We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   385 Cumberland Parkway, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mechanicsburg
New York City, New York
1 review
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

When I reserved the room directly through Wingate I made a special request for a room that was clean enough for someone with allergies and quiet. When I walked into the room there were what I believe were biting midges since I was itching around my head and received some small bites on my arms and legs. I asked management to change our room but they said they were all booked up and would not able to make a change. The bathroom sink was slow to drain and shower lever was very loose so I was not able to get the water very warm. There was also a bad odor that always emanated from the bathroom. At about 2:30am the people next door turned on the tv and we called management who had them lower it but the walls were thin so it still did not allow us to sleep. I chose Wingate based upon its high online reviews and my experience may be an aberration, however, I thought it may be helpful for travelers who wish to consider an overnight stay at this location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    158
    75
    22
    9
See reviews for
229
64
19
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MORGANTOWN
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Booked a room for an XC meet. Carefully read the cancellation policy since we weren't sure if we would actually need the room due to still to be scheduled events that might dictate driving to Carlise on the morning of the race. Noticed a cheaper rate in a tab on the same Wingate webpage, clicked on the tab and booked the room. Tried to cancel the room and was told that by selecting the cheaper rate I had "pre purchased" the room and no cancelations were allowed for any reason. I was told on the phone that I should have called to "confirm the cancellation policy" before booking. So much for the convenience of booking online. Will not stay at a Wyndham property again if we have any choice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAY SHORE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is a great value, especially with the discount you give to Messiah College families. The only negative thing about the weekend is that we had HORRIBLE neighbors. They were up and VERY LOUD from as early as 5AM - NOT COOL! That, however, is not the hotel's fault. That could happen anywhere you stay. Regardless, I make this hotel my first choice everytime I come to visit my daughter in college.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASTER
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the moment I signed in to the morning we left, the staff and room were outstanding. I will highly recommend staying there. Even at 1030 in the evening the coffee was even good, you can't say that about most hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERKASIE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

While I enjoyed my stay and felt the hotel is clean and staff professional, I do think it would serve your hotel well to do something about the traffic noise for guests staying on that side of the hotel. I asked to have my profile updated to indicate ALWAYS having a room on the non-highway side. I don't regard myself as a light sleeper, but had a challenging time sleeping with the trucks. My 18 year old son thought the same. The "constant fan" button did not work on the A/C unit; I was hoping to use the fan to drown out the traffic. It is my understanding that another hotel nearby, and also on the highway, installed special windows. Another idea is to have "white noise" players for guests to borrow at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel was great for the money. Breakfast was very good and included hot selections. Rooms with double beds were large with sitting area. A great overnight stay with friendly people at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTERFIELD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location, close to the PA Turnpike. Very nice front desk, sales and housekeeping staff. I commute every week from Virginia to PA and I stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West

Address: 385 Cumberland Parkway, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mechanicsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#5 Family Hotel in Mechanicsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Mechanicsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Hershey, Harrisburg and Gettysburg, Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg is the perfect hotel for your corporate and travel needs. Complimentary breakfast is served daily. Guests love our indoor heated pool, fitness center and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Mechanicsburg Hotel Mechanicsburg
Wingate Hotel Mechanicsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.