We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price & very good in general” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   650 Gettysburg Rd., Mechanicsburg, PA 17055   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Mechanicsburg
Oxford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price & very good in general”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose the motel for the location and because the other chains in the area seemed overly expensive for a one night travel-stay and the latest reviews for this motel were good. It was a wonderful room, clean, we parked at the door, there was new carpet and paint, and the grounds were very well kept. It was a bargain! No, it is not a new Comfort Inn or something, but it is HALF the price of the ones in the area and just about as good. I would happily stay again!
On the down side, the breakfast is meager, but again, it's half the price. But there is plenty of coffee. And the internet worked very well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had my grand daughters wedding last weekend and made last minute reservations thru Hotwire. Hotel was affordable and only going to be used to sleep. Rest of the families stayed in High dollar hotel half mile away.

Place was clean people nice but wish they had waffles for breakfast but bagels were good

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a local hotel to the town I live in. I've needed to stay here several times due to power outages, and/or no hot water at my house. The front desk staff is always very friendly. This is not a 5 star hotel so do not expect that. However, it is a clean, comfortable hotel. It has a good location for Carlisle Car Show visitors, as well as not to far from Harrisburg and Hershey if your plans take you that way. I'm a very picky person and I am always comfortable in all ways when I stay here.

Room Tip: King, queen and doubles are offered here. Haven't had any problem with any room, no problem wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived here for Business late one night, First of all the road into the place is Very Hard to find. We had to drive across a Road Closed flooded out road. Got to the Hotel and Front Desk people were standing AT THE FRONT DOOR Smoking.
We got a room in the rear of the building. It is Very Dark back there. Seems to be no security lights. We were so tired and just wanted to go to sleep. Walked into the room and there were 2 little (tiny) pillows on a Queen Size bed. then we realized there was No Blanket on the bed. Just three mattress pads. two sheets and a decorative cover spread. Ashtray in a non-Smoking room and smelled like smoke. Breakfast starts at 7am. Most people like us are long gone down the road by that time. We just hit the road in the morning and made a note to avoid the place next time.

Room Tip: There have been No upgrades or changes to this place in Years that we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

just writing to amend my review from Jan 2006, while it's still not the greatest it has gotten a bit better. Room was nicer, bed was very comfortable and the pool was nice. Didn't do breakfast at hotel so can't say if it was any better but my only real complaint is that you can't get a cup of coffee before a certain time (7am) if you wake up earlier or have to leave your out of luck, need coffee makers in the rooms. But all in all a lot better than last time

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasshof
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Econo Lodge. Expect no more. Good location on the way to Harrisburg. Breakfast is rather poor, rooms are ok but not very tidy. Biggest downturn is the annoying heater/airconditioning unit which is noisy and clumsy.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

Dear Travelers: Please note that the reviews that are so negative from 2006 NO LONGER APPLY! The owners have upgraded this hotel so much, it is quite lovely for the money nowdays. In fact, if you are traveling to very nearby Messiah College or even to D.T. Harrisburg, it is not far at all. The rooms are now quite modern, except perhaps the somewhat noisy fan in the bathroom, which we do not mind. The price to stay there if you are related in anyway with Messiah College is a wonderful savings. I must add that the price per night listed on many travel sites is significantly higher than when we just call the hotel directly! The owners are very sweet and helpful, and even the free breakfast has been upgraded. One other nice thing is that your car is quite secure, because the hotel is at the end of a nice quiet road parallel to the highway. That means that no one even bothers to come to the end of the lane unless they are also staying at the Econolodge. With a large mini-fridge, coffeemaker, etc., you just cannot beat the price anywhere in that locale for the number of amenities that are offered.
Nope, it's not the Taj Mahal, but is well worth your while to check out the Econolodge in Mechanicsburg if you are on a budget but
want a NICE, clean place near shopping malls, B.J.s and a lovely Cracker Barrel restaurant. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends, because it simply is MUCH NICER NOW than what the outdated reviews state. That is why we stayed there in Jan. and have already booked two more nights for March, 2009! In fact, I bet we stay there quite happily at least 8+ nights a year! Joyce and Bob Stotts, Newark, NY

  • Liked — The rooms have lovely, large fridges and the renovations are so nice! Great location!!! Staff is wonderful!!
  • Disliked — Slightly noisy fan in bathroom, but no big deal.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Econo Lodge
Address: 650 Gettysburg Rd., Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.