We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't enjoy yourself here, it's your own fault!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pocono Palace Resort

Best prices from these 9 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pocono Palace Resort to your Saves list
Pocono Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rt 209, Marshalls Creek, PA 18335   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 50% OFF!!!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marshalls Creek
Troy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you don't enjoy yourself here, it's your own fault!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived earlier than expected and we were allowed an early check-in without a problem. It was too early to enjoy the hor'douvres or dinner that was included with our package when we arrived though. We instead had a light lunch (bacon cheeseburgers and homemade kettle chips) to hold us until dinner. I was looking forward to a couples massage, however they were booked. We even tried to book an appointment at one of the 2 other sister properties. No luck with that either. This was a surprise overnight trip for me from my husband, so the only regret is that I didn't know about it sooner. I would have booked the massage appointments well in advance. There were several choices for dinner and we both thought our meals were delicious. After dinner, we headed to the lounge and had fun. The magician encouraged audience participation and that made the experience even better. I can't forget about the band. FANTASTIC! We danced, laughed, played games, and ate well. Thank you to our servers young Christopher and Jennifer, Louise in the gift shop,Dina in the lounge,Diane at front desk, and Jackie in the snack bar.You all helped to make our stay memorable in a good way.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you Motivating! I'll be sure to share with the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    216
    92
    85
    107
See reviews for
2
636
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Outdated? Yeah. Run down? Maybe a little. Fun? ABSOLUTELY. The uniqueness of the room was great. Having a private pool in our own room was way more fun than I thought it would be. The view of the lake from our balcony was nice as well.

Dinner was fine, though when we first checked in at guest services, the guy told us dinner would be all-you-can-eat. We found this was not the case.

After dinner we went to the bar which had a live band for a while, followed by a "Newlywed Game" type of game that we participated in. The MC was funny and we enjoyed ourselves.

We only stayed one night, but it was exactly what I expected...A cheesy romantic getaway.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Happy to hear you had fun Chris B. I'm sorry for the confusion with the all-you-can-eat dinner. Our breakfast and dinner are unlimited - you can enjoy as much as you'd like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

How I hate to write a poor review of this place! First, I want to say that we are Forever Lovers and I have stayed a few times over the last few years. My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon almost 6 years ago and were excited to go back. We could not believe how much they have let the property go. When we first went the service was amazing and they even had day trips that you could go on...wine tasting, target shooting, hiking, etc. This time...nothing. (I'm sorry archery and fishing on the premises do not count.)
The most disappointing part was the food....it was so terrible!!!!! We stayed during the weekend so we could enjoy the steak and seafood. The strip steak was so bad I couldn't eat it, they did kindly replace it for me with the salmon That too was terrible and I didn't even eat 25% of it. I felt awful because I usually do not complain or send food items back, but I just could not eat it. As we were leaving the restaurant we noticed almost all of the other customer's steaks were not finished either. I will say that the crab bisque was excellent. And no breakfast in bed??? (only on the weekends)Really? This is supposed to be a romantic getaway!!! Every morning....a breakfast buffet which was disgusting and the fruit looked and tasted old. The hot items didn't even stay warm until we got back to our table.
Our first room despite being smoke free smelled of cigarette smoke and since I have asthma I am very sensitive to it. They moved us to another room which took almost 30 mins despite no one else was at the desk and the facility was mostly empty....it all made sense when we walked into the room, clearly it just had febreeze sprayed all through it. It at least did smell good, so we stuck with it. Our first room also didn't appear to be cleaned well....dirt on the floor, marks on the bathroom mirror, etc. Our second room was clean but I was slightly disturbed by the rubber glove left on our bed the second day. (At least the glove was clean, maybe just fell out of the maid's pocket???) The rooms have been poorly maintained which is too bad because they really are beautiful and if they were kept up would look so much better. The tables were all busted and the pool sides were falling INTO the pool. We made the best of it, but I would not recommend it to anyone else for the price they charge. I really wanted to make this "our getaway" spot but I really don't think we will return unless they make some needed repairs and start catering to their customers again.
Hopefully management will pay attention to the reviews and fix up the place. I only have one positive thing to stay about our trip there this time, the staff are incredibly sweet and do the best they can to make sure you are happy. The issue is clearly POOR MANAGEMENT of the place. We were upgraded to the Champagne towers from our original reservation and we thought of upgrading to the Roman Tower since that is the room we had when we honeymooned but they wanted to charge us an additional $100+ even thought they were mostly empty, since we drove around the property and could clearly see that. That would have been a wonderful way to keep their Forever Lovers feeling like they went above and beyond after the inconvience of having to change rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
letsgettraveling, we love our Forever Lovers and want every guest to have a romantic and memorable time. We are sorry you feel this way and would love the opportunity to speak to you about your stay. Please consider reaching out to us at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marshalls Creek hotels

Dundalk, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our room was disgusting and covered with what looked like pubic hair all over the floor, the bathroom, the shower, and the jacuzzi tub. Our bed also had dirt and twigs in it. When we woke up, there were bites all over us. We told room service and they said they cleaned and we came back and the only thing they did was give us new towels and fix our bed. Completely disgusting....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I am extremely saddened and surprised to receive this review. We would like the opportunity to check the suite you mentioned and learn more about your stay. Please consider emailing us at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We're multiple visit Forever Lovers upgraded to the "Blue Room" suite. One bleep n sexy hot room! You walk into the upper most level (of 3 levels) to find a living room area with fireplace and large round glass circle providing a view to the round private pool two floors down. Next level down, round bedroom area with jacuzzi and glass sliding doors opening to a private deck overlooking a very pretty lake area. Last level includes bathroom area, pool, sauna..etc. This place will intensely heat up any relationship! When able, got dressed and slipped out to a tasteful dinner, complete with a roaming vertical quitar player taking requests (he was insanely good). OK grabbed bags of ice...back to the blue room!!!

Room Tip: Pick the room that matches your mood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Everything about this review is great... the headline, your profile picture, your feedback... Thank you. We love our Forever Lovers and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I are Forever Lovers as of this trip and we looked forward to going back to Poconos Palace over all the other resorts. There have been some changes since our first time to the Palace two years ago.

This trip we booked a lower level room and got upgraded with our Forever Lovers. There was a long wait to check in and the front desk told many of us to go and have breakfast and then come back to check in. The views from the dining area are beautiful and it was nice to see some of the same faces of staff members from previous visits.

We were given a Fantasy Apple room. Usually we stay in the Garden of Eden Apples and we were willing to try something new. On the positive side: The Fantasy Apples have wonderful views of the lake and lots and lots of natural light. On the bad side the layout of the rooms is odd and there is a lot of wasted space. The narrow corridor/bathroom is just claustrophobic. We also found the carpet all over the walls in the pool area and all around the jetted tub to be a bit off-putting. The rooms do need a bit of updating and a little more tile around water prone areas!

The staff is very friendly and helpful as always but we did find that the amount of activities over prior years was reduced and they stopped the Breakfast in Bed service except for weekends which was disappointing.

We enjoyed ourselves quite a bit this trip but I think we will be going back to our Garden Apples for next time. I guess we will have to see what changes occur now that the Cove resorts have been bought by the larger chain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
pattilca, thank you for your review. Great profile pic too. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our 14th time staying here. It was just a quick get-away with some friends. We have stayed at all 3 of their resorts. At one time when Caesar's owned them they had a family resort which we stayed at also. Anyway, it is such a fun time and never disappoints. The staff, food and entertainment is excellent. The rooms are so very quiet. Being Forever Lovers we get an automatic upgrade. We stayed in the Garden of Eden Apple, again. As with many of their rooms they need some definite upgrades. The amenities are great. Pool, sauna, hot tub, etc in this room. It is so quiet you hear NOTHING. It is so relaxing. The afternoon games are fun. Bingo, horse racing, etc. and there is money to be won. Bar drinks are a little pricey. have a drink in your room, or on the walk over to bar, and then indulge in a drink there. Staff is very accommodating. It is The Land of Love. Cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite with your own pool. You will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for 14 stays linjmit! Thank you for the review. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pocono Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocono Palace Resort

Address: Rt 209, Marshalls Creek, PA 18335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Marshalls Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marshalls Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pocono Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The couples-only Pocono Palace Resort is ideal for a romantic getaway. Our resort has an indoor/outdoor pool and a 32,000 sq ft sports facility. We're near shopping, horseback riding, and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pocono Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocono Palace Hotel Marshalls Creek
Caesars Pocono Palace Poconos
Poconos Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pocono Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.