We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4921 Gettysburg Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
1 review
“Best hotel in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel close to a dozen times in past two years as my son attends Messiah. I've tried others but this one is cleaner, the beds and linens are superior, bathroom updated, and the lobby is a great place to hang out. I have to drive over 400 miles to get here and I'm willing to spend an extra $20 for a good night's sleep. Although some rooms face rte 15, it's not a noisy highway at all. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you are able to get a good night's rest while staying with us- it's truly our pleasure to host you while your in town to visit nearby Messiah College. We look forward to your next trip!

Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    43
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
69
19
7
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

we had great time on our trip , the hotel was so clean, the staff was fabulous we will definately stay there again next year, the kids loved the pool and hot tub. it was very close to store and resturant, and close to hershey park

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
So glad you had a great time while visting the Central Pa area! Thanks for choosing our location, you're right, we're just a quick drive to Hershey Park and other area attractions. We hope to see you again next summer! If you should need any accommodations, please do not hesitate to contact us!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Such a great experience visiting family from out of state --got to spend time with children who enjoyed the pool and the clean complimentary breakfast!! Breakfast selection is huge --healthy choices and manned by employee --not all hotels have this making it easy to get through and ensuring cleanliness!! Much better than competitors. Thank you Courtyard!

Room Tip: close to pool or breakfast would be helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about our property, and our staff - It's our pleasure to host your family, and we hope you had a wonderful time in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful property and lobby ... Laundry fitness pool and jacuzzi .. Business center friendly staff luxury rooms with granite countertops and cherrywood furniture comfy beds lots of parking travel maps and brochures on site as well as a list of restaurants nearby with phone numbers free wifi complimentary coffee( flavored too!!) in lobby with snacks on site very clean and spacious hotel!! I would highly recommend this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
The flavored coffee is one of my favorite amenities at the hotel, too! Thank you for your kind review of our hotel - I cannot wait to pass this comments on to the rest of the staff. We are so gald that we could make your trip to PA that much better- Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very nice hotel. Incredibly comfortable furnishings. Indoor pool and exercise room were very nice. Breakfast was not free, but the lobby and business center were nice. The hotel is newer, so things are clean and nice. It was a great stay, I would stay again if I happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your response! Although we are a few years old, we pride ourselves on keeping our hotel looking like new - and providing the best guest service as possible. Can't wait to host you again during your travels to Central Pa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We went to Hershey Park and stayed here after. The hotel is about 25 mins away but is MUCH cheaper then anything closer to the park. Was a bit worried it might not be as nice but not the case at all! Well worth driving 25 mins for. The hotel is very clean. Room/ bathroom was clean. Will stay again anytime we go to Hershey or the casino!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for choosing us to be your home away from home during your travels. Hope you had a great time at Hershey Park, too ( & sample all the tasty chocolate)! We hope we'll see you again next time - and thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel.

Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights from Friday to Sunday morning with my two boys (8, 14) and wife. We attended Hershey Park both days which is why I picked this hotel. I paid $250 total for two nights during a special promotion. It included breakfast for two adults both mornings too! So I only had to pay for the kids. I compared a lot of other hotels in the area and this was a pretty good deal for the middle of the summer.
The positives would be the staff was very friendly and welcoming at the front desk and at breakfast buffet. This is not a huge hotel but does offer a few amenities that make this a nice hotel for the price. The lobby had coffee and a cold beverage both days, apples, and one evening free s’mores. Behind the front desk they had wine (in small bottles and a couple medium-sized), beer in single bottles and snacks like chips, candy, fruit cups and microwaveable cup meals. I think they had a few refrigerated items as well like yogurt. These items obviously were for a price but not too high, like a convenience store. Our room was a good size with an ample sized bathroom. This room was actually larger than at the Marriott we stayed at in Long Island. The room had two queens, mini-frig, coffee maker (old type) and a microwave. Other expected items as well like a hair dryer and an iron. Free wifi, LCD TV and a large desk. Enough room for a couple of nights. Hotel has an indoor pool but it’s very small. Pictures are misleading on the website. The pool can really only accommodate about 5-7 people. There is also a 5 person hot tub, and an outside deck area with a grill. A gym is adjacent to the pool; it’s small as well but has a few treadmills, some free weights and a couple elliptical machines. Water and towels are available in the gym.
The food at the buffet breakfast was good. Nothing fancy but better than fast food for sure. Typical continental items you can get for like $7 all you can eat or pay $11 for the hot stuff like pancakes, made to order omelets, bacon, scrambled eggs and make your own waffles (waffles were really good). Definitely worth it and easy. The wait staff working there seemed friendly, although the cook in the back made a rude remark when my wife asked for an omelet and she said she may not have time to make it! Isn’t that what they’re paid to do?! There was like one other family there. That stuff really annoys me. Other than that no bad experience or issues.
One thing that I would mention about the room was that the shower curtain was a little moldy and could have used a replacement. Other than that the room was clean and beds were very comfortable. I’ve always liked the Marriott beds. This was a nice stay, nice price and worth the 20 min drive to Hershey to avoid the overpriced hotels near the park. If you do stay here and plan on going to Hershey Park, it’s about a 20 min drive in good traffic. The Saturday morning we left for Hershey the traffic was a little congested and took us longer than expected (like 30 min). Keep that in mind if you plan on getting to the park when it opens. If you have any specific questions just email me, Thanks.

Room Tip: Hotel has 3 floors, secluded off the highway but easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristine G, Operations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I'm so glad that you and your family had a good time at Hershey Park and we hope we'll be able to host you for future trips! My apologies about the minor incidents that occurred during your stay, these will certainly be addressed, as we do not want any other guests to have that experience. As always, your feedback is greatly appreciated and helps us strive to set our standards even higher.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg

Address: 4921 Gettysburg Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#3 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West is located just off Route 15 less than a mile from I-76 (PA Turnpike) and minutes from I-81 and I-83 and is the newest Marriott on the West Shore of Harrisburg. We are a short drive to Central PA's best recreation and shopping venues such as HersheyPark, Roundtop Mountain Resort, Twin Ponds West / Cheer Tyme and the Hershey, Gettysburg and Lancaster Outlets. Our hotel is only miles from the PA State Capital and centrally located to Hershey, Gettysburg, Lancaster, and York. The Courtyard by Marriott is just minutes from the Rossmoyne Business Park, Select Medical, Highmark, Versatile and Rite Aid. Check out our seasonal packages for excellent leisure getaways! For our Canadian travelers, we are a perfect stopping point to break-up the trip to Florida and points South. Our hotel is designed for the business traveler, but certainly welcoming for a leisure getaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Courtyard
Mechanicsburg Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg West / Mechanicsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.