We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Fourth Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pocono Palace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pocono Palace Resort to your Saves list
Pocono Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rt 209, Marshalls Creek, PA 18335   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Wonderland Savings
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marshalls Creek
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Fourth Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our fourth stay at these resorts, but it was our first trip since it is no longer under Caesars management. We have been to Cove Haven, Paradise Stream and this was our second trip to Pocono Palace. We chose to come back to Pocono Palace again because even though it is a smaller resort than Cove Haven, we simply had the best time at Pocono Palace. There have been some changes since our last trip.

The rooms are still great, which really is the point of going. We have always stayed in one of the rooms with a pool, either Garden of Eden Apple or Fantasy Apple. This time, since we are "Forever Lovers" we got upgraded to the Roman Towers. We were excited about this, and the room was very nice. However, I wouldn't pay the extra money to stay in the Towers. The Champagne Glass Jacuzzi is really for show, the heart shaped tub in the other suites is much nicer. The Fantasy Apple still has a pool and a balcony, making it the better choice for us. The rooms did have flat screen TV's, which I believe is an upgrade from our last stay. I hope they continue to upgrade the technology in the rooms. An I-pod compatible sound system and in room Wi-Fi would be great improvements.

The resort now only offers in room breakfasts on the weekends, which was a disappointment. They also stopped the Champagne breakfast. The dining room has ample tables for two. I was very pleased to see this. It always annoyed me when we had to sit at a large table with other couples that we didn't know. The breakfast food in the dining room was standard fare, but it was good. The dinner was mixed. The first night I had chicken marsala. The chicken was moist and flavorful. Not a five star meal, by any means, but compared to the food you would expect at a catered event, it was slightly above average. The second night we had the catfish. It was a real disappointment; it was overcooked and bland.

The service in the dining room was disappointing as well. First, it was ridiculously slow. We were there on a Monday and Tuesday night, and the resort was far from full. When the waitress explained the salad of the day, she failed to mention that there were nuts in it (I have a nut allergy). It was so long before we saw the waitress again, that I gave up on getting a replacement salad, my husband just ate mine too. It was also very difficult to get drink refills.

The resort still has plenty of activities. There are pool tables, ping pong tables, indoor mini golf, paddle boats. It really is what you make it. Overall, with the exception of the dining service, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Great photos. Thanks for sharing. Very happy we were able to welcome you back as official Forever Lovers! I will be sharing your review with our Dining Room & Kitchen Team Members. Very happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to visit #5!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    226
    102
    93
    116
See reviews for
2
676
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a great time. Front desk was A+ as they always are. Dinning room staff was also spot on. Rob keep everyone up beat and engaged in all the activities. The only down fall of the 4 days was the live entertainment or lack of was bad or was the same comedy acts we have seen 5 times before. So this lead us to leave the resort and go out to mount airy. So instead of exstending our say one night we stayed at mount airy the last night. Hope this is not going to be the standard as we do love the resort. We use to come every to months but have not done this for the last year do to the lounge ent. The gift shop has very little in it now and the pocono palace coffe cups we get everytme are no longer stocked. there are three island where the coffee cups were but only have a couple on each one. No more callies candy or pizzelles for sale. The room was alway great and the food was good also.

Room Tip: Bring your own coffee pot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for your feedback Mercuryct. I have already shared it with our entertainment director and gift shop manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is our first time at this resort and our last time... we didn't even stay for the 3 night, we left after the first night!! Bad room, miserable bed (especially if you are tall) and terrible food!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Very sorry to hear this was your experience. We have many suites to choose from. I welcome you to come back to enjoy a different suite experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marshalls Creek hotels

Morrisburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our sixth year in a row for our anniversary. As always the people were great and the staff. For anyone complaining about the price you are paying for the room, food and all the entertainment that is provided free of charge. They have been updating some things one was the carpet in the champagne towers have been replaced as well as flat screen tv's wonderful additions. Rob the CXO kept everyone entertained the whole time great person to have for a CXO. Will deffinately be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Happy anniversary chewy6942069!! Thank you for sharing these special occasions with us! Love your profile picture. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi,NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I are members of the forever lovers club which means we've been to the resort over 7 times. The last time we were there was about 8 years ago. At that time we brought 7 other couples and had a very good experience. This time we brought 2 other couples and couldn't wait to show them a great getaway. The delivery of breakfast to our room (which is only available Saturday & Sunday)was terrible. First of all there was a very limited menu. Juice,cereal, coffee and a panini. The panini tasted like cardboard and was inetable. In the past we could have anything delivered for breakfast to our room 7 days a week and the food was great. We also had poor tasting food at dinner compared to the way it used to be. ie the cream puffs for dessert were frozen solid. We couldn't find an ice machine. We had to call the cafe to haver iced delivered, which arrived in a small cardboard ice bucket Although we all had a good time no one wants to return which is too bad because this was always a good place to go for a weekend of fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Fran T, you know we love our Forever Lovers and I'm very disappointed that your experience was not perfect. I would love the opportunity to speak to you about your stay. Please consider emailing me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We originally had planned to stay at another hotel but when we arrived there it was a disaster. We drove into Pocono Palace to see if they had any rooms. We were greated by Hector at the front desk. We told him our situation and he took care of it from there. We had picked the fantasy apple suite with a pool when the manager said to upgrade us to the champagne tower since it was our honeymoon. Hector explained the entire resort and off to our room we went. We walked into to an amazing two story suite. Down stairs was the living room, a heart shaped pool, sauna, and massage table. Upstairs was a round bed, vanity, bathroom, and entrance to champagne tower jacuzzi tub. Breakfast and dinner are included in the all inclusive price. The first night there was a buffet for dinner the next 2 were sit down dinners. Breakfast was a buffet except for for the last morning. We actually were only suppose to stay 2 nights but decided to stay an extra night. Snacks were served at the bar every evening. The bar can get pricy but they hold a lot of fun activities there. A lot of activities throughout the property. Overall it was a wonderful stay. I would highly reccomend it! We actually booked our next stay (for our 1 year anniversary) before checking out. Staff is friendly and welcoming. Don't always listen to the negative reviews!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Congrats newlyweds!! So happy you found us! Looking forward to celebrating one year with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Pros: The location was nice. The staff was friendly. The CXO Rob was fantastic! The resort had planed couples games from 1:00 to 5:00. A huge gaming area. Good entertainment at night.

Cons: The atmosphere on the outside needs updating. I never seen a housekeeping member & Candy wrappers & pop corn were in the hall & stairs from the time I checked in till the time I checked out (about 28 hrs ) a dirty plate sat on the entrance table the entire stay. My husband was fine but myself I became sick after eating the salad at my dinner. I never got a chance to eat my entree or dessert. The next morning I asked for an omelet for breakfast & I was sick again within in 5 mins of eating it.

Overall: if your an active couple this really it's a place for you. If you plan on mostly staying in your room & coming out for a few things you will be happy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
angelbear123, I have shared your review with CXO Rob, our entertainment consultant and our chefs. I have also spoken to our housekeeping manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pocono Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocono Palace Resort

Address: Rt 209, Marshalls Creek, PA 18335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Marshalls Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marshalls Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pocono Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The couples-only Pocono Palace Resort is ideal for a romantic getaway. Our resort has an indoor/outdoor pool and a 32,000 sq ft sports facility. We're near shopping, horseback riding, and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pocono Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocono Palace Hotel Marshalls Creek
Caesars Pocono Palace Poconos
Poconos Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pocono Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.