We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   722 East Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Marietta B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
NE PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

After reading the reviews on this site I was very excited to reserve the Vanderslice Suite for a special evening. We were disappointed from the time we pulled up the drive. The front porch was not welcoming at all. Such a beautiful porch and dirty furniture, no flowers or books, It did not say "rest awhile". The hosts made us feel as if we were coming at a bad time even though I called them to say we would be there soon. The room was big but the paint was peeling on the bathroom door as well as around the door in the tv room. The rug in the tv room was also covered with dog hair. The family did not have separate living quarters so when we went downstairs, they were sitting around watching that wide screen tv and we felt as if we were intruding.

The B&B does have a very interesting history and the breakfast was very good . The hosts were helpful in directing us to sight seeing and restaurants.

Maybe we were there on an "off" day, but I would not recommend this Inn. I feel that I must be honest because I selected this Inn solely on the reports I read on trip advisor .

  • Liked — breakfast, fridge stocked with soda
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
72
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

Once again, i found myself at the B F Hiestand House. We had something called Decadent French Toast for breakfast and it was wonderful!

i stayed in the Sun Porch room. Lots of privacy and a jacuzzi tub.

  • Liked — The rooms and the proprietors
  • Disliked — nothing. It was great
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

My husband and I spent an enjoyable and relaxing weekend at the Hiestand House. We stayed in the Vanderslice Suite, which was beautiful, and very clean. The bathroom was fabulous, with a jacuzzi and wonderful shower. Pam and Dallas were terrifc hosts -- very personable, and very helpful with suggestions about where to eat and what to do. The breakfasts were delilcious.

The house is gorgeous, with beautifully restored rooms. The area itself is lovely, and very restful (particularly when you come from Philadelphia!)

All in all, a very happy experience. We will come back again, and highly recommend the Hiestand House to anyone who wants to stay in Lancaster County.

  • Liked — Beautiful room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

We enjoyed celebrating our anniversary at this B&B so much last year that thought we'd go again this year. Once again we were able to get away from home and enjoy a couple of days of relaxation while indulging in a bit of luxury. We stayed in the Vanderslice Suite with a fabulous ensuite, comfy feather bed top and large shower with a jacuzzi bath for two. Pam is a wonderful cook and very accomodating to personal tastes--breakfasts were fabulous. There was hot tea or coffee and a light snack in the evenings after our days of touring the Lancaster area. Dallas and Pam are wonderful hosts, always ready to provide suggestions of things to do in the area, provide directions and make reservations at local restaurants. Their big screen tv was fun for following the football playoffs--even though both the Ravens and the Eagles lost! If you are looking for a luxurious respite from your daily routine that you will want to come back to year after year...this is it! Thanks Pam & Dallas (and Mr. Biggs)!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

My husband & I just returned from a 2 night stay at this charming B&B. I planned a surprise get-away for my husband as part of his Christmas gift. I focused our trip to Lancaster, and wanted a place that was not too busy, but centrally located. I did a lot of research on the internet - looking at reviews / information from several websites, and came across B.F. Heistand House B&B. We had never been in Marietta, and since we would be spending time in Ronks and Hershey, Marietta seemed to be a good central point from both towns (30 minutes away). The home is lovely - built over 120 years ago, and they have pictures of the Heistand family members hanging on hallway walls. We stayed in two rooms, the Victoria Room the first night and the Vanderslice Suite the second night. Both cozy with detailed furnishings and very comfortable beds. The breakfasts were delicious (the french toast souffle was really good). The innkeepers (Pam & Dallas) are truly accomodating and pleasant. They shared information on the history of the house, offered suggestions on places to eat and other places to visit, offered to make reservations or check on business hours to places before we headed out. We ate at one local pub (McCleary's) which was a good mile walk from the house (we like to walk). We were able to see the neighborhood, and enjoy some local fare. There are several restaurants that are close by and highly recommended (Josephine's, The Railroad House, The Loft). Overall, I would definitely recommend B.F. Heistand House. We truly enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

  • Liked — convenience to other towns
  • Disliked — everything was acceptable
  • Tips/Secrets — For the month of December, they offered a Buy One Night Get One Night Free
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

Pam & Dallas Fritz, who own B.F. Heistand House, are terrific B&B owners. My husband and I stayed there last year and had such a great time we decided to visit another B&B this year. I'll write about that one later.
Anyway, the rooms were very clean and cozy. The victorian style home had antiques and lovely touches everywhere. Embroidered bathrobes were just one of the many amenities offered here. In our suite, we could veg and read books, watch a movie, watch TV or just revel in the fact that we were well taken care of.
Pam's breakfast and especially the made from scratch muffins were incredibly good. I asked for the recipe and she was happy to oblige. She and Dallas provided memories of the warm, sweet, happy nature. We would definitely recommend B.F. Heistand House, right in the heart of Amish horse and buggy living!
Sherry and Rich Hagenah

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

We have stayed MANY times at Heistand House, just recently a few weeks ago. We LOVE staying there!! The Inn Keepers, Pam and Dallas, make you feel VERY welcome, the rooms are very nice, we stay in the Vanderslice Suite which is quite lovely, spacious and has a very comfortable King bed!!. Pam ALWAYS makes a SUPERB Breakfast, you definitely WON'T go hungry!!! And there are goodies in the evening too!
Marietta is not to far from Lancaster, so you are close to all the stuff going on there. And Marietta and the surrounding towns are interesting too.
B.F. Heistand House is DEFINITELY worth trying when you are in the Lancaster area!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 722 East Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.