We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A real Lancaster County Market not to be missed"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Root's Country Market & Auction

Root's Country Market & Auction
705 Graystone Road, Manheim, PA 17545
(717) 898-7811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Manheim
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Attraction details
Central Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“"A real Lancaster County Market not to be missed"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just a few miles south of Manheim, off of the Salunga exit of Route 283, is one of the finest country market that you will find. You will find 200 country market stands and 175 antiques/flea market vendors that are a true "blast from the past". At these stands you will relive your childhood and find yourself saying, "We had that- we should have kept those". The Amish have widened out now, making things other than you might expect them to make, like root beer and home made mint iced tea. I had a pumpkin whoopie pie that had to be the freshest baked good that I had this summer. This place is usually packed, and for some reason, I always pick a very hot day to come down here.
Tip: Bring suntan lotion, a wide brimmed hat, and some comfortable walking shoes.
We visted again in August 2013 for the "Heart of Lancaster Arts and Crafts Show", a juried show with 200 exhibiters. It was worth the trip with many vert talented artists - with these ones shining ..Hudson River Inlay, The Apple of Your Eye, Metal Expressions, and Bottle Slumpers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Root's has grown in 20 years - unreal!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Some folks will like this place but others who don't enjoy crowds may not. We came here after being away for 20 years and found the traffic and crowds more than we liked. But Root's is an experience open ONLY ON TUESDAYS that shouldn't be missed if you like crafts, flea market finds, Amish food and furniture, and other Lancaster County souvenirs. Be ready for the traffic and parking that is a challenge.

If we ever do go back, we will get there when it first opens in the morning. Also, we were there during the summer when tourists on vacation could be at their highest. Another time of year might be less hectic. And in 20 years, Lancaster County has grown leaps and bounds.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Still a great experiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

On a road-trip from NC, we had to schedule our Tuesday around Roots!! I thought back to my last visit...33 years ago with my parents! Still a great thing to see, smell and experience! The meat markets, produce stands, and OMG the bakeries! Sticky buns...with nuts!!! We saw some beautiful Amish furniture, luckily we didn't have the room to get some! The Amish folk are so nice and wholesome...very refreshing to talk with them.
Did I mention the chocolate dipped bacon? Yum!
Some new things I didn't remember seeing, the flea market side...not so much...a lot of garage sales in one place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Favorite stop from our day in Lancaster County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

First let me start by saying my family enjoys a good flea market, fair, or auction. We all LOVED this place (even though I detest crowds, and this place was jammed packed cheek-to-jowl.)

This market had a bit of everything: antiques and vintage items, newly made crafts like rockers and cement decorative, cheap junk from china, baked goods, meats, and fresh produce. There was so much, we didn't get through it all. We spent more time that we initially allotted for this part of our day trip to Amish country. The property is expansive, and it is all filled with vendors.

My tips: bring a cooler or two, ready with ice. We had no idea we would be so tempted by the produce. Our focus was going to be more on the flea market side and baked goods. Well, the produce was plentiful, beautiful and CHEAP! We could not resist. Bring a cart to help you between trips to the car. Many stalls operated by Amish food vendors too.

Spread throughout are food vendors offering everything from pit beef to BBQ to fried chicken gizzards. Needless to say, baked goods are plentiful! Also an auction, which we did not have time for, but will put in our plan next time.

Bring plenty of small bills. Makes it easy and quick to get in and out of those stalls.
Go early to get ahead of the crowd, for a little while, at least.

Go for the farmers market. Go for the flea market. Go for the food and shopping. Parking is plentiful. Getting back out onto the main road may take you awhile, so don't be in a hurry. Have fun!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Must stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

If you want to see what a real farm market is, don't miss going to Roots Farm market. Great deals on fresh product, meats, cheese, and bake goods. Only open on Tuesday. I live in the Pittsburgh Area and travel to Roots 7 to 8 times a year, if your into canning and preserves this is a must stop for your produce , great quality at a great price. Steaks, chicken, luncheon meats and more at prices that will save you money from the big Chain Supermarkets.
If in the Lancaster area or Manheim on a Tuesday check out Roots. Don't be surprised at all the goodies you will be bringing home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root's Country Market & Auction also viewed

 
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Ronks, Lancaster County
 

Been to Root's Country Market & Auction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Root's Country Market & Auction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.