We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good night's rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Old Morehall Road, Malvern, PA 19355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Great Barrington, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good night's rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great Bed, good service and food and clean!
At one point we had to ask the front desk personnel to quiet about a dozen rowdy children who had no parental supervision so we could go to sleep. She took care of it pronto!

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for what you need, we needed them to freeze ice packs and no problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    6
    9
    2
See reviews for
19
10
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our family lost power during the chester county ice storm of 2014 and had to vacate our freezing home with our 3 yo and 2 mo old infant. This hotel is up the street from our house and it was wonderful!! Clean, modern rooms and welcoming hotel staff ( they were probably exhausted because every hotel in area was sold out). Yummy breakfast. I would definitely stay here again and I have very high expectations!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am glad, we were able to assist you during the power outage. I know that is a challenging time for many of our neighbors and it is wonderful that our team was able to make it a little easier for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Had to travel to Malvern for business and we happened to be flying in during the middle of a snow storm. Our flight was diverted to Pittsburgh and when we finally arrived in Philadelphia it was late and we had not had much food all day. The hotel was holding our rooms and we arrived about 30 minutes before the Bistro closed. This hotel was recently remodeled and was very modern and fresh looking and we found out later the Bistro had just opened a few days before. The people were fantastic! We checked in lightening quick and headed for some food. Needless to say it was a blizzard and they had very little food left, but were wonderful at accommodating us with what they had. We were tired, starving, and in a blizzard after flying all day from sunny Scottsdale, AZ. We closed down the Bistro and the employees were actually staying in the hotel so they could open up the restaurant in the morning. We had a wonderful breakfast the next morning before heading off to our meetings. The food was fresh, healthy, cooked in their tiny kitchen area and brought out to our table - we even had wonderful Cappuccino's! I can't say enough about how great this staff was in the middle of the weather chaos. Everyone was busy accommodating all the guests. I should mention that the room was great - looked almost like no one had slept there before, clean, great bed and wonderful bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so glad that we were able to make a difficult situation for you better. We hope, the next time you visit the area you will be able to enjoy a warm, sunny day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Best Hotel by far in this area. I have stayed at several nearby hotels with my business travels. This hotel is by far the better choice. Updated, clean, comfortable beds, wonderful rooms and the best staff. It has been 4 years since I have found this hotel and Patti and her team make this my place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for being a loyal guest. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stays with us. I have passed your kind words on to Patti and our team. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerly,
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I can't say anything bad about this location.The room was very new like,I'm not sure how love it's been there but it seems pretty new.The staff were all very nice and helpful.I look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,
Cynthia Smoyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Thank you Cindy for inviting us to come back and give you another try. We came back and everything was perfect,hot tub was working and we received our requested king room. Will be back again and most likely very soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for giving us another try. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Cyndi Smoyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Typical Courtyard. Staff were generally friendly. Stayed in room 420. The purpose of a hotel in a location such as this is to provide a comfortable and clean sleeping environment with limited amenities.

Two major items result in a 2 star rating (as compared to similar hotels):

1) A/C barely/didn't work providing an environment that was warmer that I'd like.

2) The bed was the absolute worst that I've ever slept on in the Marriott chain.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in room 420 unless you want the worst mattress ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Davis,

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the stay that you had with us. I know how important being able to get a good night's rest is and the fact that the mattress was uncomfortable is very disappointing. I have already had our engineering team look into the issues that experienced and correct for future guests. I appreciate your feedback and hope that if you are in the area again that you will give us another chance.

Thank you,
Cynthia S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Philadelphia Great Valley
0.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Malvern
0.2 mi away
The Desmond Hotel
The Desmond Hotel
#4 of 7 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Frazer / Malvern
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Philadelphia / Great Valley
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Malvern - Great Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern

Address: 280 Old Morehall Road, Malvern, PA 19355
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern is centrally located among hotels in Malvern, PA, just outside of Philadelphia and the Brandywine Valley. Set among scenic landscapes and historic attractions, this hotel provides easy access to the Valley Forge National Park, the QVC Outlet Store, and Downtown Philadelphia. Business travelers will enjoy the quick commute to the Great Valley Corporate Center and United Sports Training Center. Guests will be welcomed by friendly staff to a renovated lobby highlighted by the touch-screen GoBoard® displaying local traffic, weather, and dining information. The spacious guest rooms feature a modern décor and high-tech amenities including HD TVs with premium cable and free WiFi. Maintain you workout routine in the 24-hour fitness center, take a relaxing swim in the heated indoor pool, and unwind as you watch the sunset by the fireplace on the outdoor patio. The onsite Bistro restaurant offers a healthy breakfast menu, an American inspired dinner menu, and craft beer and wine service. With over 400 sq. ft. of flexible event space, this hotel is also perfect for small business meetings or training classes near Philadelphia. Whether traveling for business or leisure, The Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern offers an ideal location and renovated amenities that stand out among hotels in Malvern, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Courtyard Malvern Great Valley Hotel Malvern
Malvern Marriott
Malvern Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.