We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   929 Sheraton Drive, I-79 S Ext 78 / I-79 N Ext 76, Mars, PA 16046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Mars
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    44
    22
    17
    12
See reviews for
38
34
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We like to travel as cheaply as possible, and were not expecting much, but were very pleased and pleasantly surprised with our two day stay. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and the staff were professional. The shower had good water pressure. There was a refrigerator and microwave in our room, which really came in handy. There was an awesome, large screen HD t.v. with HBO and cable. We were super surprised with the free breakfast. There were SO many choices, including belgian waffles! We could not hear any noise from the rooms next door, but we did occasionally hear the ice machine in the hallway nearby, but it was no big deal. The location can't be beat, near major highways, shopping, gas and good restaurants. The Lonestar Steakhouse next to the hotel had really good food and service, at very reasonable prices. The hotel and surrounding neighborhood felt safe, and it was an easy 1/2 hour drive to downtown Pittsburgh. The hotel was really easy to find and get in and out of on the roads.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hello Mr.Mountain Traveler,Thank you for your time and feedback about your stay with our hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.Your comments are very encouraging and we will strive to work towards every guest experiance more memorable. Happy to know that, you have enjoyed our Hot breakfast,nice,clean and comfortble rooms and good restaurents within walkble distance.Thank you and looking forward to serve you again when you are in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

they are making much needed improvements it looked the room and hallway had not been vacuumed in a month very dirty

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hello Mr.Charles,Thanks for your time reviewing our hotel
We regret for the inconveniance you had while your stay.we had a big group of Oil and Gas drilling workers stayed with us for more than 3 months.Thats why our carpets got spolied looked dirty with their muddy boots.However as soon they left this month,we had all our Carpets,hallways and corrdidors shampooed and cleaned with professional cleaning company. Would ask you to give us an oppertunity to serve you again when you are in this area and we will make sure you will have a great experiance with us.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hills, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

What we didn't like:
I made this reservation well in advance and requested the highest level floor and to be away from the elevator. We did not get an overly friendly welcome, instead it felt as though we were bothering someone with our silly check in. We were placed right next to the elevator. I asked about being on the third floor. The manager replied: "That is a smoking floor" and in such a way that I was made to feel like I should shut up and just move on. Forgot my tooth brush, and I was able to get a useless flimsy brush that smashed against my teeth. We did not get a do not disturb sign and the next morning promptly at 9:30 a housekeeping person banged on the door and the. Opened the door with her key and even when the door latch was on it, she still continued to pound on the door and yell housekeeping, until I yelled we re okay, then she left, WOW. That same day I requested a DND sign, which they had in a box behind the desk. Very loud fan in the bathroom that turns on with the light. The comforter that slid off the bed, because there was no blanket underneath. There is a drape on the window, but no shears underneath and these windows even on the second floor are very close to ground level-not enough privacy. Did I mention the doors slamming??? Omg. And it would have been nice to know that the pipe liners would be there and waking up at 4:30 in the morning on saturday and sunday. We could smell smoke when we walked into our room-probably from the outside smokers, but that went away after a while.
What we liked:
The jacuzzi was nice and big and very clean, and fit two people better than most that we have experienced in other hotels. Nice big screen tv, good quality picture and a great channel guide in the room, also for once the remote actually worked. We loved the idea of the sleep number bed in the room, however the remote for the bed did not work, and despite this, the bed was reasonably comfortable to sleep on. We also appreciated having our own temperature controls and were able to make our room very cozy. It was also nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room. There was also ample free parking there. We did not try breakfast, based on other reviews we read before our stay, but there are many many restaurants in this area to accommodate breakfast, lunch and dinner needs. Check out Dominicos for dinner and drinks, you wont be disappointed.
Bottom line: this place needs some improvements, and i would recommend looking for an alternate place to stay, as there are many places in this location.

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the elevator before you leave the check in area and ask for the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, General Manager at Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello Ms. VidMal,
First let me start off by apologizing for the bad experience you had at our hotel, along with the poor attitude from our housekeeping and front desk staff. I understand you had requested a non- smoking Jacuzzi Suite and wanted to be on the third floor, which unfortunately per the design of the hotel, the Jacuzzi rooms are situated on either side of the elevator. As for the non-smoking rooms, they are located solely on our first and second floors, the whole third floor is dedicated to smoking rooms, hence not being able to accommodate your request for being on the highest floor. We are still working on certain things within the hotel, as the building itself is very old. If the noisy bathroom fan was bought to our attention, we would have immediately tried to solve the problem or moved you to another suite.
I am sorry that our bedding did not suit your needs, we strive to make everyone’s stay here as comfortable as possible. When renovating this hotel, we aimed to go higher than the brand (Super8) expectations, which is why we chose this bedding. We shall definitely keep in mind shears and blankets on our next renovations.
As for the breakfast, which is unfortunate you did not try. That too exceeds the Super 8 brand expectations. We serve more of a variety of breakfast items than the average Super 8 hotel does, as to keep up with our guests requests and standards.
Unfortunately, we cannot control certain things, such as when a group of people stay with us and when they decide to wake up and leave. You happen to stay with us when we had some gas-line crew staying at the hotel and who do wake up very early to get to their work site.
We appreciate your feedback and mostly staying with us. It is unfortunate it wasn’t a positive experience, however we will keep striving to do the best and take your negative experience and use them to better ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh

Address: 929 Sheraton Drive, I-79 S Ext 78 / I-79 N Ext 76, Mars, PA 16046
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mars
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Mars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Count on comfort and convenience at our Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh Area hotel, with easy access off Interstates 76 and 79. Our newly renovated, pet-friendly Mars hotel is just 15 miles from downtown Pittsburgh, giving you easy access to everything the Steel City has to offer. If you are a sports fan, our Mars hotel is just minutes from hard-hitting football at Heinz Field, baseball at PNC Park or hockey at Consol Energy Arena. After the game, enjoy the bustling Pittsburgh night life at Rivers Casino.Look up local attractions and events with free Wi-Fi Internet access and plan your busy day, or enjoy some time to yourself in one of our available Jacuzzi suites. Energize your morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast, and use time savers like in-room refrigerators and microwaves or our available kitchenette rooms to get the most out of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Mars/Cranberry/Pittsburgh Hotel Mars
Super Eight Mars
Mars Super 8
Mars Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.