspaper •Free 24-hour coffee •Exercise room Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Carlisle the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including pancakes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg SW-Mechanicsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.