We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic falls short of describing this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   722 East Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Marietta B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morton, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic falls short of describing this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Recently spent 3 nights in the "cottage" with my cavalier Christy. Pam and Dallas's hospitality is terrific. Making me feel right at home in their beautiful setting. The breakfast was phenomenal. No way you would have told me I'd have eaten "Oatmeal Souffle" but it was better than dessert!
Fall leaves were just changing and we enjoyed nice walks on the old river walk. I can't wait to return.

Christy was a little shy with their resident Lab, but I'm guessing next visit she will warm up to his greetings!

Room Tip: The cottage was very private and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
88
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this beautiful house. We spent time in the afternoon sipping wine and relaxing on the lovely front porch. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were incredible.
Pam and Dallas are great hosts. They are very helpful made great suggestions for sightseeing and restaurants. Breakfast was delicious!! It was great that the time was flexible. Pam baked wonderful treats each afternoon along with coffee or tea.
A very enjoyable weekend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I found this gem on TripAdvisor and decided to give it a shot. I've never stayed in a B&B before so was very skeptical about what it would be like. That said, BFHH is a very warm and welcoming place. Starting with the beautiful curb appeal then on to the giant welcoming porch, into the home itself, everything was great. The innkeepers Pam and Dallas (and their beautiful Lab Quincy) are exactly the kind of people I had pictured running a B&B- friendly, welcoming, and eager to talk and find out more about you. And then there came breakfast, which was filling, delicious, creative, and original. Luckily Pam lists some of the recipes on the website. I think her muffins served with the Amish butter she had may have been on of the most decadent things I have ever tested (and I am a food snob). Saturday afternoon we were greeted by a delicious chocolate cake along with fresh coffee and tea. The rooms were very clean and well appointed. Also, the innkeepers offered discounts to many restaurant in various towns throughout Lancaster County and had many great suggestions. I would most certainly stay here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed one night at the B.F. Hiestand House while on an 8 day roadtrip/vacation. The house is beautiful, the hosts were friendly & helpful and unobtrusive, the room was charming, the bed very comfortable (and the sheets were heavenly!). The front porch was definitely a favorite place to relax with a cup of their wonderful coffee. Breakfast was delicious and just what we needed before getting back on the road. As a dog lover, I really enjoyed playing with Quincy, their well behaved & charming yellow lab. Our stay was one of our favorite parts of our trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victoria Room and would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Had a wonderful 2 nights at the B.F. Hiestand House last week. The hosts are very nice people and very accomodating. They were able to give us great suggestions for dinner. McCleary's Irish pub was recommended and the food was awesome! I love the front porch, huge, and comfortable. My wife and I had coffee one morning on the porch while the rain came down, very relaxing. Breakfast is just awesome and I was very impressed with the creativity in the food. The flexability for breakfast was another treat as well. We have never been to a B&B that gave us the option to choose the time we would have breakfast. Loved this place and made great memories here.

Room Tip: If you like the sun in the morning stay in the room above the porch. The bathroom has an awesome sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a one night stay at B.F. Hiestand House. This was our first trip to the Lancaster region, and we had a great stay- definitely could have used more than a night. We arrived on the late side after a day of touring- and got a brief story behind the Inn and were showed to our room. We splurged for the little extra spend and went for the Cannon Cottage. My wife and I are not huge fans of the socializing that usually comes with B&Bs, so this was perfect for us. It is a little annex behind the actual inn, I believe he said it is actually a converted garage. They did an awesome job with the place. It is a great setup with a king size bed (very comfy), Flat screen on the wall, little bar height table with two chairs and a little kitchenette with a sink, fridge (with soft drinks and water) and a keurig with a whole coffee lineup. We brought a bottle of Champagne so the fridge came in handy. There were two pieces of very tasty Chocolate Cake waiting for us. The bathroom was great; heated floors, Cool shower with multiple jets and a great two person Jacuzzi. The jacuzzi worked well; the jets were nice and it had cool lights. There was also a gas fireplace in the room which we tried using but it just wasn't cool enough outside - so we had to turn it off because the room was getting too warm. We really just liked having our own little place so we can come and go as we please. The breakfast in the morning was delivered to our room- this was an option with the Cannon Room, you can either come in and have your breakfast in the dining room or have it delivered to the room. The food was great and it was a huge portion. On the menu was juice of your choice, Banana bread muffin, eggs, french toast dish with pears, sausage and a blueberry yogurt parfait. The room was very clean. All in all I would say it was a great stay and we would come back and would highly recommend the Cannon Cottage if you are planning on staying. Thanks Pam and Dallas for a great stay and we hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Go with the Cannon Cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

You have to stay at BFHH! From the breakfast to the rooms, it's amazing! The house is decorated very nice and it's so clean! The owners are friendly and informative. My husband and I will return. I'm sure my parents will stay here if they visit this area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 722 East Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Marietta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B.F. Hiestand House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.