We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Signage Art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Read Between the Signs

Read Between the Signs
Route 322, Meadville, PA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Meadville
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Saegertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Signage Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Even though I live in the area, I never tire of seeing the unique way Alllegheny College art students captured the essence of Crawford County using recycled street signs.
Worth visiting Meadville, PA to see!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
170 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Worth a detour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This display is quite amazing. It is made out of solely traffic signs and was designed and build in collaboration between Allegheny College's CEED and PennDOT. It is quite long and displays different themes. We took a detour just to see this.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Visual Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A well designed and thoughtful re-use of old highway traffic signs. This collaborative art project between Allegheny College and PennDOT is a wonderful sight at one of the gateway entrances to Meadville. Technically located in Vernon Township, the sign pictures are a visual representation of various places around Meadville. This may have been the first of its kind in the state, though I am not completely certain.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun, unique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is some fun and unique artwork. If you're going to be in Meadville, you'll want to be sure you see it! It is located right across the street from Giant Eagle supermarket, which has restrooms and a little cafe if you need to get something to eat. There is also a Get-Go gas station if you need gas. It's very convenient, and not far from 79.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved looking at the atr made out of old street signs. It was one of a kind. Our kids knew when we saw it, that we were near our hotel. It was a great landmark. When we first looked at it, we didnt realize what it was made of. It will be something the kids will always remember.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Read Between the Signs also viewed

 

Been to Read Between the Signs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Read Between the Signs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.