We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a relaxing stay-look elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Harrisburg West

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Harrisburg West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Harrisburg West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5001 Ritter Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Mechanicsburg
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“For a relaxing stay-look elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

When we booked this hotel online we were amazed by the low price, the locations claim to close proximity to restaurants, Hershey and other attractions. We reserved a suite with a separate dinning room, king size bed, full living room and large jacuzzi bathroom with a double sink and a second bathroom for $139 a night.

We called the hotel early on the morning that we were set to arrive to see about an early check-in and was told that was no problem and the room that we reserved was all set for us. We arrived at 11 am and found out that our room was not ready and would not be ready for at least another four hours.

When we finally got into our hotel room we were stunned to realize that the room we'd reserved was not the one they gave us. There was not jetted tub, no separate living room, second bathroom or dinning room. All the furniture was old, scratchy and uncomfortable. The bed was lumpy, the pillows disgusting and thin and the comforter engulfed in a weird material that did nothing to cover the smell. When we called to find out why we were giving a different room we were told that they oversold those rooms and that when you reserve a room, you're only requesting the room. There is no guarantee that the room will be yours. We were charged the same amount.

The old bait and switch.

We looked into a different hotel only to discover that all the hotels were sold out and we were indeed stuck at the hotel. The stay was horrible. We found five different types of bugs in the room. The maid ignored out request to the hotel not disturb us and also the sign we left on the door. She came in, went through our things, opened the curtains so that anyone walking by could see our things, shut off the air conditioner and made it so that we could not turn it back on, threw some of our things away. When we called up to complain to the front desk, we got a basic apology and promised to make sure that the maid service would stay out. They banged on our door every day of our stay and walked in on us twice.

They did not leave us fresh towels, toilet paper, cups, etc. We had to go to the front desk to get those things. The temperature of our room got above 80 degrees. We kept contacting the front desk to no avail. Finally we walked down to the desk and demanded some help. They came and fixed it, showing us that the thermostat had a trick to it that not even they understood. It took 12 hours for the room to cool off.

The meals that they promised were horrible, cereal dried out and bitter, fruit rotten. My son ended up running to the bathroom and become sick after trying to eat the fruit salad. The dinners were just as bad. The only thing decent from their meal was the fruit juice.

There is nothing close to buy drinks, snacks, etc. The hotel has an overpriced store with a very limited selection. The nearest grocery store is ten minutes away by highway. There is not a good selection of restaurants around as promised by the website. it is also quite a drive to the nearest attraction.

When we were leaving, a day early because we just couldn't take one more day, I called the front desk and told them that we would be checking out in 30 minutes and to please not cancel our key cards until then so we could get all our stuff. Five minutes later we were locked out of the hotel with some of our things still in our room. We were so aggravated by that point that we just left.

The hotel called us a few days later to find out what to do with our stuff. I explained what happened and the hotel was only too happy to send us our things back, at our expense.

This hotel is outdated, poor service, misleading information and dishonest practices. I would not stay here again. Two of my business associates stayed there as well and had similar experiences.

Not a good place for a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Book by phone, get the persons name, confirmation number and make them promise you what room you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take great pride in our hotel, staff, service and amenities and are disappointed when we do not exceed our guests' expectations. Please accept our apology for your experience. At your earliest convenience, I would welcome the opportunity to talk to you to discuss your concerns. Kindly contact me directly.

Keith Komon
171-697-4900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    45
    14
    7
    0
See reviews for
101
42
8
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

stayed here for a soccer tournament. rooms are great. breakfast was made earlier than normal on the weekend to accommodate the soccer team - which was an added bonus. the breakfast had quite a bit to from which to select. the pool table is a great indoor activity. the meeting room was perfect for the team to come together. the kids used the pool as well as the outdoor basketball court, adjacent to the pool. the indoor gym was fine, treadmills, a few bikes and of course free weights.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Many potential guests reference this site prior to making hotel reservations, so your input is vital to our success. We hope if your team competes again in our area, our hotel will be your #1 choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff are welcoming, and friendly. The housekeeper was so friendly as I would pass her in the hall. The coffee was great and breakfast was pretty good. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location is next to a variety of great stores and places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Many potential guests refer to TripAdvisor prior to choosing a hotel. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to write a review! We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our hotel, and are thrilled that you specifically mentioned our service. Our goal is to exceed expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pntr6875
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a very nice hotel and I love the seperate kitchen and living room. The free breakfast was nice also. The location is also good for getting on and off the highway. This place has spoiled us and now we always try to stay at a suite hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip to Mechanicsburg. We love that we have spoiled you in needing suite accommodations when you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I was staying for 2 weeks for business. All the staff were amazing and really made it feel like "home away from home". Bill, Lauren, Andy and Crystal all helped to make my stay comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We thank you for being our guest for 2 weeks! Also, a huge thank you for taking the time to complete a TripAdvisor review. We take great pride in our hotel and our employees! Those people, in Guest Services, that you mentioned will be treated to lunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Great hotel to stay in where everything you need is just few steps away. Helpful choice especially for a busy business traveller. Also the facility provides plenty of choices for the stay back family member and being Pet Friendly is great plus !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Owner at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Your TripAdvisor review is very important to us. Having our Suite Start hot breakfast and our Welcome Home Reception available is provided because we want you to feel at "home" while traveling! Bringing your pet along makes your stay complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Planned a trip to Hershey Park and stayed at Homewood Suites. This hotel is a hidden gem. We traveled with our 6 lb dog and my wife and I were very excited about the cleanliness of the room. Andy and staff went out of their way to help us with every need we had and made us feel at home. It was a great experience. Stick around for Andy's famous cookies at 8:30 pm. ;)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARHW, Manager at Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel! Our location provides our guests with easy access to Hershey, Lancaster and Gettysburg. The 8:30pm warm cookies are a favorite for many of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Harrisburg West

Address: 5001 Ritter Road, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#3 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Harrisburg West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Harrisburg West Hotel Mechanicsburg
Homewood Suites Mechanicsburg
Homewood Mechanicsburg
Mechanicsburg Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Harrisburg West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.