We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Desmond Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Desmond Hotel to your Saves list
The Desmond Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Liberty Blvd., Malvern, PA 19355   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
TripAdvisor Promotion
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Medellin, Colombia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Average business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

Stayed for 4 nights attending a large business meeting.
Everyone working was friendly, not the most knowledgable group, front desk could not direct me to local restaurant 5 miles down the road.

Rooms were OK nothing special, bathrooms are small. Well equipped gym, decent indoor pool and spa.

Breakfast was a value, for a business hotel they did not try to overcharge too much, about $11 for eggs and pancakes.

Meeting rooms again were OK. nothing special.

Nothing bad about the hotel but nothing great either, I guess it depends on what rate you can get to determine value.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    57
    31
    15
    7
See reviews for
27
24
12
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

We booked this hotel for one night when taking our son up to college. I searched around the area for a nice hotel at a decent price. The reviews for The Desmond seemed decent enough and the pictures looked nice. The common areas of the hotel were nice.

We were given a room with two queen beds, which were comfortable enough. The room was ok, maybe a little run down in some areas and the bathroom was kind of small, pretty standard hotel room. They also have rooms with king canopy beds which look pretty, but we needed two beds.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant on site, which was pretty good. They had a buffet and an al la carte menu. I chose a breakfast off the menu because I usually can't eat enough to justify the cost of the buffet.

All in all for what I paid for the room, I think I could have done better elsewhere.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

Sheets: too short for the bed, quality as poor as when they were first purchased from the Bates motel.

Lobby beautiful (but I slept in the room); staff very helpful and quickly replaced the hazardous table lamp once I brought it to their attention.

Hotel shuttle even took me to dinner (but, again, I slept in the room).

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

We just returned from a women's weekend retreat held at Desmond Hotel. From the time we walked into the door the group loved the hotel. First class all of the way!

We had a conference package which included 2 night stay, five meals and afternoon snacks, meeting rooms and supplies. The room all have complimentary internet service plus there is a business center that has 4 computers with internet access, printers and scanner- all at no charge!

The food was great, the pool, walking trail- fantastic. The same weekend they hosted a wedding reception, bridal shower, bar mitzah, 50th anniversary party, and another retreat in addition to the Fox Executive MBA program on Saturdays- and we never felt unattended to- if you ask- they will do it.

I travel alot for my job- so I have been in a lot of "4 star" hotels- and some of them can't touch the Desmond's service!~

As other posters stated- the rooms are nice- the King beds are 4 poster with canopy.

Our women's group - who are known to be very picky and vocal about any complaints- cannot stop talking about the Desmond- they want to book for 4 days on next year!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

This is a solid 4 star hotel. Our company held a 3 day conference for 40 people and the staff was professional, friendly, and attentive. Exceptional facility for a small to medium sized convention. Good restaurant and bar with outside patio. All of us had a very productive and fun time at the Desmond.
Definitely the best in the area at modest rates.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2005

We're local, but we highly recommend this hotel for any out-of-town family or vistors. The staff is very accomodating and friendly and the food is wonderful (I highly recommend the Sunday brunch!!)

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

Stayed for 2 days in August on Business, I've staying in the hotel a few times over the last 12 years and it's a really good hotel, standards have never dropped. The food, service, gym and pool are excellent. This time I had a room with a 4 poster bed and the room was beautifully decorated. The food served in the restaurant is of a very high standard. It's located only 5 mins drive from the sanofi-aventis site and other business establishments and only about 10/15 mins drive from the King of Prussia shopping mall.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Desmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel

Address: 1 Liberty Blvd., Malvern, PA 19355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a one-of-a-kind hotel, conveniently located in one of Pennsylvania's most scenic and historic settings. From the moment you walk in, you'll know why guests tell us The Desmond is the best part of traveling. It's a difference you can taste, whether you're savoring fresh seafood and prime steaks in The Hunt Room, fresh Maine lobster in our seasonal Sunset Grille, or relaxing with cocktails, snacks and comfort food in our authentic English pub, the Fox and Hounds. Above all, it's an experience that removes you from the distractions of everyday life, and surrounds you with the quiet pleasures you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Desmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desmond Hotel Malvern
Malvern Desmond Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Desmond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.