We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   650 Gettysburg Rd., Mechanicsburg, PA 17055   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Mechanicsburg
Wellsville, New York
1 review
“Don't stay here!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After looking at the reviews my husband and I decided to stay here for a weekend...what a mistake. The room smelled old and musty and after researching the problem the faucet was leaking into the wall. The tile was all moldy in the shower. The floor was filthy and covered with hair and the grout was disgusting. The tub spout was cobbed up and leaked. It looked like a child had caulked around the toilet which was all stained yellow. I had to go to the store and buy bleach to disinfect it all. The chairs in the room were all stained. Two of the table legs were about to fall off and bent at an angle. Lightbulbs were burned out. The bedspread and blanket were not clean and stained. When I got clean towels they had long black hairs in them...The breakfast had nothing to speak and only 1-2 of the things they did have and this was at 8am.. I was quoted one price and charged another....unfriendly manager. Warning don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
4
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manns Harbor, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose the motel for the location and because the other chains in the area seemed overly expensive for a one night travel-stay and the latest reviews for this motel were good. It was a wonderful room, clean, we parked at the door, there was new carpet and paint, and the grounds were very well kept. It was a bargain! No, it is not a new Comfort Inn or something, but it is HALF the price of the ones in the area and just about as good. I would happily stay again!
On the down side, the breakfast is meager, but again, it's half the price. But there is plenty of coffee. And the internet worked very well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had my grand daughters wedding last weekend and made last minute reservations thru Hotwire. Hotel was affordable and only going to be used to sleep. Rest of the families stayed in High dollar hotel half mile away.

Place was clean people nice but wish they had waffles for breakfast but bagels were good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a local hotel to the town I live in. I've needed to stay here several times due to power outages, and/or no hot water at my house. The front desk staff is always very friendly. This is not a 5 star hotel so do not expect that. However, it is a clean, comfortable hotel. It has a good location for Carlisle Car Show visitors, as well as not to far from Harrisburg and Hershey if your plans take you that way. I'm a very picky person and I am always comfortable in all ways when I stay here.

Room Tip: King, queen and doubles are offered here. Haven't had any problem with any room, no problem wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived here for Business late one night, First of all the road into the place is Very Hard to find. We had to drive across a Road Closed flooded out road. Got to the Hotel and Front Desk people were standing AT THE FRONT DOOR Smoking.
We got a room in the rear of the building. It is Very Dark back there. Seems to be no security lights. We were so tired and just wanted to go to sleep. Walked into the room and there were 2 little (tiny) pillows on a Queen Size bed. then we realized there was No Blanket on the bed. Just three mattress pads. two sheets and a decorative cover spread. Ashtray in a non-Smoking room and smelled like smoke. Breakfast starts at 7am. Most people like us are long gone down the road by that time. We just hit the road in the morning and made a note to avoid the place next time.

Room Tip: There have been No upgrades or changes to this place in Years that we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

just writing to amend my review from Jan 2006, while it's still not the greatest it has gotten a bit better. Room was nicer, bed was very comfortable and the pool was nice. Didn't do breakfast at hotel so can't say if it was any better but my only real complaint is that you can't get a cup of coffee before a certain time (7am) if you wake up earlier or have to leave your out of luck, need coffee makers in the rooms. But all in all a lot better than last time

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasshof
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Econo Lodge. Expect no more. Good location on the way to Harrisburg. Breakfast is rather poor, rooms are ok but not very tidy. Biggest downturn is the annoying heater/airconditioning unit which is noisy and clumsy.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 650 Gettysburg Rd., Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.