We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Old Morehall Road, Malvern, PA 19355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping Package
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I can't say anything bad about this location.The room was very new like,I'm not sure how love it's been there but it seems pretty new.The staff were all very nice and helpful.I look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,
Cynthia Smoyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    3
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
10
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Thank you Cindy for inviting us to come back and give you another try. We came back and everything was perfect,hot tub was working and we received our requested king room. Will be back again and most likely very soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for giving us another try. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Cyndi Smoyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Typical Courtyard. Staff were generally friendly. Stayed in room 420. The purpose of a hotel in a location such as this is to provide a comfortable and clean sleeping environment with limited amenities.

Two major items result in a 2 star rating (as compared to similar hotels):

1) A/C barely/didn't work providing an environment that was warmer that I'd like.

2) The bed was the absolute worst that I've ever slept on in the Marriott chain.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in room 420 unless you want the worst mattress ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Davis,

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the stay that you had with us. I know how important being able to get a good night's rest is and the fact that the mattress was uncomfortable is very disappointing. I have already had our engineering team look into the issues that experienced and correct for future guests. I appreciate your feedback and hope that if you are in the area again that you will give us another chance.

Thank you,
Cynthia S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We attended the Wallace, Kuhn wedding this past week-end at the Strawbridge Family farm in
Great Valley. Most of the out of town guests stayed here at the Courtyard Great Valley.
The hotel provided shuttles to and from the wedding. The driveway was a small winding 1/2 mile dirt road up into a large field parking area that was on a hillside. Soon after the ceremony started
so did the rain and it rained for the remainder of the reception. The field became a sea for mud and when it was time to leave, the hotel shuttle got in trouble and became stuck. The young driver called for help, they formulated a plan where the remainding vans would only proceed up the gravel road and guests would walk down the field to them. The van would turn around and transport a load down the road and transfer to a much larger van and go back to the hotel. During this process the van/staff members were fantastic helping guests get to the vans directing
arriving vans to the proper location to avoid getting stuck, and all the time they were all soaked to the skin and covered with mud. There is no way they were required to do what they did and, our hats are off to them and they should be recognized for such good work, I thank them personally, great job.
Dick Gonzalez VP Kelken, USA

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the poor weather did not interrupt your wedding festivities. I have shared your comments with our team that worked that night. They truly appreciate your kind words. We hope, to see you the next time you visit the area.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice business hotel. Clean room, very nice front desk staff, and reasonably priced. Will be staying there again on my next stay to the area.

Only issue is the toll road exit to get to the hotel. It is a Toll Pass ONLY Exit and Entrance so if you happen to get a rental car without a pass or are traveling to the area in your own car without a pass, you are screwed. No information as to how to get to the hotel and avoid this exit off of the tollway.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will share them with our team. Thank you so much for your feedback on the directions from the Pennsylvania Turnpike. We will work to get those updated on our website so that it is available to all of our guests.

Thank you so much for your kind words.
Cynthia S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POK,NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

As a Marriott Rewards member, I decided to give this Courtyard property another try. We had to come to the area for a funeral and needed the room for only one night.
The lobby area is clean and the staff is friendly. On first inspection, our room seemed perfectly clean and acceptable. Our room was on the 4th floor and when we left the hotel to grab a bite to eat after checking in, we noticed a pile of dirty linens on the floor outside one of the rooms. Upon our return nearly two hours later, the linens remained and I notified the desk.
The next morning when I entered the shower I found multiple hairs in the tub and the used bar of soap from the last guest on one of the soap dishes. Totally unacceptable! Was the shower even cleaned??
It was no surprise when we opened to door to leave our room and the dirty linens were still outside the door down the hall.

I could not with good conscience recommend this property to anyone. One bad experience can be attributed to an "off" day but to have bad experiences twice tells me this is a place to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I would like to offer my sincere apology that you had this experience at our hotel. I am so glad that you took the time to let us know about the problems you have been experiencing with our housekeeping team. I have already followed up with our team to ensure they are following all procedures correctly so that other guests do not have the same experience. We value all of our guests and I know that you have many choices in where to stay when visiting the area. We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Being a gold Marriott Reward member I've stayed a quite a few and this one just didn't measure up to the others. The staff was okay and room very clean are the only reason I can give this a ranking of 3 instead of lower. First when we arrived we were given a room with 2 double beds, not sure why it was just my husband and I and kig bed is listed in my profile. A quick phone call to the front desk and it was remedied. Second, the pool and hot tub area was very dirty I need to wash my feet when we got back to the room. Also the hot tub was cold and the pool freezing. When my husband informed the front desk of these issues they just said, oh okay. The third issue was the window in the room. We had very bad storms that night and the window leaked, not a huge issue but again the front desk didn't seem to think it was much of an issue. If you do stay here and want to sleep in past 7am ask for a room in the front of the hotel as in the back there is construction and all we heard was beeping from the trucks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the experience you had the pool area at our hotel. We know that you have many choices when you are traveling and being able to enjoy the pool area is not acceptable. The issues with the spa has been fixed, so other guests do not have the same issues. I know that it doesn't make it better for you but please know that we have addressed the issue. I hope, that if you are in the area again that you will give us a second chance.
Sincerly,
Cynthia Smoyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern

Address: 280 Old Morehall Road, Malvern, PA 19355
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern is centrally located among hotels in Malvern, PA, just outside of Philadelphia and the Brandywine Valley. Set among scenic landscapes and historic attractions, this hotel provides easy access to the Valley Forge National Park, the QVC Outlet Store, and Downtown Philadelphia. Business travelers will enjoy the quick commute to the Great Valley Corporate Center and United Sports Training Center. Guests will be welcomed by friendly staff to a renovated lobby highlighted by the touch-screen GoBoard® displaying local traffic, weather, and dining information. The spacious guest rooms feature a modern décor and high-tech amenities including HD TVs with premium cable and free WiFi. Maintain you workout routine in the 24-hour fitness center, take a relaxing swim in the heated indoor pool, and unwind as you watch the sunset by the fireplace on the outdoor patio. The onsite Bistro restaurant offers a healthy breakfast menu, an American inspired dinner menu, and craft beer and wine service. With over 400 sq. ft. of flexible event space, this hotel is also perfect for small business meetings or training classes near Philadelphia. Whether traveling for business or leisure, The Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern offers an ideal location and renovated amenities that stand out among hotels in Malvern, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Courtyard Malvern Great Valley Hotel Malvern
Malvern Courtyard
Malvern Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.