We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always pleasant and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Harrisburg West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Harrisburg West to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Harrisburg West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Ritter Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
Katy, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always pleasant and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We have stayed at this location whenever in the area for the past 15+ yrs. When we first started, it was once a year or every other yr, but the past several years we stay here at least once and sometimes two or three times a yr. Always greeted with a smile; very efficient; hotel and rooms always clean; breakfast and evening mgrs. receptions always delicious; rooms always comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Being our guest for 15 years? How can we thank you? We appreciate your glowing review on TripAdvisor. Later this year, we will be embarking on a 3.4 million dollar renovation, so hopefully, your next trip will offer many enhanced amenities. We can't wait to show it off to all our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    56
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
122
44
8
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I had read the reviews on this hotel and was expecting a good experience. My mother and I were in town for a wedding. First of all the price was very high just because there was a car show in the area so the price was elevated, no AAA discount. The minute we walked in our room we were not happy. The smell was so funky. I called front desk immediately and they came and sprayed febreze and opened our windows. There were no rooms to be changed . We left to be with family and got back late that night. Smell still there! My mother went to take a shower at 11pm and turned on the shower water came out then made horrible sounds and the water stopped . I went to front desk and told them about shower and smell in the morning. They did fix the shower luckily before we went to wedding. No help with smell, we opened our windows again. There has been some updating but obviously not enough. We stayed 2 nights and paid way too much for such a smelly room. Fortunately we did not have to be in the room long.

Room Tip: I am not sure there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor. As you had read from other guests, we take great pride in our staff and hotel and are disappointed when we do not exceed your expectations. Please contact me directly so we can further discuss your stay and hopefully EARN back your business.

Keith Komon, Area Manager
717-697-4900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

There for business, suite was very comfortable, amenities were excellent-breakfast was more than adequate in quantity, taste was average. evening meals and hospitality were good-I mean, free beer-cant go wrong there. Staff helpful and courteous. I will use this facility chain in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations, so your thoughts and comments are vital to our success. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Having been staying in the same Homewood Suites now for 10 years and they are always fantastic. Will be staying there next year as well. It's my favorite home away from home. Having been staying in the same Homewood Suites now for 10 years and they are always fantastic. Will be staying there next year as well. It's my favorite home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We LOVE that you have been our guest for over 10 years. Later this year we will begin our 3.4 million dollar renovation....when you return next year, we will have a whole new look. Don't worry however, we will still provide our legendary service and make you feel "just like home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel every year for the past four years and have never had any complaints. We are with a large group of car enthusiasts that take over the courtyard for our annual cookout. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place is very clean and the food they serve is very good. We highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We appreciate your business each year for the car show! We love that you can use our outdoor courtyard area as a place to socialize. We strive to exceed expectations, so always feel free to offer suggestions as to how we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

When we booked this hotel online we were amazed by the low price, the locations claim to close proximity to restaurants, Hershey and other attractions. We reserved a suite with a separate dinning room, king size bed, full living room and large jacuzzi bathroom with a double sink and a second bathroom for $139 a night.

We called the hotel early on the morning that we were set to arrive to see about an early check-in and was told that was no problem and the room that we reserved was all set for us. We arrived at 11 am and found out that our room was not ready and would not be ready for at least another four hours.

When we finally got into our hotel room we were stunned to realize that the room we'd reserved was not the one they gave us. There was not jetted tub, no separate living room, second bathroom or dinning room. All the furniture was old, scratchy and uncomfortable. The bed was lumpy, the pillows disgusting and thin and the comforter engulfed in a weird material that did nothing to cover the smell. When we called to find out why we were giving a different room we were told that they oversold those rooms and that when you reserve a room, you're only requesting the room. There is no guarantee that the room will be yours. We were charged the same amount.

The old bait and switch.

We looked into a different hotel only to discover that all the hotels were sold out and we were indeed stuck at the hotel. The stay was horrible. We found five different types of bugs in the room. The maid ignored out request to the hotel not disturb us and also the sign we left on the door. She came in, went through our things, opened the curtains so that anyone walking by could see our things, shut off the air conditioner and made it so that we could not turn it back on, threw some of our things away. When we called up to complain to the front desk, we got a basic apology and promised to make sure that the maid service would stay out. They banged on our door every day of our stay and walked in on us twice.

They did not leave us fresh towels, toilet paper, cups, etc. We had to go to the front desk to get those things. The temperature of our room got above 80 degrees. We kept contacting the front desk to no avail. Finally we walked down to the desk and demanded some help. They came and fixed it, showing us that the thermostat had a trick to it that not even they understood. It took 12 hours for the room to cool off.

The meals that they promised were horrible, cereal dried out and bitter, fruit rotten. My son ended up running to the bathroom and become sick after trying to eat the fruit salad. The dinners were just as bad. The only thing decent from their meal was the fruit juice.

There is nothing close to buy drinks, snacks, etc. The hotel has an overpriced store with a very limited selection. The nearest grocery store is ten minutes away by highway. There is not a good selection of restaurants around as promised by the website. it is also quite a drive to the nearest attraction.

When we were leaving, a day early because we just couldn't take one more day, I called the front desk and told them that we would be checking out in 30 minutes and to please not cancel our key cards until then so we could get all our stuff. Five minutes later we were locked out of the hotel with some of our things still in our room. We were so aggravated by that point that we just left.

The hotel called us a few days later to find out what to do with our stuff. I explained what happened and the hotel was only too happy to send us our things back, at our expense.

This hotel is outdated, poor service, misleading information and dishonest practices. I would not stay here again. Two of my business associates stayed there as well and had similar experiences.

Not a good place for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Book by phone, get the persons name, confirmation number and make them promise you what room you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take great pride in our hotel, staff, service and amenities and are disappointed when we do not exceed our guests' expectations. Please accept our apology for your experience. At your earliest convenience, I would welcome the opportunity to talk to you to discuss your concerns. Kindly contact me directly.

Keith Komon
171-697-4900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

stayed here for a soccer tournament. rooms are great. breakfast was made earlier than normal on the weekend to accommodate the soccer team - which was an added bonus. the breakfast had quite a bit to from which to select. the pool table is a great indoor activity. the meeting room was perfect for the team to come together. the kids used the pool as well as the outdoor basketball court, adjacent to the pool. the indoor gym was fine, treadmills, a few bikes and of course free weights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Many potential guests reference this site prior to making hotel reservations, so your input is vital to our success. We hope if your team competes again in our area, our hotel will be your #1 choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Harrisburg West

Address: 5001 Ritter Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Harrisburg West 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Homewood Suites Mechanicsburg
Homewood Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.