We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for the room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4943 Gettysburg Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just for the room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The room was nice and clean. The person that check us in was great. The luggage cart was falling apart and not safe so if you have little ones don't let them push. Fingers and hands will get pinched, voice of Experience....
The breakfast was not good. Eggs were fake and tasted and look it. The cereal and break was stale.
Stick the the oatmeal...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    17
    15
    9
See reviews for
43
10
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I travel a lot and love Country Inn hotels, this one is average but not great as most are. When checking in the young lady was helpful and quick. The room she gave me had a noisy refig and she offered to change my room, instead she exchanged the unit since i had already unpacked. Very good customer service!

The reason I only give an average is the breakfast. The room is small for the business they are doing, as least on the weekend when I was there. The coffee is located in a hard to access spot behind all the tables. The food also was not appetizing, they had no fresh fruit when I was there and the yogurt was being served from a large group container with a communal spoon, would never have eaten from that!! Looked so unsanitary with the container open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I travel every week on business, and I needed to stay in the Mechanicsburg area to see a supplier. I have stayed with this chain before and they are very consistent with their quality from location to location. This hotel was no different: the room was clean, everything worked (lights, TV, remote, etc.), the staff was friendly, etc.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is probably the third or fourth time staying at this hotel. Check in was fast, with counter person very nice. Room was good, clean and comfortable for what time we were there. Breakfast is included, but breakfast room is small and usually crowded, so we just pass eating there. About 20 miles or so from Carlisle and the Fairgrounds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Booked via hotels.com as a place to crash for my young family of 6 as we made our way back home from Charlotte to Upstate NY. Paid $107 for a double queen suite. The hotel gets a "poor" rating from me for the following reasons:
- Smell of the suite: the room was designated "smoke free" but must have been a smoker's room in year's past. There was a stale, used-to-be smoked in smell throughout the suite.
- Sofa/sleeper in suite area: the cushions were worn to the point of having small tears. When opened up as a sleeper, the mattress was so thin we could feel every spring. It was clear that the sheets on it hadn't been changed recently.
- Bathroom - at multiple seems, the wallpaper was peeling in the shower area. Curled right up. The metal frame of the bathroom door had areas of rust on it.
- Service - only when we checked in around 8pm was service given with a smile. The next morning all staff that we interacted with (checkout, breakfast) were cold, not even willing to make conversation.
We were satisfied with the queen beds, the shower head and the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We will address the smell of smoke and peeling wallpaper ,and bad service directly with the hotel. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel used to be good but now is the worst they got a new lady as housekiping manager and she is not doing her job the rooms are dirty the beds full of hair the only person there that knows how to treat a person is the mantenece guy that does everything in that hotel event breakfast.
He should get another job were they have better treatment.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff. We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best service. We are glad that you were happy with our maintenance. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we stayed and once again perfection. My husband and I were so exhausted we were about to pass but we turned on at 10pm since we loved it the last time, one room available. It was very inexpensive as was the last time immaculate clean hot breakfast in the morning, fresh coffee. The main thing that sells me is when you open the door to your room and there is usually a smell good, bad or indifferent there is one. Well the clean smell was so nice I just dropped in the bed with relief. I have allergies and they didn't bother me in the room. I just wanted to say how excellent this hotel is and recommend it HIGHLY.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West

Address: 4943 Gettysburg Rd, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located between Hershey, Gettysburg & Carlisle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Country Inn And Suites Harrisburg-West
Country Inn Mechanicsburg
Country Inn Harrisburg West
Mechanicsburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Harrisburg-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.