We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Pittsburgh - Cranberry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Pittsburgh - Cranberry to your Saves list
Motel 6 Pittsburgh - Cranberry
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   19025 Perry Highway, I-79 Exit #76 North, #78 South, Mars, PA 16046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mars
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed at my share of Motel 6 over the years. As a frequent traveller for both work and pleasure, Motel 6 often offers quality for great value. Unfortunately, this last experience was disgusting and disappointing! My friends and I found a bug in the bathroom within minutes of entering the room. It appeared to be a beetle of sorts, but definitely could have passed for a roach. Killed it and moved on. Well they kept coming, roach after roach after roach. It was a long weekend with teh Steelers playing a home game - no other rooms available in this or any other motel. Gentleman working the front desk came up to help us out...he sprayed air freshener around the window, and removed a few bugs by hand - shaking them outside..? The last straw was when my friend had to kill a roach that was on my head! We could not sleep in there. We slept in our car, asking the staff to allow us back in the room to use the washroom, which he did. The manager in the morning was completely unsympathetic and wanted to charge us because we used the bathroom!!! assured us they were not roaches but "outside bugs"! No matter what type of insect they were, they do not belong in our room! It is fall and this is PA...Completely unacceptable. Eventually got our money back after a lengthy argument. I will stay at Motel 6 again - but definitely not this one!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    10
    12
    22
See reviews for
13
10
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I prefer Motel 6 on the basis of price, and this is one of the better ones I've stayed in. Amazingly quiet for being right next to US 19 and the PA Turnpike. The bed was not rock hard. The room was clean and stocked properly. Good WiFi that is included in the room price. Very near a large group of eateries.

No issues with this Motel 6, whatsoever and I will return when travel requires it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I were returning to Canada and needed a place for the night and this motel was easy to find. A friendly lady quickly found us a room, paperwork filled in and we were checked in quickly. Although the room was not the most up-to-date, it had a comfy queen size bed, was clean with all amenities working, including internet. Morning coffee in the foyer was included. The area seemed safe and quiet too. At only $62 it was a very affordable place to spend the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is one of the WORST Motel 6 on the planet. Gros, gross, gross... yuck! Scary people outside, hanging out by the doors as if they are drug dealers and/or hookers. Inside the room everything is glued down & I do mean everything. 1 soap, 1 towel and that's about it... avoid this place if you can.

Room Tip: Plan ahead!!! Unfortunately, we did not make reservations and got stuck here because nothing else wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Motel 6 advertises the lowest price of any national chain. They can do that by providing just the basics. If you plan to stay here you should know that. There's a bed, bathroom, four walls, a roof, a TV and a door. That's about all you get. But that is to be expected of a Motel 6. The property is older and now showing its age. The room however was clean and served the purpose. Which was a place to sleep for the night. It's not bad for the price.
I'd say if you're looking for an inexpensive place to spend the night this is a good choice. If you want a flat screen TV, bath accessories, free newspaper, king beds, and other things go someplace else. Motel 6 built a business on no frills motel rooms and this is one of those.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenboro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was probably one of the worst stays I can remember. Although the room was big and fairly clean. It had nothing in it. No clock, 1 soap, not enough towels, no kleenx. The steps and halls throughout the establishment were filthy. There were cigarette buts and empty beer cans crushed on the floors and steps. It was noisy and disruptive. I will never be back to this one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The price on the sign outside the hotel is the cheapest in the area. I assume all motel 6 charge extra for internet, microwave, and fridge because with these things my stay was about the same as other hotels in the area. The room to my suprise was clean. There was a good bit of noise from the traffic on I-76 behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Pittsburgh - Cranberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Pittsburgh - Cranberry

Address: 19025 Perry Highway, I-79 Exit #76 North, #78 South, Mars, PA 16046
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mars
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Pittsburgh - Cranberry 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Pittsburgh - Cranberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Pittsburgh - Cranberry Hotel Mars
Motel 6 Mars
Motel Six Mars
Mars Motel Six
Mars Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Pittsburgh - Cranberry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.