We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT BUSINESS HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern to your Saves list
Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Old Morehall Road, Malvern, PA 19355   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Shopping Package
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GREAT BUSINESS HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Very nice business hotel. Clean room, very nice front desk staff, and reasonably priced. Will be staying there again on my next stay to the area.

Only issue is the toll road exit to get to the hotel. It is a Toll Pass ONLY Exit and Entrance so if you happen to get a rental car without a pass or are traveling to the area in your own car without a pass, you are screwed. No information as to how to get to the hotel and avoid this exit off of the tollway.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. I will share them with our team. Thank you so much for your feedback on the directions from the Pennsylvania Turnpike. We will work to get those updated on our website so that it is available to all of our guests.

Thank you so much for your kind words.
Cynthia S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    3
    8
    2
See reviews for
16
10
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
POK,NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

As a Marriott Rewards member, I decided to give this Courtyard property another try. We had to come to the area for a funeral and needed the room for only one night.
The lobby area is clean and the staff is friendly. On first inspection, our room seemed perfectly clean and acceptable. Our room was on the 4th floor and when we left the hotel to grab a bite to eat after checking in, we noticed a pile of dirty linens on the floor outside one of the rooms. Upon our return nearly two hours later, the linens remained and I notified the desk.
The next morning when I entered the shower I found multiple hairs in the tub and the used bar of soap from the last guest on one of the soap dishes. Totally unacceptable! Was the shower even cleaned??
It was no surprise when we opened to door to leave our room and the dirty linens were still outside the door down the hall.

I could not with good conscience recommend this property to anyone. One bad experience can be attributed to an "off" day but to have bad experiences twice tells me this is a place to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I would like to offer my sincere apology that you had this experience at our hotel. I am so glad that you took the time to let us know about the problems you have been experiencing with our housekeeping team. I have already followed up with our team to ensure they are following all procedures correctly so that other guests do not have the same experience. We value all of our guests and I know that you have many choices in where to stay when visiting the area. We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Being a gold Marriott Reward member I've stayed a quite a few and this one just didn't measure up to the others. The staff was okay and room very clean are the only reason I can give this a ranking of 3 instead of lower. First when we arrived we were given a room with 2 double beds, not sure why it was just my husband and I and kig bed is listed in my profile. A quick phone call to the front desk and it was remedied. Second, the pool and hot tub area was very dirty I need to wash my feet when we got back to the room. Also the hot tub was cold and the pool freezing. When my husband informed the front desk of these issues they just said, oh okay. The third issue was the window in the room. We had very bad storms that night and the window leaked, not a huge issue but again the front desk didn't seem to think it was much of an issue. If you do stay here and want to sleep in past 7am ask for a room in the front of the hotel as in the back there is construction and all we heard was beeping from the trucks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the experience you had the pool area at our hotel. We know that you have many choices when you are traveling and being able to enjoy the pool area is not acceptable. The issues with the spa has been fixed, so other guests do not have the same issues. I know that it doesn't make it better for you but please know that we have addressed the issue. I hope, that if you are in the area again that you will give us a second chance.
Sincerly,
Cynthia Smoyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Clean accommodations, free wifi, indoor pool.....overall pleasant stay for a weekend. No free breakfast....breakfast is at a $10 fee and the location is away from everything. Nothing in walking distance. Nearest store is about 15 min away. I believe there is a Courtyard near King of Prussia which is only about 15 min from this location that is near shopping and restaurants and seem to be a more central location. But I would recommend this location if u are looking for quiet, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the area. We appreciate your kind words and work to ensure all guests have a great stay. We hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Best Wishes,
Cynthia Smoyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed at this Courtyard for 6 nights and enjoyed the excellent treatment by the staff. The facilities and morning breakfast are very good. Having a super-Wegman's around the corner was a big plus, since they have it all including excellent high speed Wifi. We had trouble with what seemed to be very slow Wifi access in the room and lobby at the hotel and had to find alternate internet access close by. Hard wired access didn't work at all for us anywhere, the computers in the lobby had not been updated with the latest Adobe software updates and would not work for us either. We were told they are in the process of updating their internet access service.
A Starbucks is nearby at the Target next to Wegman's or another one a few miles away in Paoli on Route 30. Route 202 is under construction, so it was a bit cumbersome getting to and from at first but easy after learning the layout.

Room Tip: Top floor rear was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staff, location and amenities were all excellent. We were here for an immaculata college reunion ..the rate was exceptional given the lovely accommodations which included the breakfast which normally would have been 8.99 or 9.99.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exton pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Me and my husband wanted a nice get away, although the courtyard in Malvern is only a few miles from where we live, it is always great to get away from the hustle and bustle of everything.
We have stayed here a few times before as the service here is fantastic.I wanted to give a special thanks to Andrew the front desk associate for going above and beyond to make our stay a bit more enjoyable. The offer to lite the fireplace outside for us was so unexpected and very appreciated THANK YOU ANDREW!!!! for making our hotel stay even greater than expected.We really appreciated the jesture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia S, General Manager at Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Andrew. I have shared this with him and he was thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will visit us again when you are looking for a place to get away.

Warm Regards,
Cynthia Smoyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern

Address: 280 Old Morehall Road, Malvern, PA 19355
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern is centrally located among hotels in Malvern, PA, just outside of Philadelphia and the Brandywine Valley. Set among scenic landscapes and historic attractions, this hotel provides easy access to the Valley Forge National Park, the QVC Outlet Store, and Downtown Philadelphia. Business travelers will enjoy the quick commute to the Great Valley Corporate Center and United Sports Training Center. Guests will be welcomed by friendly staff to a renovated lobby highlighted by the touch-screen GoBoard® displaying local traffic, weather, and dining information. The spacious guest rooms feature a modern décor and high-tech amenities including HD TVs with premium cable and free WiFi. Maintain you workout routine in the 24-hour fitness center, take a relaxing swim in the heated indoor pool, and unwind as you watch the sunset by the fireplace on the outdoor patio. The onsite Bistro restaurant offers a healthy breakfast menu, an American inspired dinner menu, and craft beer and wine service. With over 400 sq. ft. of flexible event space, this hotel is also perfect for small business meetings or training classes near Philadelphia. Whether traveling for business or leisure, The Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern offers an ideal location and renovated amenities that stand out among hotels in Malvern, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Courtyard Malvern Great Valley Hotel Malvern
Malvern Courtyard
Malvern Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Philadelphia Great Valley/Malvern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.