We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ascot House with Wendy, Great B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ascot House Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   219 W. Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Marietta B&B and Inns
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ascot House with Wendy, Great B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Ascot House in early July. The house is wonderful, lots of nooks and cranies to explore. A beautiful garden, comfortable furniture. Our bed was perfect for a great night's sleep. You cannot ask for a better host than Wendy. She was fun to talk to and a great cook! It happened to be the bicentennial for Marietta, so we saw wonderful fireworks, found a great Irish bar, and really enjoyed the stay. You can't beat Ascot House for warmth, charm and Wendy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
137
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great hospitality, great food, awesome grounds, pet friendly and very comfortable! Wendy, the innkeeper was very friendly, so helpful and made our stay so enjoyable. Our dog can't wait to get back there as well. Words can't describe our experience. We go to a B&B every year, but this one can't be surpassed. Not only was the experience awesome but the house itself had all the right touches and was spacious in size. Our room was so comfortable. Wendy put her heart and soul into this place and really has quite the recipe for one heck of a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife, beagle, and I had a great time at Ascot House. The house and yard are fantastic and the owner Wendy is both informative and friendly. She definitely makes you feel at home...and what a home! Highly recommended, particularly for those traveling with their dogs (if you can get one of the rooms in which they're allowed). The yard is securely closed off for all but the smallest of dogs, and it is possible for these points of egress to be closed as well with a well placed obstacle near one of the fence doors. Would definitely go back.

P.S. I was a little suspicious of all the 5 stars reviews before we went. Not any longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have returned to the Ascot House twice since our original visit with plans to go again soon. When my wife and I want to get away for a day or two to totally relax, the Ascot House is where we go. The inn keeper, Wendy, is so friendly and accommodating. We miss her between visits. Just a wonderful person operating a wonderful inn.

Room Tip: The streets of Marrietta are like the streets of Williamsburg, Va. The gardens behind the homes are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is one gorgeous estate! The rooms, food, and hospitality are luxurious beyond compare. Our stay was relaxing and rejuvinating. Everything was Perfect! We will be coming back for our honeymoon!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is our first bed and breakfast experience, yet really gave me the greatest impression. My husband and I spent three nights there in this spring, along with our 85 ponds German Shepherd. We received warm welcome from Wendy the night we arrived. Every morning, we had wonderful feast as breakfast. All food are home made and delicious. The room we stay is clean and elegant. The house is like a old English family, making me feel like living in my own house. Wendy is a friendly and lovely lady. Especially we want to thank her for taking care of our dog while we were away. Our dog is almost a year but still behave like a puppy. He spent a great time with Wendy and also enjoyed this three day vacation. Thanks! Wendy and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I could not have imagined such a great B&B experience as was ours at Ascot House and plan to go back! The house, which was lovingly restored, is both elegant and comfortable. Our room was beautiful with one of the over 15 fireplaces on site!,and the bath was modern and bright. The location is close to attractions of the Amish Country, set in quaint Marietta where I could jog next to the Susquehanna River. We liked that we had the option of dining within walking distance, and this after excellent wine and cheese with homemade chutney and great conversation with Wendy, for whom we can not say enough... She told us she loves what she does at Ascot House and it shows. Wendy happily anticipates and accomodatesyour every need, is knowledgeable of area attractions, and with a great sense of humor, makes you feel like good friends. While we were there, a prospect bride stopped to inquire about weddings...This is a fabulous site for weddings with its charm, intimacy, excellent service and options and delicious food. Can't wait to see her garden in bloom!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 219 W. Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal house (circa 1801), six spacious and elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, 4-poster beds, 18 fireplaces. Gourmet breakfasts. Great for romantic weekends, girls' getaways, family gatherings, golf, biking, hiking and hot-air ballooning, outlet shopping, antiquing, and exploring Amish Country. It is also dog friendly. With spacious deck and beautiful English garden. Ascot House is available for authentic English teas, baby/bridal showers, luncheons, small weddings and receptions, cocktail parties, cheese and wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ascot House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.