We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place for couples!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pocono Palace Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pocono Palace Resort to your Saves list
Pocono Palace Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rt 209, Marshalls Creek, PA 18335   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 50% OFF!!!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marshalls Creek
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome place for couples!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I cannot say enough about this resort. My husband and I had so much fun on our 3 day trip. From the moment we checked in, we were given a two room class upgrade at no additional charge and things only got better.

Breakfast and dinner were included and the food was really good. It's more on the fancy side..not what we are used to, but it was delicious.

Our CXO's Rob and Stanley were hilarious and they made our stay so much fun. The staff could not be more polite and courteous..they were always asking if they could help us with anything or if we were having a nice time.

My only issue is that the prices are a little high but we definitely got our money's worth plus some. This was our first time staying at Pocono Palace so we didn't know what to expect after having a tramatizing experience at a different resort 5 years ago. We hope to return again next year and I encourage anyone doubting this resort to try it and see for yourself. We had a blast and as I said before, we cannot say enough about how wonderful this resort and their staff are.

One last comment that I forgot to mention..the cleanlinessof our room and the property were excellent..we had no issues with any of that.

Thank you Pocono Palace for helping us create lasting memories and we will be back in the near future!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
DWH7707, thank you for this wonderful, amazing review! And thank you for sharing your photos. Very happy to hear you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    226
    102
    93
    116
See reviews for
2
676
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tappan, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I paid almost $500 a night for the room and the power was out both nights. No credit was offered at all. Didn't get to use the champagne glass tub or heart shaped pool because of the lack of electricity. I know they have to make their money but they could have at least met me half way. Basically we sat in the bar by candle light the entire time

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We'd like the opportunity to talk to you about your stay Joe K. Please consider emailing us at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marshalls Creek hotels

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This resort isn't for everyone. We honeymooned at Ceasers Palace 15 years ago. We're in our 30's now and decided to relive that fun. Even though our tastes have matured and become more refined, we still had a great time. If you an uptight, nit-picky person, this isn't the place for you.

The Room: We stayed in the Roman Towers Suite. The building was nice, could use some landscaping and fresh coat of paint. The room itself was very nice, but TIRED! Could use some updating and fresh paint. The room was quite clean. No funny smells. I am a neat freak so I did notice some dusty corners, some cob webs, and a bug or two on the windowsil... but overall most surfaces were spotless. The towels and linnens were very clean and the bed was comfortable. We did have a sack of laundry sitting outside our door all weekend that housekeeping must have overlooked. TV doesn't have CABLE - that was a drag! Local channels only! It's ok though - we found other stuff to do!!

Daytime Activities: This isn't disney world. There isn't much to do, unless you are 10 years old. The mini golf was fun/ but kinda hokey. The game room was fun. Pool, ping-pong, skee ball, & arcade games. When I booked I told the agent that I chose Pocono Palace because I wanted to play golf, but when we checked in I was told it was closed until May 18th. That was disappointing. The pool was also not open (empty actually) but its still early in the year. Bike riding was fun, but I agree with a previous review.. riding aroung the resort parking lots is a bit boring - they should build a bike paths around the lake. Archery looked hokey so we passed. Driving range was pretty good. The lake was beautiful. Sunning on the beach, watching couples fish, with a bloody mary in my hand -- LIFE IS GOOD!. They have paddle boats, row boats and fishing gear.

Local attractions: On day 2 we took a drive to find a Red-Box to rent a movie. Very close to the resort is a grocery store and beer depot. We saw a few fun things to do locally - movie theatre, zip lines, a snake and reptile farm, and water bumper cars. The weather was great and we opened the windows and sunroof in the 'benz and enjoyed a nice drive. Found a red-box and headed back. I must note, however, the locals are a bit sketchy.. just sayin'.

Nightime Activities: The night club was fun. Awesome bar/ bartenders. They had a comedian both nights we were there -- and we had an awesome time! it was a lot of fun to get out. Unfortunately, the comedians were not at all funny. A few chuckles at best. But we had some drinks and laughed at the terrible jokes with another couple -- So bottom line we had a blast.

Dining: Breakfast and dinner were included. Restaurant staff was GREAT. Breakfast Buffet was awesome > food was 'very good'. Dinner Buffet on 1st night was 'pretty good'. Big selection of food and a carving station at the end. Roast beef was a little over-done. Overall not a 5 star dinner, but we found some dishes that were pretty good. Dinner on 2nd night was 'good' - Sit down/Menu style. Soup & Salad was great. My wife's Alfredo had a funny flavor. My steak was very good. Overall - not 5 stars but we left satisfied.

Bottom Line: We had a blast. Service was fantastic..every single employee we encountered was friendly and accomodating. Food was good. The pool in the room was small but FUN. We poured a few cocktails and soaked in the champagne Jacuzzi both nights. We steamed in the steam room, swam, and sat by the fire at night; sipping a cold drink and laughing. Lots of quiet together time to reconnect! That's what made this trip memorable. It's certainly not a Hilton... but I dont know if we could have had the same experience at a Hilton! It's what you make of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The moment we walked in to the lounge, everyone (strangers) cheered for us as Newlyweds and made us feel so welcome. The room with the champagne tower hot tub and heart shaped tub was amazing. The food in the restaurant was delicious. We never made it to the entertainment, but I'm sure it was fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Congratulations LINDA H!!! Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited New York for a couple of days and then went with friends to Pocono Palace for the weekend, we were told they had lots of activities and the next day we would go to Bushkill falls. It was only because our friend would loose his deposit, that we decided to go ahead, because one glance at the brochure totally put us off. Upon arrival we were absolutely flabbergasted to say the least, and again...if it wasn't for the fact we came with other people, we would have got back in the car and got the hell out of there. Everything was so tacky and sleazy that all we could do was laugh it off, and make jokes about the place. We first tried some archery......I could have got better gear at ToysRus probably. We then rented the bikes....to basically cycle around a parking lot and around the cabins with their sleazy names. You weren't allowed to go any further. Crazy golf was.....in an indoor loft! We finished with a peddle boat ride around a swimming pool size dirty lake. Food was terrible, service crap and it was freezing in the restaurant. Walked through the bar when the 'trivia' was going on and the type of questions showed just what kind of place this hotel really was. And then you later bumped into these people.....cringing!!! If you are into 70's porn, tacky decoration, smelly, dirty rooms, with bed pillows in cupboard, not on bed (weird!!!) and strange looking people then this is the place for you. And for 365 dollars per night, I wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are extremely saddened by this review. Should any reader of this review have further queries or concerns about matters raised, they may be addressed to me at PoconoRomance@covepoconoresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This is our first mini vacation. Booked a champagne room thinking of how interesting it was. Once we checked in and got into our room I ran up to the champagne glass to take a better look and the first think I saw was a dandelion spider. I had to drive to Walmart to get Lysol to kill and clean it. There were also stains on the glass too. The mini heart shape pool had red chipped paint still sunk in the pool makes me think when was the last time they cleaned it. Only took a dip and then showered. We also tried to look for out door activities but nothing was appealing since it was deserted. So end up just going to dinner. And let me tell you, we were at the dinner table for 2 hours give or take. We asked for water first but that took almost 20 minutes cuz her forgot. Then the soup arrived 20 minutes later, salad came another 15-20 minutes later. We were starving at that point. We saw that others had a basket of bread and I asked him and he said "Oh sorry I'll get them for you." That took another 10-15 minutes. Everyone else in the room pretty much left besides the 4 tablets he was responsible for and we were here first. Then minutes after that our main course arrived. Took them almost an hour to make??? For real??? Chicken was too dry and pasta wasn't too flavored. We didn't want them to make it again and stay there for another hour so right after we were done we were really to go. We were then offerred dessert. I literally stated, "I can't wait another hour for dessert." Sorry to say but he was slow. But then he insisted it would be quick so we stayed. Dessert was nice but it was just too much wait time for a dinner. Had to go grab something else to eat afterwards since it wasn't too satisfying. I would expect that for paying extra we would have enjoyed it more but it didn't seem that way. Breakfast was self served which I do like. We asked about the other off site activities to book before we left but they told us its off season. It's the end of April how do you not have whitewater rafting? It not like I was asking about skiing. We just tried finding small activities such as Bushkill Fall Trails and horseback riding. Paying $325ish for 1 night was not worth it if it's just for the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I am very surprised to hear about your service in the Dining Room. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will be talking to the staff about the issues you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband thought it would be a fun Christmas gift to get us 2 nights stay at the Pocono Palace Resort. He opted for the Lakeside Chalet suite (room 207). We got a discounted rate and it sounded a little cheesy, but fun none the less. We drive in to the property and the grounds look nicely kept. At registration we were charged an additional $93 for gratuity and taxes. Had we known this upfront we would have factored this into the overall cost and stayed somewhere else. Even with the reduced rate, we could have found a nicer property to stay at (may I suggest the Mount Airy casino, for example?). So we are told about the many activities such as dirty bingo, sexy horseshoes and, my personal favorite - horseracing, where a really depressed woman announces the names of the horses in an humorless monotone - Horse number one is called Bend Over...horse number two is called Bite Me, etc. The food is tolerable but as uninspired as the lady announcing the horses. Edible, but very basic. meat meat meat fish chicken, tons of starch and carbs, and I think I had asparagus. Basic salad. No pizazz.

So on to our suite. Yes it's sort of a little cabin. Yes, it is on the water. We also had a little outdoor table and chairs. that would have been nice except the entire area around the table is littered with discarded cigarette butts. ick. So we open the door and are greeted with some fragranced cleaning product that can best be described as Eau de dollar store. So I sat on the little patio among the cigarette butts with no wifi for an hour to air out the place. Did I mention there is no wifi? I know, it's a cabin right? And we are not supposed to be there to play on our smartphones. So I am finally able to enter the cabin which now smells a bit less like baby powder and shame, and more like a a cabin-like musty mold. Before I tell you what there is, I will tell you what there is NOT. No coffeemaker, no robes, no extra pillows or throws, no water, no magazines, no hotel info. there is nothing luxurious or special. The room is a 2 star, at most. What there is: old formica furniture, a stained couch, a tiny television, an old radio (it is a bose wave radio, but it is so old, the white plastic is beige), an even older telephone, an empty fridge, a round bed with rectangular sheets that do not fit (I could feel the bare mattress under my feet all night and had to fight to keep the top sheet covering the horrible blanket so it wouldn't touch my face -shudder) cheesy wallpaper border, and overall 1970s styling. Then there was the shower and toilet. OLLLD heater thing next to toilet that could not be adjusted and a shower stall from my grandmother's house that dripped and had a defective door with a gap at the bottom that created a constant puddle on the floor that was so old it had displaced the grout in the tile. I was very dissatisfied, but honestly, the level of cleanliness was tolerable enough to put up with. The hot tub was nice and clean and worked. And there was a cool little fireplace. If you must stay, and stay only if you must - take my advice and go to the little grocery store and pick up a couple of duraflame logs ($3 at the store, $7 at the PP), head to the redbox and get some movies (we did have a DVD player in our room, rental at PP are $6.50 - and no adult films), pick up some decent wine (because they ONLY sell Barefoot for $8 a glass or $34 a bottle) and make the best of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomanceManager, Manager at Pocono Palace Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
catgrrrl, thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pocono Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pocono Palace Resort

Address: Rt 209, Marshalls Creek, PA 18335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Marshalls Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marshalls Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pocono Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The couples-only Pocono Palace Resort is ideal for a romantic getaway. Our resort has an indoor/outdoor pool and a 32,000 sq ft sports facility. We're near shopping, horseback riding, and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pocono Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocono Palace Hotel Marshalls Creek
Caesars Pocono Palace Poconos
Poconos Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pocono Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.