We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a detour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Read Between the Signs

Read Between the Signs
Route 322, Meadville, PA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Meadville
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
170 attraction reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Worth a detour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This display is quite amazing. It is made out of solely traffic signs and was designed and build in collaboration between Allegheny College's CEED and PennDOT. It is quite long and displays different themes. We took a detour just to see this.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Visual Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A well designed and thoughtful re-use of old highway traffic signs. This collaborative art project between Allegheny College and PennDOT is a wonderful sight at one of the gateway entrances to Meadville. Technically located in Vernon Township, the sign pictures are a visual representation of various places around Meadville. This may have been the first of its kind in the state, though I am not completely certain.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun, unique!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is some fun and unique artwork. If you're going to be in Meadville, you'll want to be sure you see it! It is located right across the street from Giant Eagle supermarket, which has restrooms and a little cafe if you need to get something to eat. There is also a Get-Go gas station if you need gas. It's very convenient, and not far from 79.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved looking at the atr made out of old street signs. It was one of a kind. Our kids knew when we saw it, that we were near our hotel. It was a great landmark. When we first looked at it, we didnt realize what it was made of. It will be something the kids will always remember.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You think your eyes are playing tricks on you. Huge flowers, beautiful landscapes, and then you realize they're made out of road signs!? We had no idea this charming re-use project was here. Just stopped in Meadville for lunch at the recommendation of friends. We'll be back now that we've seen what this community does to make itself attractive. Not just the PennDot garage, but the town center has been re-made too. Great place to stop, Great place to spend a weekend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Read Between the Signs also viewed

 

Been to Read Between the Signs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Read Between the Signs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.