We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pocono Palace Resort

Save Saved
You added Pocono Palace Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pocono Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rt 209, Marshalls Creek, PA 18335   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 Days/2 Nights for $499
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Marshalls Creek
Terryville, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pocono Palace for a mini honeymoon. For 3 nights, we paid almost $1400 for the champagne tower suite. Overall, the suite was outdated and the bed uncomfortable and the pillows in need of replacement. We also had an ant problem that was reported and promised to be rectified by both the housekeeping staff and an exterminator, but a break down in communication from the front desk left the issue untreated for the duration of our stay. The shower head needed replacement and there were loose tiles in the bathroom. The suite was also in need of a thorough cleaning (walls, lighting fixtures, ceilings).
The pool in the suite was pretty cool, and even though we had the above issues, it was our honeymoon and we made the best of it. The food was pretty good, and while it was great that it was included in the package, they sure made up for it on the price of drinks!! I'd recommend they diversify their musical acts (we saw only top 40 cover bands).
Overall, it was just okay. I would not stay here again for the price.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Congratulations Mr. & Mrs. Kate G! Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us. I wasn't able to find a record of the issues you mentioned and would like the opportunity to speak to you about your stay. Please consider emailing me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    197
    83
    75
    103
See reviews for
1
588
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wappingers falls
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My son got me and my wife a few day at pocono palace and it was like being on our honey moon all over agan but better. The rooms are to die for and the service is top notch. They have a lot of activities and things to do. Rob the activity director was really good and made the games that were plaied fun for everone. I will go back in fact I booked for next year.

Room Tip: all room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Love this review! Thank you, bob d! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was my first time purchasing a getaway Groupon. When I purchased the Groupon, I did not receive a welcome email from Cove Haven about my reservation. There was no email from the resort thanking me for my purchase, the next steps for using the Groupon, or the location of my reservation. I would have appreciated this along with information about what was “all inclusive.” I visited the Cove Haven website to get more information about Cove Haven Resorts and that was not much help. The Groupon only said that is was for the Cove Haven Resorts so I punched that address into my GPS thinking that was where I was staying. Wrong! I arrived at the Cove Haven resorts at midnight only to find out there were 3 properties for the Coven Haven Resorts. I was staying at the Poconos Palace, which was one hour south of Cove Haven. The desk clerk at Cove Haven offered to allow me to stay with them, however I wanted to be at the location I paid for. I was given correct directions to the Palace and the clerk called ahead to the Palace letting them know I was on my way.

When I arrived at the Palace at 1 am, I was greeted by the desk clerk, Evan. He told me that he had not worked at this location in a long time and was trying to get use to the ins and outs of the Palace. Evan bumbled his way through my reservation. He had trouble finding my room on the map, did not know the all inclusive package information, and gave me incorrect information about my meals. Evan stated that since I had missed the Friday dinner, I could get Saturday lunch for free. He told me that he put it under my reservation in the computer. Wrong!

When I arrived at my room, I was less than impressed with the décor. The room looked like it was decorated with a 60s/70s feel. The only thing in the room that felt current was the HD TV. I understand the purpose of the mirrors all around the room. However, they over all decoration of the room felt old and outdated. The room also did not smell fresh. It smelled like stale air. Disappointing. I appreciated that there was free WiFi on the resort.

The next day I had a wonderful breakfast in bed. I loved the location of my room. The lakeside view was perfect and breakfast at the restaurant was tasty. The view from my table was breathtaking and my server, David (can’t remember his name), was very attentive to my needs.

I spent some time after breakfast walking the resort. The gift shop offered an assortment of products. The two ladies working in the gift shop showed me that there were cross country skiing and snowmobile riding activities. If I had know that these activities were a part of the “all inclusive” Groupon package, I would have packed the appropriate gear to participate. Upon further exploration of the resort, I saw there were other activities such as roller skating, pool, saunas, hot tub pool, and horse riding. Again, I did not know these activities were available when I purchased my Groupon.

At lunch time, I called the front desk to double check on my free meal that Evan said I would get since I missed Friday dinner. The person on the phone, Violet, said that was fine and if there was a problem, the front desk would take care of it. I went to the Café to use my free lunch pass but when I went to the Café, they had no record of what Evan or Violet stated to me. I had to pay for the meal out of my own pocket. I was told by Shawn, the chef at the Café, that I would need to go back to the front desk to work out the confusion. At the front desk, I was greeted by Violet and Melissa. They both were less than helpful. They told me that Evan should have given me a card/pass to get the free lunch. However, remember earlier that Evan did not seem to know what he was doing at the front desk when I checked in. Violet and Melissa were rude and stated that Evan was wrong and I would not get the free lunch. I asked for their names (they were not wearing their name tags like the other staff member). Violet asked, “Why do you need our names?” I explained to her that I’m learning the names of all the staff members I meet and I’m the guest. I thought the idea of the resort was to make the guest happy. I wasn’t making an unreasonable request. She knew my name, why couldn’t I know hers? My experience with Violet made me not enjoy my stay even more. The irony of my encounter with Violet was that she was the one on the phone who told me to come to the desk and everything would be taken are of. Wrong! She wanted to argue with me. I hope someone will speak with Melissa and Violet about their customer service behavior. To rectify the problem, Violet gave me pass to have free meals later in the day or tomorrow. This pass was not really useable since it was already 2pm and Saturday dinner was at 5pm and check out on Sunday was at 11 am and the Café opened on Sunday at noon. When would I have time to use the pass?! I ended up not using the pass and paying for my own meal. I returned the pass when I checked out on Sunday.

Shawn, at the café was very kind. I was amazed how she was able to cook the food, help at the cash register, and answer questions. Why was Shawn working alone? The food was yummy and filling.

I attended the Bingo with CXO, Dina. That was the most fun and delightful experience I had all day at the Palace. I even found the evening activities enjoyable. The band was wonderful. The bar tenders I experienced during my stay, Shane and Karen were attentive. Shane was working the afternoon shift while Karen was the evening shift. Again, I applaud these staff members for working the bar alone. I like that the Palace seems to have different evening entrainment acts.

Dinner was also a tasty treat. The food was lovely as was the dessert. The music was romantic and perfect for the atmosphere. However, my server, I forget his name, seemed young and inexperienced. He was struggling handling multiple tables and looked like he was “in the weeds.” I did not receive my drinks until 5-7 minutes after I ordered them. He even served me the wrong appetizer. I’m not sure if this was his first service, but he could use more training.

In summary, my overall stay at the Pocono Palace was less than enjoyable. I was hoping for more of professional and modern experience. What I received was a lackluster experience from the atmosphere and staff members. The most positive part was that I was able to get way from the stress in my life to a location with peace and quiet. I was able to relax. The other positive side was that Teresa had upgraded my reservation to the Lakeside suites. She was great attending to my many reservation changes. I would recommend this resort to my family and friends. Knowing now about the conveniences of the resort, I would come again.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Lakeside suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We are sorry for the confusion regarding what's included with your stay, Zakiya W. Unfortunately Groupon doesn't provide us with your information for us to be able to email you. I would also like to apologize for the confusion at our Front Desk. Please know we will be speaking to all the Team Members you mentioned, including the Dining Room and entertainment staff. I am happy to hear you were able to relax while you were here and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back to experience our usual standard of customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marshalls Creek hotels

New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Arriving at Pocono Palace (Dec 25/26) we notice the property was clean and well kept. The check in process was quick and easy the staff are very helpful and nice always with a smile.. The hotel has daily activities (check schedule). Arriving at the Roman Tower Suite the outside looked clean and had a nice roman theme now the inside was a WOW it was bigger then expected, clean, and it smelled good. The pool area was at a perfect temperature( warm) and it was pretty big, the sauna was spacious and perfect the champagne glass was HUGE!! ( buy bubble bath soap) Nice bathroom for 2 and a steam shower. The bed was round big and the ceiling was filled with light stars (needs a bed sheet upgrade). If you go to their gift shop you can purchase firewood (1 log / 1 night). We decorated our own suite with chocolates, candles, champagne, rose pedals and made it very romantic. The hotel pool and 2 big Jacuzzi where nice and relaxing. The arcade room is okay not big of a deal. But my favorite place has to be their restaurant great dinner options and you get to repeat as much as you want (drinks are not included) We sat next to the window overlooking the lake. For breakfast we had pancakes, toast, eggs, omelets, fruits, coffee etc,,,, The view from the restaurant during breakfast was BEAUTIFUL because it had just snowed so the lake was frozen covered in snow it was very romantic. We decided to try horseback riding (right next to Paradise stream) the place is called MOUNTAIN CREEK RIDING STABLES $30 per person 1 hour ride AMAZING EXPERIENCE MUST TRY!!!. Keep in mind by booking either hotel you get to use the facilities of the other 2 hotels... from Pocono Palace to Paradise Stream was 30-35 min and to Cove haven about 1 hour.(no way) Since it was right next to the horseback riding stables we tried Paradise stream but It was not a big deal I did not like their pool area small and kinda outdated. But we did try snowmobile and after sat by the outdoor fireplace and drank hot chocolate. It was the perfect ending. Try to make the best of it but choose carefully the suite I HIGHLY recommend spend a little extra and book the Roman Tower Suite at Pocono Palace Resort.,

Room Tip: The Roman Tower Suites are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for the excellent review, jessjuli20! So happy to hear you enjoyed the Roman Tower suite. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudjoe Key, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This 2 night stay was a birthday gift for my girlfriend, both of us early 20's. The staff was extremely kind and very helpful. Guests and staff always had a smile on their face. Entertainment was fun and available at almost all times of the day. Food was decent, came out a little cold but tasted pretty good. Wish there were to-go boxes and more on the menu to choose from. Disappointed that the main hot tub in the resort was very cold and the pool was freezing. The Champagne Towers room was cool but straight out of a 70's porno and needed major renovations. The in-room pool was cold and didn't seem clean. The champagne glass jacuzzi was dirty and felt extremely unsanitary, honestly worried me of the possibility of catching a disease. The whole room overall needed some extremely deep cleaning and sanitizing. I probably wouldn't recommend this to many others especially anyone with concern for hygiene. It was a fun and interesting experience but overall unsatisfactory and overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Luke888xx, thank you for your feedback. I have shared your review with our maintenance and housekeeping teams.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

what I love about the hotel is that they have a van that come and pick you up from the bus station and take you back when you are ready to leave....the hotel has many activities pre-day to keep you busy. the staff was very friendly and helpful.check in was quick, the room was well heated, the food was great ( and that is a lot coming from me... a person that love to cook) the service in the dining room was great...the tables was a little small. MATT our driver was very friendly and he held a conversation with us on the drive so the trip was not boring.....the thing that i didn't like about the place was that the DVD PLAYER didn't work and in the night there was no hot water in out room.....but that was taken care of right away by FAT MATT....he got us a different room right away. would have liked better choices for breakfast in our room.i have stayed at better hotels for less in pricing

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your review theloveofhislife34.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We went up for a couples getaway -- and splurged on the Champagne Towers. in November there is not much you can do -- to late for Summer Activities... to early for Winter but we knew that going in. The Friday night Buffet was average - the food was cold, bland and over cooked -- not much variety but it was food -- not what we expected when they say "international buffet".

Saturday "steak" night has a choice of 2 steaks -- NY Strip or Ribeye -- thought there would be more choices but the food was much better -- unfortunately came out cold but they fixed that right away.

Wish they had "to go" boxes for dessert.

The nightly entertainment was comedians and it was a lot of fun -- the bar staff and CXO's are great!!

The room -- well we had some issues....

The AC in the bedroom sounded like a 747 and shook the walls (and you need AC because of the pool being heated it heats up the room)

The TV in the bedroom was blurry on most channels and fine downstairs.

The Shower door came off the track and hit me in the head and we managed to get it back on but never moved it.

We reported the issues and the maintenance person came while we were sleeping and never came back.

The Sauna is a closet and claustrophobic -- the Roman Towers one is much bigger and has glass so it's more open.

The mirrors in the room were dirty and old -- glue was bleeding through -- they need to be replaced.

The night time lighting is very poor -- we couldn't see the door lock for our key -- and we need a flashlight from the car to the room.

We had no intentions of complaining until we went on the rooms tour and saw rooms that were cheaper than hours and looked immaculate - brand new. Other on the tour had similar issues with the Champagne Towers --

If you want the Champagne hot tub -- pay extra for Roman Towers well worth it -- the rooms are bigger and newer. The Champagne hot tub is not very deep but the pool is nice and warm.

We did complain on checkout and the front desk person was useless but the Director of Rooms did come over and talk to me -- I am waiting for a letter with a discount to stay again - -would have preferred some money back.

Overall we have fun no matter what because that's just how we are...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Nice picture of the Champagne Tower qualitymattersny. Thank you for sharing. Thank you for also sharing your concerns with us. We appreciate you telling us about it while you were here so we have the chance to correct it. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pocono Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocono Palace Resort

Address: Rt 209, Marshalls Creek, PA 18335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Marshalls Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Marshalls Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pocono Palace Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The couples-only Pocono Palace Resort is ideal for a romantic getaway. Our resort has an indoor/outdoor pool and a 32,000 sq ft sports facility. We're near shopping, horseback riding, and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Pocono Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocono Palace Hotel Marshalls Creek
Caesars Pocono Palace Poconos
Poconos Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pocono Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.