We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff isn't helpful at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   929 Sheraton Drive, I-79 S Ext 78 / I-79 N Ext 76, Mars, PA 16046   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Mars
Lewisburg, West Virginia
1 review
“Staff isn't helpful at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

First off, the hotel is clean. Beds are average, not great, but for the price not terrible. The problem came from the staff. Our group arrived at 3:15. Check-in is at 2. Upon arrival, we were informed it would be at least 45 minutes before our rooms would be ready. Luckily we didn't have anywhere to be immediately, but we didn't even get an apology. Another person in our group reserved a non smoking room. The hotel had them in a smoking room, and even when he showed them the reservation receipt showing a non smoking room, they were unapologetic about it, and the only thing they would do is put them in a cheaper double bed room, instead of the king they booked. My husband than got extremely sick from eating their continental breakfast the next morning. Overall, the prices are decent and the hotel was clean, but the staff is unwilling to do anything for things that were obviously their fault.

Room Tip: Make sure you call and verify everything on your receipt. They apparently are completely unwilling t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Ms.Owly,Thanks for your review.
We sincerly apolozize for the inconveniance you had. That day,bcz of the house keepers medical emergency, we were unable to clean the rooms as per the schedule.Hence there was a delay in checking you guys in.This is very rare situation and we opolozize for it.One of the guy in your group made a reservation through Expedia and they send us a smoking room.It is the fault of expedia and not the hotel. However we accomodate him in a non smoking room without any penalty.Hope you acknowledge it.We sincerly regret for the overall discomfort you had and hope you will give us another oppertunity to serve you our best and make your stay more pleasent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    19
    14
    13
See reviews for
32
31
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We pulled in to the Super 8 late after making a reservation by phone from the road. We were attracted to the great price, promise of a recent renovation, and great reviews about the management. We were on a smoke free floor, however, \a strong stale smoke odor permeated the space. In fact, days later, all clothing that were in our suitcase in that room STILL smelled. This wasn't the result of one person violating the smoke free floor rules (this is going to happen and I trust, if reported, the kind manager would deal with it well). I mentioned this to the manager upon checkout and without my asking, he credited my bill 20%. Breakfast was great, the room was clean and comfortable, though not big enough for BOTH the pack n play AND toddler air mattress we brought with us. Would love to say that I will stay there again as it is a great overnight spot for a long distance drive I do a few times a year. I will check back in to see other reviews to see if the smoking issue seems to have been addressed. Otherwise, we'll be looking for another place to stay in Cranberry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks for the review.

We apolozize for the inconvenience you had during your stay.We take your comments seriously and We are investigating the problem and we are in the process of converting entire hotel as smoke free gradually.As a token of compensation we offered discount in the bill.Thanks for your appreciation about our clean comfortable rooms except the problem you had. Hope you will give us a oppertunity to serve you again when you are in this area and we assure you, will make your stay pleasent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

First time we have stayed at this motel. Overall quality was very good. Compared to pricing on other motels in the area, this motel is an excellent value. Rooms were well equipped with TV larger than typically seen in motels, frig, microwave, coffee maker and hair dryer. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Mr.Tom, Thanks for the review.
We are very happy to know that you liked and enjoyed all the amenities of our hotel.We recently renovated with new beds and TV's etc..which made your stay more comfortable.Hope you enjoyed our hot breakfast.Thanks again for the appreciation about our property.Looking forward to see you again when you are in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall On Hudson
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Put me on smoking floor and smelled so bad I got nauseous and had to change rooms to no smoking. That room was satisfactory but stilled smelled and had light out. Towels were like sand paper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Manager at Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thanks for your review.
We apolozize for the inconvenieance you had during your stay.We put you in smoking,bcz the reservation came in as like that. However changed the room upon request.We already addresed your comments about the light, towels and took care of it immediately,so that all of our guests will have a pleasent experiance.Would like to see you again,so that we can please you with our best service and take care of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh

Also Known As:
Super 8 Mars/Cranberry/Pittsburgh Hotel
Super 8 Mars/Cranberry/Pittsburgh Hotel Mars
Super 8 Mars
Super Eight Mars
Mars Super 8
Mars Super Eight
Address: 929 Sheraton Drive, I-79 S Ext 78 / I-79 N Ext 76, Mars, PA 16046
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Mars
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Mars
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Count on comfort and convenience at our Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh Area hotel, with easy access off Interstates 76 and 79. Our newly renovated, pet-friendly Mars hotel is just 15 miles from downtown Pittsburgh, giving you easy access to everything the Steel City has to offer. If you are a sports fan, our Mars hotel is just minutes from hard-hitting football at Heinz Field, baseball at PNC Park or hockey at Consol Energy Arena. After the game, enjoy the bustling Pittsburgh night life at Rivers Casino.Look up local attractions and events with free Wi-Fi Internet access and plan your busy day, or enjoy some time to yourself in one of our available Jacuzzi suites. Energize your morning with free SuperStart continental breakfast, and use time savers like in-room refrigerators and microwaves or our available kitchenette rooms to get the most out of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Mars / Cranberry / Pittsburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.