We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   650 Gettysburg Rd., Mechanicsburg, PA 17055   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel was very hard to get to. You could see it from the four lane road beside it, but you had to go further down the road and get off and turn onto a dead end street. We finally got there after several tries.
It was quiet there and the beds were OK.
The rooms needed updated and cleaned more thoroughly. I had to clean several long hairs off the sink before using it. It seemed almost like someone used it after it was cleaned.
The breakfast left a lot to be desired. I thought that Choice Hotels served a better breakfast.
I was glad to be staying for only one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
12
5
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My God, what a filthy place. I had to spread newspaper all over the furniture to sit down on. And the bathroom was so disgusting, fortunately, I had flipflops I could wear in the shower and walking across the carpet.

And the rate was $70+ a night!!!! - Outrageous.

And the icing on the cake... I attempted to use their WIFI which was spotty and kept breaking down. But while I was using it, I kept getting popups. and when I left, I found they had installed popups on my computer "Lucky Leap" is the name of the virus You'll have to go into control panel to uninstall it. - And who know what other viruses they installed that I haven't discovered yet.

My advice to you:
First: Even if this is the last hotel with a vacancy - DO NOT STAY HERE... Sleep in your car.
Second: If you do stay here, do not use their internet unless you enjoy getting annoying popup ads for the rest of your life.

I sincerely wish there was a way to give a negative rating - I am being generous by giving them a single star.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wanted to find a couple of rooms for our family for our visit in Lancaster and Econo Lodge worked out just fine. We had a color TV, free WiFi, and a continental breakfast (didn't try). The rooms were spare, but big enough and very clean. I asked for adjoining rooms and the place was very accommodating. It was conveniently just off the highway, but we had no problem with noise. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Pa.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

While the location and pricing were positives, most everything else was lacking. When I arrived my first impression was not a good one. The place looked "worn" from the outside. The room while clean, except for the dead bug in the microwave, smelled musty/smokey. As it sits very near the interstate, it was also noisy. The continental breakfast was very sparse. I actually chose to buy breakfast elsewhere. This would be a great place for traveling workers looking for an easily accessible, reasonably priced, no frills motel to rest for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After looking at the reviews my husband and I decided to stay here for a weekend...what a mistake. The room smelled old and musty and after researching the problem the faucet was leaking into the wall. The tile was all moldy in the shower. The floor was filthy and covered with hair and the grout was disgusting. The tub spout was cobbed up and leaked. It looked like a child had caulked around the toilet which was all stained yellow. I had to go to the store and buy bleach to disinfect it all. The chairs in the room were all stained. Two of the table legs were about to fall off and bent at an angle. Lightbulbs were burned out. The bedspread and blanket were not clean and stained. When I got clean towels they had long black hairs in them...The breakfast had nothing to speak and only 1-2 of the things they did have and this was at 8am.. I was quoted one price and charged another....unfriendly manager. Warning don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manns Harbor, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose the motel for the location and because the other chains in the area seemed overly expensive for a one night travel-stay and the latest reviews for this motel were good. It was a wonderful room, clean, we parked at the door, there was new carpet and paint, and the grounds were very well kept. It was a bargain! No, it is not a new Comfort Inn or something, but it is HALF the price of the ones in the area and just about as good. I would happily stay again!
On the down side, the breakfast is meager, but again, it's half the price. But there is plenty of coffee. And the internet worked very well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had my grand daughters wedding last weekend and made last minute reservations thru Hotwire. Hotel was affordable and only going to be used to sleep. Rest of the families stayed in High dollar hotel half mile away.

Place was clean people nice but wish they had waffles for breakfast but bagels were good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 650 Gettysburg Rd., Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.