We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Alba

Restaurant Alba
7 W King St, Malvern, PA 19355-2409
610-644-4009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Alba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 65 Restaurants in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Warren Avenue
Transit: The SEPTA R5 line stops at the Malvern train station directly behind the restaurant. Please check schedule as not all trains stop in Malvern.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I am a very picky Italian foodie. So when other people tell me the food is terrific I come to a restaurant with great expectations. The food was very good here, but I would not put it in the terrific category. My pasta carbonara dish was not up to snuff, but the branzino was done very nicely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    26
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but, not the best value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

First time experience at Alba was nice....had gone there for drinks and at the 11th hour,
decided to have dinner in the bar area. Was a good dinner...a little pricey though for what we got.

However, we decided to try it a 2nd time recently but this time....made a reservation in the dining area. Unfortunately, I was turned off before we even arrived. Received a reservation reminder vmail of our 6pm dinner reservation and that "....the table has a 8pm seating thereafter".

Hmmm, a way of telling us that...you better be on time because we need your table at 8PM!! Talk about lack of respect for me as the customer....and sending the message that they are all about turning tables. Not what you tell a potential customer before they've even arrived.

The dinner this time was not bad at best...a little more on the disappointment side as my wife's appetizer was slightly burned, although they did make it 'right'. The server was good but, our
entree was not the best. Seemed like a sub-par quality dish.

All in all (the 2x we patronized the place) good but not top-notch, for the prices they command. If you go there, just remember....you're on the clock!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow! Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wow, a gift card to Alba. How nice. An "in place" on Philly's Main Line. So off we go.
The $14 special appetizer of four nicely prepared tasty items might have satisfied a sparrow. The entrees were more fairly priced in the mid-twenties - four, large, nicely prepared sea scallops for me. Two flat, tasteless pieces of trout for my wife. The dessert, an $8 chocolate tort dressed in whipped cream and cherries was a winner. Iced tea arrived in a tiny glass tasting way too strong and looking like sludge. Service average. Ambiance barely noticeable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Everything was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was easy to get a last minute reservation because it was a holiday weekend and everyone else was at the shore....so we were lucky to get a great table and even a parking spot in front of the restaurant
Our waitress was friendly and helpful with the menu!
THE BEST thing we had was the bruchetta- large pieces of toast with a soft goat cheese drizzled with honey and sea salt!!
Our dinners were all fabulous and we all want to go back before the summer ends and others find out how great this place is!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Overrated and Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We've eaten in the restaurant and the bar a few times. Food is okay but nothing special. Appetizers – especially the bruschetta and antipasti - occasionally inspired. Service has been inconsistent during our visits which keeps us from returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Alba also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Alba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.