We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend at Ascot House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ascot House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   219 W. Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Marietta B&B and Inns
Eldersburg, Maryland
1 review
“Wonderful weekend at Ascot House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The owner, Wendy, was one of the most gracious and facinating people we've ever met. Tea with her and the other guests was a highlight of our weekend. The house was lovely and our room was comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed our breakfast, afternoon tea, and evening wine. Easy to get to Lancaster and surroundign towns for day trips. We especially enjoyed our tiemin town of Lititz. Hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
You are most generous with your comments - thanks - I really enjoyed your visit, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
137
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our experience at the Ascot House Bed and Breakfast in Marietta, PA in Lancaster County was the most memorable and inspiring experience of any Bed and Breakfast for my husband and me. Wendy was professional and personal as we felt pampered by her tireless energy and efforts to care for our every need. The breakfast and the tea were delicious. The location was perfect and the facility a masterpiece. We have discovered a priceless treasure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
thank you so much for such a lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited this beautiful bed and breakfast for 2 nights in February, 2013. The house is historic and combines the old with the new resulting in a setting that has the feel of an old house but with modern accomodations like spacious bathrooms with jacuzzis.It is absolutely beautiful. The food was great at breakfast, which feature a 3 course plus meal, prepared by your hostess Wendy, who is an award winning chef. Have breakfast and you will not be hungry until the afternoon high tea with finger sandwiches, desserts, sherry and more goodies--all served on beautiful dishes.The star of Ascot House is the hostess and owner, Wendy,without question. She treats you like family and she loves what she does. Sit with her for a spell and hear her wonderful stories about the house and her life. She welcomed friends of ours like they were guests in a warm and inviting manner. She even offered food and tea to them! You will not be disappointed at the Ascot House. Thank you Wendy!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I am so very pleased you enjoyed yourself., it was my pleasure to have you stay, and to meet your friends.
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanham, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

the owner wendy was a great host. very caring about her quest needs. very clean and well maintined rooms and baths. breakfast was plenty and well done.a must stop over in that area.location was good for geting around the lancaster area as well as lots of sights with in blocks of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for you lovely review. my pleasure to have you stay. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lovely old home with lots of history. Recently updated with new bathrooms and loads of fireplaces. Shortly after arrival on a Sat afternoon we had a wonderful tea and time to spend with Wendy. She is a lovely hostess and the Ascot House is very comfortable. Would recommeend this B&B to anyone looking for a quiet weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I alm delighted that I could be a small part of you anniversary celebrations. thanks for the lovely comments, Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We had a wonderful Anniversary weekend. We stayed in the Bedford suite. The room is so spacious and has a fireplace. Wendy is the perfect host, we felt so spoiled! We definiately hope to get back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for the review, much appreciated. I shall look forward to seeing you again. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was my first B&B experience and it was wonderful. I spent a snowy February weekend at Ascot House with my two Golden Retrievers. They loved being able to play freely in the fenced garden and having the attention of the other guests. I loved Wendy's hospitality and conversation. The house is steeped in history and Wendy did a wonderful job keeping its charm while adding modern amenities and updates. I booked this weekend in order to relax, and that's exactly what I did. Ascot House truly felt like home for both me and my girls, so much so that I've already booked another stay. Afternoon tea was a meal in itself and the food absolutely delicious. I'm just sorry I cannot visit every weekend.

Room Tip: The Essex Suite has its own outside entrance which allowed my dogs to play in the garden without dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
figtrees, Owner at Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
thanks for your nice comments, I shall look forward to seeing you again. Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 219 W. Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal house (circa 1801), six spacious and elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, 4-poster beds, 18 fireplaces. Gourmet breakfasts. Great for romantic weekends, girls' getaways, family gatherings, golf, biking, hiking and hot-air ballooning, outlet shopping, antiquing, and exploring Amish Country. It is also dog friendly. With spacious deck and beautiful English garden. Ascot House is available for authentic English teas, baby/bridal showers, luncheons, small weddings and receptions, cocktail parties, cheese and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Ascot House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.