We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   219 W. Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Marietta B&B and Inns
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great getaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My husband and I had an outstanding time at the Ascot House. When we arrived we were greeted by Wendy, who, from the first moment to the last of our stay, was the perfect hostess.
She made us feel very comfortable (almost like family) and was very helpful in every way, especially with suggestions on things to do in the area and directions to different locations.
The Ascot itself is a beautiful house which fits right in the historic district of Marietta--a walkabout of the area is HIGHLY suggested.
We would recommend this bed and breakfast for anyone looking for a great getaway.

Room Tip: The BEDFORD is the largest of all the rooms. The SURREY has a very "unique" bathroom. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
137
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

By the fate of bad weather, we ended up being the only guests during our stay, so the house was delightfully quiet. The rooms were all lovely and our's was very comfortable. We loved the wood fire downstairs and used it as much as possible. Wendy was fantastic, always willing to work around us, help, or give advice on activities to do in the area. The breakfast was fantastic and so filling that we didn't eat lunch either day! All of the English touches in the house were wonderful and reminiscent of home for the Englishman. We will definitely be heading back in warmer weather to take advantage of the garden and warm weather activities around Lancaster County.

Room Tip: We loved the Surrey's massive tub and fireplace in the bathroom. If you are looking for a big t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
thanks for a lovely review, and thanks for being intrepid travellers who braved the snow...! Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
None, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I recently visited the Ascot House for a weekend getaway and found it to be excellent. It was relaxing, the room was very nice, breakfast was good, and the service was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Manager at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you! Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

After our past outstanding stay at the Ascot House, we decided to book another stay, this time with another couple. We were not disappointed. We had another outstanding time at the Bed and Breakfast and Wendy Codd, the B&B owner was an absolute delight. She provided everything we needed and went beyond providing information on restaurants in the area and stores that we wanted to find. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was great. Our friends couldn't stop raving about the entire stay. We will be back again. This would be six-star rating if they went that high.

Room Tip: This is difficult as all the rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Randy: Great to have you and Joan stay again and delighted to meet your friends, thank you for recommdning that they visit. I shall look forward to the four of you staying in 2014 and hearing about your trip to England together. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This B&B is the best. The house is great and breakfast perfect. Wendy is the best host you can have, she is very knowledgable of the area and treats you like your part of the family. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
thank you so much for a great revfew. much appreciated. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was a wonderful place to spend our mini-honeymoon. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and had a great little gas fireplace that made it nice and warm (and it was cold out!). Just after arriving, we were offered all sorts of wine, local cheeses, and fruit in one of the sitting rooms, and were joined by some of the other guests arriving that day. We stayed two nights, and breakfast was both plentiful and varied between the two mornings we ate here. What really made the house unique and memorable was the attention from our hostess, and her great and knowledgeable suggestions. With her help, we were able to plan our day trip to hit all the things that were most important and interesting to us, which was especially important since the weather was a bit iffy. We're excited to come back in the future, hopefully with our dog, since certain rooms are allotted to allow dogs to tag along. Also, Wendy is just highly personable and hilarious, and made us really feel at home. This is definitely somewhere we will recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: They all seemed nice--ours was the Norfolk, and it was quite spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Have a wonderful married life...... much happiness to you, I shall look forward to seeing you again for your first anniversary, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a excellent b&b. The owner and host, Wendy, is very pleasant, fun loving, and above all an excellent host. This is the second time my wife and I have stayed here. This was for the Christmas House Tour. We really enjoyed ourselves. We liked this b&b so much we have already booked for next year for the Christmas House Tour. You will never regret staying here. The decor and breakfast is way above average.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. You can't miss no matter which room you chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
I am SO GLAD you enjoyed your stay. take care and see you again i hope. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 219 W. Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal house (circa 1801), six spacious and elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, 4-poster beds, 18 fireplaces. Gourmet breakfasts. Great for romantic weekends, girls' getaways, family gatherings, golf, biking, hiking and hot-air ballooning, outlet shopping, antiquing, and exploring Amish Country. It is also dog friendly. With spacious deck and beautiful English garden. Ascot House is available for authentic English teas, baby/bridal showers, luncheons, small weddings and receptions, cocktail parties, cheese and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ascot House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.