We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable B&B!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orris House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mechanicsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orris House Inn
Save
You added Orris House Inn to your Saves list
318 West Main Street, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Key West, FL Chicago, IL Orange County, CA Detroit, MI Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Unbelievable B&B!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My sisters and I sent to Orris House for the first time - we were wowed to say the least! Kevin is very low key and made us feel so welcome. There was wine and cheese at night - and an absolutely fabulous breakfast each morning. We told him we liked coffee and each morning at 6:30 there was coffee and tea available for us - and then we had a full sit down breakfast at 8a. We were able to sit and relax in the beautiful rooms with our wine, and at night while talking or reading. The towels in the bathrooms were high quality, and each person had a robe. Kevin turned down our beds each night. He also made sure their was water in our room fridge. I can't imagine any other B&B that could offer any more than this place. We already said that this is the place we will be back to again and again - job well done Kevin!!

Room Tip: Just go and experience it - you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
19
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were traveling from Virginia to upstate New York for a wedding and decided to spend the night in route to celebrate our anniversary. The Orris House Inn had fabulous reviews, so we decided to give it a try. The house is absolutely gorgeous and well kept. Kevin is a superb host who is very attentive to his guests and making it a special experience. His focus is on the B&B and his guests - we were “the main event” and not a sideline in an otherwise busy life. This is the hallmark of all great B&Bs. Kevin greeted us with a bottle of champagne for our anniversary, then insisted on carrying the bags up. Great start to a wonderful weekend in the blue suite. Both the room and the bathroom were large and beautifully appointed. The bed was very comfortable and we ended up sleeping 9 hours – a rarity. We made the most of our time in Mechanicsburg – a great dinner Friday evening and a morning trip to the YMCA (just 10 minutes away) followed by a cooked to order breakfast and a walk through downtown to admire the architecture. We plan to return just for the pleasure of staying at Orris House and exploring more of the area.

Room Tip: The blue suite is spacious and beautiful. The bathroom has 2 syncs and beautiful amenities and towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our second stay at ORRIS HOUSE B&B. The house is charming and the garden is beautiful and filled with birds. The breakfast was well prepared and fresh. Kevin, the inn keeper is very friendly and hospitable .A very relaxing place to stay when visiting Dickinson College for parents weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a weekend at the Orris House Inn while in town for a wedding, and Kevin was a wonderful host. Not only was the house beautiful and charming, but we received breakfast to order and had a wonderful guest experience. It was my first stay at a B & B, and my trip here would make me want to do it again- better than a hotel every time. Thank you Orris House!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My siblings and I came to Pennsylvania for my sister's birthday. We stayed at the Orris House Inn. It is a grand place to stay, very Victorian, but with the modern conveniences. The ambience is wonderful and conducive to conversation. The Innkeeper, Kevin Jackson, keeps the inn clean, tidy, and well stocked. He made some of the best breakfasts I ever had.

Rosemary Lee
Homestead, FL

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Innkeeper Kevin is the perfect host. He took our beverage requests by email before we arrived, cooked breakfast to order, helped my husband make an ice pack for his bicycle wreck bruises, and sent us home with a care package of scones and bottled water! the house is sumptuous, with more common rooms than I have ever seen at a bnb; parlor (lounge),library, study, hall, dining room, kitchen, sunroom ( conservatory) and music room (ballroom). if you get my drift here, this house could be the Clue house if it had a billiard room - and there's space for one in the back of the parlor, remove those tables, I say go for it, get the endorsement! the suites also look lovely, as does the garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Orris House July4-7.

First of all, if you are looking for an inexpensive room to sleep, then go to one of the local hotels in the area. However, if you are willing to pay a little more and looking for an "experience" then you need to stay here.

The house is like walking back into time. You can spend hours looking at the antique furnishings, the artistry of the house (tall ceilings, pocket doors, turrent windows) and the gardens. Staying here you will experience how life was 100 years ago. We stayed in the Blue room which was large and furnished to the period with a modern bathroom.

And your host, Kevin, will feel like your friend rather than an innkeeper. Fresh fruit cup with a custom to order breakfast. Just tell him what you would like and it's off to the market to satisfy your request. And the blueberry pancakes grilled in butter is not for the diet minded. Dining in the sunroom overlooking the garden was great.

Thanks Kevin for the wonderful experience.
Michael and Janet

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orris House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orris House Inn

Address: 318 West Main Street, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exquisite mansion, built circa 1887, is a registered National Historic Landmark. Known for our customer service and attention to detail the Inn features period antiques and wallpaper and is rich in original detail. We are centrally located and an easy drive to Harrisburg, Carlisle, Gettysburg, Hershey, York, New Oxford and Lancaster and the Pennsylvania Dutch Country. We are 10 minutes from Messiah College and 20 minutes from Dickinson College. We offer accommodations of distinction as well as provide an intimate setting for small weddings, receptions, reunions, birthday, anniversary and graduation parties. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orris House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.